We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Experience Ever” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Castillo del Arenal

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Castillo del Arenal to your Saves list
Hotel Castillo del Arenal
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   | 6 kilometros suroeste del Parque Nacional Volvan Arenal, 400 metros al sur de la escuela, El Castillo, Arenal Volcano National Park 506, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in El Castillo
San Patricio, Texas, United States
1 review
“Best Experience Ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Our Balcony had the best view of the Volcano Arenal and the lake. We are nestled on a hill and the scenery is breathtaking. The restaurant at the hotel is excellent and we dined there every morning and evening. From the moment you arrive, you are treated like family. Eduardo took care of arranging our every wish, we didn't have to worry about any scheduling while we were there. We stayed in the Superior room, it had 2 balconies, 2 beds, nice size shower and air conditioning. We were immersed within the small village in the rainforest, it was amazing. I would totally reccommend this hotel to anyone wanting to really experience Costa Rica's rainforest and who want to stay off the beaten path. We had the best experience of our lives.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    28
    20
    8
    7
See reviews for
10
55
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
seattle
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

this is a fantastic place.. simple and really great staff .. the brothers manage the place and ensure they go out of their way to help. they recommended a snake zoo rather a reptile zoo near by that was truly memorable. its close to sky trek if thats the company you are going with. the road to get here was bad and you would probably feel good in a 4x4 but can take a sedan too. however they plan to make the road soon so you never know by the time you read this maybe !
rooms were comfy and had additional beds. its a drive to la fortuna. the food place they recommended was awesome too -la choza del laurel. authentic food, great price and so delicious. would recommend a night pass for tabacon hot springs as well. worth every penny without staying there.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

The hotel is a bit far from La Fortuna, there is like a 30 minutes drive from the main street to get to the hotel and the road is REALLY REALLY bad. The place is really quiet and cozy. We stayed at the Superior rooms they had private bath with hot water, air conditioning, WiFi, really clean and a balcony with a excellent view of the volcano and lake, this is the big PRO of the hotel, how ever there was no T.V and they also had a coffee maker but didnt provide coffee or cups. The restaurant was really nice and also had a great view, the food was a bit short on salt but it wasnt bad. The breakfast was included, they gave us 2 options continental (fruits) or tipico (gallo pinto, eggs cheese and fried plantain with tortilla). The service was great all the employees were really friendly and treated us nicely, they offered and suggested different tours.
Pros: View, quietness, cleaness
Cons: really bad road, no tv
Suggestions: add a small refrigerator to the rooms

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heredia, Costa Rica
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012 via mobile

It's a good place with an excellent restaurant. We stay there 1 night and went back the next day for the dinner.
The rooms are very comfortable and have a good view to the volcano.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel Castillo del Arenal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Castillo del Arenal

Address: | 6 kilometros suroeste del Parque Nacional Volvan Arenal, 400 metros al sur de la escuela, El Castillo, Arenal Volcano National Park 506, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > El Castillo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in El Castillo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Castillo del Arenal 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Castillo del Arenal overlooks the beautiful little village of El Castillo, and look on to the majestic Arenal Volcano. It's amazing location allows guests to enjoy views of both the volcano and lake. Hotel Castillo del Arenal is a family owned business located in a beautiful, quiet and unique area in Arenal. All our rooms have stunning views of the Arenal Volcano and Lake Arenal. Our Hotel is only 6.5Km from the National Park and 700 mts from the Arenal Lake, and 25 min from the town of La Fortuna. We are very accessible for all types of vehicle With more and more travelers choosing to skip the crowded resorts of La Fortuna, the town of El Castillo near the Arenal Volcano is now becoming the place where you can find the most unique and peaceful hotels in the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Castillo del Arenal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Castillo del Arenal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.