We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“everything was great except for the food” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Portofino Hotel

Save Saved
You added Portofino Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Portofino Hotel
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Prolongacion, Playa el Agua, Margarita Island, Venezuela   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 17 hotels in Playa el Agua
Trinidad
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“everything was great except for the food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

i went with the personality of expecting the worst of this hotel because of some of the reviews i had read but it was nothing like what i expected.of course its not better than la gunar mar but it was worth the money. there was 3 pools ,2 resturants and 1 snack bar.the food was ok,if u like like spicy food u will not enjoy it,the snack bar had stuff like hot dog,,fries,chicken etc.in the resturant you will get a wide variety of desserts,not ice cream though,food was basically the same each day whick included,fish,garlic chicken( real failure),rice,broccoli,cheese,pastelle,fruits such as carrots,pine apple,theres fresh salad with every meal,for breakfast,toast,boil egg,sausages,alot of pastries,theres also a theatre that where shows was held,,after the shows the clubs would open where they obviously play spanish music and some alternative english music.the place was very clean,both interior and exterior,pools lock off @ 6pm though,snack bar opens till 1am.you can get 18bs to 1us from any vendor on the beach but this is illegal and dont change ur money on the streets.they may be fake.also dont think about reaching to PMV 1hr or 2hrs before because it does actually take about 2 1/2 hrs to check in.oh the hot water comes on when it feels like it,the rooms got really moist and cold,,not sure what kept causing the wetness on the floor and walls.day and night the rooms was very very cold,,felt like my brains was freezing up,theres a bar on the beach with chairs and some stores where u can get some last minute beach clothes and bags.what more shall i share from my magarita experience at portofino,oh yes the shopping @ polamar and flea market was ok,,but the mall sublima or something so was great,sketchers,victorias secret,mac, etc and mac donalds was great,70 bs for two big mac combo ,i could live vene yes,,great experience.

Room Tip: take a room by an elevator becasue the hotel is very large ,we had 2402 ,4 th floorwhich was a great...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

703 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    122
    263
    179
    85
    54
See reviews for
243
253
20
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Trinidad
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

Visited here in December. The hotel was okay for the price. Great beach front location, Four pools including a children's pool which was great as my two kids enjoyed this. Variety of bars, food was okay but don't expect gourmet for the price. There was also a snack bar which was good incase you got hungry in between meals. Overall the hotel was okay but the rooms need some work a bit outdated and in need of a facelift but for the price I think it is expected. There were vendors on the beach and on the compound at night which was great for picking up souvenirs, in addition there was a gift shop on site which had some great stuff at reasonable prices. There was also lots of activities for the kids as well as the adults but mostly in spanish though and I am not too good at spanish..few english speking employees was a set back but they were generally friendly.
Overall a cheap getaway..all inclusive I think it was worth it.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chaguanas, Caroni, Trinidad and Tobago
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

the hotel is really nice however checking in was a problem as there was only one person checking in and lots of people waiting. Breakfast and lunch was good. the pools were nice and i thought the instructions teaching excercises and games were much fun! The room was ok. Not cool enough though but this could have been due to the position of the AC. Overall had an excellent time. Our tour guide Marco was really nice and welcoming!
will definitely be back next year!! but probalby not using Krystal Tours Agency

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bilbao, Spain
Top Contributor
159 reviews 159 reviews
156 hotel reviews
Reviews in 104 cities Reviews in 104 cities
303 helpful votes 303 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

I liked Portofino a lot, despite the aspirational name which normally puts me off. The rooms were modest and basic, but check out the animals made form towels! Bungalows by the pool seemed to be more spacious than the room in the main building.
There are many places to spend time or hide, looking for some alone time. There is a beach next to the hotel, Playa el Aqua, where you can book tours from local travel agents.
There are two large swimming pools and one small for children, playing fields.
Two fairly nice and clean restaurants, and a bar with some snacks. Entertainment is delivered every day at about 8:30 p.m., starting with program for kids and followed by the main event.
I can recommend excursions to the Orinoco Delta and Canaima Park (2days) – the beach tour operators have better prices.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Fernando, Trinidad
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

I stayed at Portofino and it was really a terrible vacation. Some of my friends had money stolen from their purse in their room and the only other person in the room was the air condition technician who came to repair the unit. When reported, the Manager was not very supportive and finally gave them the departure tax money. On the Boulevard another friend got her bag slashed and money stolen. Overall the hotel reseveration staff was very unfriendly and anything asked to them the reply was no habla english. In some of the rooms the ceiling was sweating in big droplets which was falling onto the floor. The floor was then wet and it was very uncomfortable to stay in the room.We met some other guests who had everything stolen from their room, Passports and all. Guess who was the stranger in the room? Yes the air condition technician who came to repair the unit in their room. COINCIDENCE? Overall i would not recommend anyone to go to Portofino

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trinidad
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

My stay at hotel portofino was rewarding, i fell in love when i woke up the first morning, because we checked in about 11:30pm so i could not see the beauty of the hotel, their location is just what the doctor ordered its quiet, peaceful and sought of home away from home feeling, its clean i would recommend this hotel to my families and friends.

Room Tip: room# 3518
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trinidad
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

As a first time traveller to a foreign country with the main language being Spanish, I found it to be very refreshing and enlightening. I visited Magarita Island in the second week in August and I can find no fault with the hospitality service as I as well as many other visitors, had access to a decent, clean room with the every day amenities. The night life at the hotel is rich in cultural entertainment mainly from the younger generatition, the pools are great, so is the food, you will never go hungry there is so much food, fruits, juices and much more offered. However, I do advise you to drink water from the dispensers provided in the restaurants of the hotel. Provided with tour guides who were very sensitive to our needs, taught us the art of shopping in the town and flea markets, educating us further about the nature of the exchange of currency and the culture of the people. Magarita Island, though small in their population is rich in it's history, but unfortunately it lacks what the wider third world countries take for granted; easy access to technology, employment and housing. It is a great getaway to relax and meet new people. I loved it and have intentions of visiting some time again in the near future.

Room Tip: " Rooms opposite the lobby/reception building are very quiet, private and is more central to th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Portofino Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portofino Hotel

Also Known As:
Portofino Hotel Playa El Agua
Portofino Hotel Margarita Island/Playa El Agua, Venezuela
Address: Prolongacion, Playa el Agua, Margarita Island, Venezuela
Location: Venezuela > Insular Region > Coastal Islands > Margarita Island > Playa el Agua
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Playa el Agua
#7 Romantic Hotel in Playa el Agua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Portofino Hotel 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelsClick and Otel so you can book your Portofino Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Portofino Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.