We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing views and clean rooms” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Castillo del Arenal

Save Saved
You added Hotel Castillo del Arenal to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Castillo del Arenal
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4 Miles Sw From Arenal National Park, Arenal Volcano | 400 Mtrs Sw From the School El Castillo, El Castillo, Arenal Volcano National Park 506, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
30% off room rate
Ranked #2 of 2 hotels in El Castillo
Houston, Texas
1 review
“Amazing views and clean rooms”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I travelled to Costa Rica with my family over Christmas and we decided to spend a couple of nights in Arenal. We chose this place mainly due to price and location. Upon arrival, we were greeted by Eduardo and the beautiful views of the Volcano. The staff was very friendly and willing to offer tips for exploring the area, we took their recommendation to head to one of the lesser known hot springs resorts for a day and had a wonderful time. The property is a good 30 minutes from the main road and even further to town so we ended up taking a change of clothes with us when we went to the hot springs and just ate dinner before heading back to the hotel. On our Second day, we had an early morning booking with Arenal Sky Adventures and the location made for a very easy trip to our ZipTrek. The rooms were very clean with minimal thrills. The place had a nice cozy vibe and the lack of TV in room was appreciated as we spent more time together as a family playing cards on our balcony (the beautiful views helped).

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eduardo R, Director General at Hotel Castillo del Arenal, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Google Translation
Muchas gracias por tomar de su valioso tiempo para escrir sobre su experiencia con nosotros, fue un gran placer haberle ayudado a pasar un tiempo provechoso en nuestra querida zona del Arenal, le comento que hemos hecho mejoras importantes en el Hotel y ya ofrecemos TV satelital, mini refri, mini bar entre otros. Esperamos poderle tener en otro momento con nosotros, saludos y exito en todo lo que haga. Eduardo Ramirez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    12
    16
    12
    7
    3
See reviews for
8
30
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, Costa Rica
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

The hotel is too far away from anything, the service is not very good. Soecially at their restaurant, the mis treat, they rude. The rooms are very small and ugly. The road to get there is terrible defintly for a sedan. They say it is only 6 km from the national park, but it will take from 30 to 45 min to get from the hotel to the main road

Room Tip: The upstairs room are better
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eduardo R, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Castillo del Arenal, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Google Translation
Siento el malestar por la condicion de los 6 klm de lastre en el Camino del parque nacional, y le comento que se daño ya que paso todo un mes lloviendo, proximamente lo estaremos arreglando, ofrecemos las disculpas por la molestia ocacionada estamos tomando medidas para que sean corregidas. Esperamos poderle servir de una mejor manera.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

I booked a room for a night while hiking in Arenal with a friend. When we arrived that evening, they made us wait around for 15 minutes before someone finally came to tell us they had overbooked and there wasn't a room for us. They didn't bother to email me or call the Costa Rican phone number I provided at any point before we actually arrived so that we could make other arrangements and were quite unhelpful over the situation once we were there. Keep in mind, this place is far from La Fortuna and on a really rough road, so that traveling to get there was by no means, an easy task. To make matters worse, the deposit I placed to hold the room has yet to be refunded and it's been about two weeks. They were nothing but rude and unhelpful, which was quite upsetting when traveling in an area you are not familiar with. Luckily, we were helped out by another hotel, Nepenthe. I recommend spending a little extra to stay with them. You won't regret it.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eduardo R, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Castillo del Arenal, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
We sorry for the inconvenience caused, we try to contact the phone number you gave us, without any result, we know that you expect to have a room in our hotel as you had booked which was not posible, that is why we opted to find the option of hosting the next to the hotel, we understand that you didnt want to take it, we offer apologies and thanks again for having chosen to stay with us but could not in the end, we hope to have that opportunity and be able to serve in the best way as you would well overdue ....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

My husband and I just got back from a vacation in Costa Rica. During our travel, we had originally booked in Jaco Beach, but did not find many activities to do there, so we decided to go to Arenal. We did this last minute and did not have time to book a hotel, so we just decided to stay at any hotel close to the volcano for a tour we had booked. We found this hotel through Tripadvisor and thought for a one night stay the price was great. When we arrived, we were lucky and found a room. I enjoyed the room very much. It was small and not very fancy or anything, but it was clean and had a great view towards the Lake and volcano. The room did not have AC but did have a fan. Luckily it wasn't so hot at night, so the fan was fine. They do not have a safe so we had to carry our stuff with us; something we hate to do...Wifi did not work either and there was almost no signal for phones :( The reception is inside the restaurant, so we decided to have a quick meal. Food is great, but they took way too long to get it. It is also a litte pricey. Pool is right outside the hotel, and has a great view toward the lake as well. Besides the minor details, I do think would stay again if traveling again to Costa Rica. The view was well worth it! :D

Room Tip: I noticed there were rooms to the right of the restaurant that had a better view, and I believe had...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

Pro: Nice hotel situated on the "back side" of the Arenal Volcano. Staff is nice & very accommodating. Great for decompressing & winding down.
Con: Far from La Fortuna & city. Road to hotel is unpaved - rocks, dirt and hills. Consider a good car.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ludwigsburg, Germany
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

We spent 3 nights in one of the bungalows. It was a relaxed stay, nothing missed. The car can be parked right in front of the bungalow. The bungalow has enough space, we had an 3rd bed inside. The bathroom is a little bit small, but no problem. The fridge inside is usefull to have always cool drinks. Out of the window you see directly the volcano and the lake. The pool beside the mainbuilding is quite small. To get to the location you need a SUV-car, because you have to drive 8 km on a non-fixed pist - but therefore you will have the advantage to stay and sleep calm and you can enjoy the nature in front of your door.
Eduardo gives good advises for some tours as well he is doing all the booking. Breakfast is delicious and much.

Defenetly we would stay again!

Room Tip: The bungalows behind the reception are super. Gives you a home-felling (like a small house :) )
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

This lovely hotel is in the small village of El Castillo, on the opposite side of the volcano from La Fortuna -- and a world away. The town is quite close to Parque Nacional Volcan Arenal and our comfortable room had a balcony overlooking the volcano. The hotel also has it's own restaurant, which serves great food and one of the best ceviches I've ever had. You have your choice of one of three included breakfasts, or you can order off a larger menu for an additional charge. While you eat breakfast, you can watch the toucans and other birds who fly about the property, including a parrot who likes to show up at breakfast. Staff is quite helpful. My only complaint is that there was a dog who barked ALL NIGHT EVERY NIGHT during the 3 nights we were there. The road into town is not paved, so a 4x4 is helpful.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Castillo del Arenal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Castillo del Arenal

Address: 4 Miles Sw From Arenal National Park, Arenal Volcano | 400 Mtrs Sw From the School El Castillo, El Castillo, Arenal Volcano National Park 506, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > El Castillo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 hotels in El Castillo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Castillo del Arenal 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Castillo del Arenal overlooks the beautiful little village of El Castillo, and look on to the majestic Arenal Volcano. It's amazing location allows guests to enjoy views of both the volcano and lake. Hotel Castillo del Arenal is a family owned business located in a beautiful, quiet and unique area in Arenal. All our rooms have stunning views of the Arenal Volcano and Lake Arenal. Our Hotel is only 6.5Km from the National Park and 700 mts from the Arenal Lake, and 25 min from the town of La Fortuna. We are very accessible for all types of vehicle With more and more travelers choosing to skip the crowded resorts of La Fortuna, the town of El Castillo near the Arenal Volcano is now becoming the place where you can find the most unique and peaceful hotels in the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, HostelBookers, Venere and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Castillo del Arenal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Castillo del Arenal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.