We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice few to volcano.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Castillo del Arenal

Save Saved
You added Hotel Castillo del Arenal to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Castillo del Arenal
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4 Miles Sw From Arenal National Park, Arenal Volcano | 400 Mtrs Sw From the School El Castillo, El Castillo, Arenal Volcano National Park 506, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
30% off room rate
Ranked #2 of 2 hotels in El Castillo
San Jose, Costa Rica
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Nice few to volcano.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

Fare price for hotel. Don't expect anything fancy, the room was simple and very clean. (Small bathroom though)
Nice staff and very friendly, breakfast was very good as well!
Perfect for simple, happy people, I definitely would like to return some day! :)

Room Tip: Well I don't know how the other bathrooms of the hotel are but ours was VERY TINY. I did think...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    12
    16
    12
    7
    3
See reviews for
8
30
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Cruz, Costa Rica
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Is a great hotel great views and great staff, the only bad thing is the road :(
We saw the volcano the last day of our stay and was wonderfull.
Lot of picture... I sleep very good is a quietly place where you can have a restful time.

Room Tip: Visit the day pass at tabacon is a great termals water :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

we spend two nights at Hotel castillo del arenal
the view to the Arenal Volcan And Arenal Lake are fantastic
they staff was very friendly and help us arrange all kind of tours
the arrange the jeep boat jeep for us, to go to Monteverde even help us booking the hotel tehre
Thank you Fermin for all your help

Room Tip: great view from room 17
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

We spent two nights here and were very happy with the views and the friendliness of the owners/staff. We were not really impressed with the quality of the linens or lack of chairs for our room - we asked for some more so we could sit on our balcony and even though most of the other rooms were vacant they would not spare us 2 outside chairs and suggested we put the cumbersome wicker chairs in our room out on the balcony... Aside from the sparseness and mediocre quality of room decor it was a lovely place. We could walk down to the little town or up the hill to the reptile museum (awesome!) or the butterfly conservatory. The food was decent and the staff were all very nice. Once again, come here for the amazing views you can enjoy from your room or the bar.

Room Tip: Get a second floor room to better appreciate the amazing views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

We spent four nights at this fine establishment in March 2013. We were treated so well by management and staff and look forward to our return one fine day. We prefer the cabinas to the superior rooms because of a more friendly, practical layout. Plenty of room for my wife and I, and perhaps a third guest. Truly excellent views of the Volcano, weather permitting of course.
The restaurant is a delight and the complimentary breakfast was generous and very much to our liking. Access from the paved road is a little rough (two wheel drive is more than adequate) but no problem for the reasonable folks among us. Our fellow travelers (Ticos and international guests) all seemed to be enjoying themselves. Live music at dinner several nights was beautiful and romantic. Go, relax, enjoy. You will be well cared for.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casper, Wyoming, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

When I booked our trip to Costa Rica, I originally booked for us to be at a resort on the coast for our entire stay. After realizing that the majority of excursions that caught our interest were in the arenal area I opted to stay a few nigths in the area. I chose this hotel based on the price and was expecting to get what we pay for knowing that we would be spending most of our time outside. But I was very wrong ! I will agree with other comments about the bummpy road. AREAS are rough , but any hotel in the area will be accessed the same way and it is honestly the most beautiful part of the country and the sights to see along the road are amazing. I wish I could post pitures of the view from this hotel , it is breathtaking . The staff we so incredible. Although not enclusive , I honestly feel that we could have asked for anything at any moment and it would be done.Not knowing the area the manager booked all of our tours for us and arranged transportation, taking us himself several times. Our room was clean and private , nothing more or less than needed. The restaurant at the hotel always prepared artful , amazing food. The owner of the hotel personally gave us a ride after spending the morning cleaning out his vehicle to our resort on the coast for the rest of our trip . ( 3.5 hours each way ). I will say that everyone should keep in mind that they are visting a rainforest area when it comes to being upset about ants outside the hotel room doors lol ( someone commented on it while we were there) there is wifi accesible from the restaurant but reaches the rooms. It is a short walk from the eco zoo ( well worth the tour) I should also add that for the last part of our trip we stayed on the coast at the Occidental Grand Papagayo where we paid three times the price per night and couldn't get something as simple as a wake up call to save our lives.Being fairly simple It has to be bad to for me to leave a negative review, and I will be! We just kept wishing we had known to spend our time back here! Although this was a trip for my husband and myself only , we plan on returning with our four year old son someday. It was such a friendly little town and welcoming environment that we could have relaxed and had adventures without any excursions! _ Also note that renting a car from the airport would be worth the money to truly experience Costa Rica. They are expensive, but just a taxi or other arrangement from LIR or to the coast is about $200 and it will save from tipping at every turn .

Room Tip: Rooms on right to the restaurant offer a second floor , all with their own balconies and probably th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deltona, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

I booked this hotel not knowing anything about Costa Rica. The hotel is nice with great views of both Arenal Volcano & the lake. The rooms are small but comfortable with the exception of the beds which are due for an upgrade. The staff was pleasant and attentive to our needs and always willing to help. The biggest downside is getting there as it is a long way from town and the main road. My family was not ready for ride there as it is a non-paved road. However, we made the best of it and viewed the whole experience as an adventure.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Castillo del Arenal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Castillo del Arenal

Address: 4 Miles Sw From Arenal National Park, Arenal Volcano | 400 Mtrs Sw From the School El Castillo, El Castillo, Arenal Volcano National Park 506, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > El Castillo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 hotels in El Castillo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Castillo del Arenal 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Castillo del Arenal overlooks the beautiful little village of El Castillo, and look on to the majestic Arenal Volcano. It's amazing location allows guests to enjoy views of both the volcano and lake. Hotel Castillo del Arenal is a family owned business located in a beautiful, quiet and unique area in Arenal. All our rooms have stunning views of the Arenal Volcano and Lake Arenal. Our Hotel is only 6.5Km from the National Park and 700 mts from the Arenal Lake, and 25 min from the town of La Fortuna. We are very accessible for all types of vehicle With more and more travelers choosing to skip the crowded resorts of La Fortuna, the town of El Castillo near the Arenal Volcano is now becoming the place where you can find the most unique and peaceful hotels in the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, HostelBookers, Venere and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Castillo del Arenal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Castillo del Arenal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.