We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

““Great value and service for your money”” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Trudel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Playa el Agua
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Casa Trudel
Save Saved
You added Casa Trudel to your Saves list
Calle Diaz Ordaz, Playa el Agua, Margarita Island 6301, Venezuela   |  
Hotel amenities
Penticton, Canada
1 review
““Great value and service for your money””
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

We are an older couple who likes to travel on our own schedule and budget and within the last few years we visited more than few tropical islands. We knew that Venezuela is a third world country but found Margarita very welcoming and the staff at Posada Casa Trudel very kind and professional. The owners Dan and Kira were a great source of knowledge and information and also helped us immensely when struggling with our poor Spanish. The posada was spotlessly cleaned every day including our room. The breakfast served every morning, mainly from local sources, was always fresh and very tasty. All we found was just comfy and absolutely met our expectations. We both enjoy walking and taking short hikes so five to ten minute walk to Playa el Agua was just refreshing for us. Whether we walked around, staying on a beach or rented a car to drive around both islands we never came across any uncomfortable situations and always felt safe. We made a few friendships with local Venezuelan people and I can say you must search a lot to find such hospitable and open hearted people on the planet Earth. We highly recommend this little cozy and quaint oasis to anyone who is not into all inclusive resort and is looking for quiet and safe place to stay. Way to go Dan, Kira and Gini! We are already planning our next vacation and thinking about coming back with our two adult kids and their boy and girlfriend. (See attached photos)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    26
    9
    2
    1
    3
See reviews for
1
26
7
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Evansville, Indiana
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

We just returned from our 2 week vacation in Margarita Island and our stay at Casa Trudel with Dan and Kira. Let me begin by saying that this is our second time staying at the posada. We were there 2 years ago and the results are the same, THIS PLACE IS A 100% GREAT PLACE TO STAY and would recommend anyone who is an independent traveler and looking for a unique experience to visit Margarita Island and stay at Casa Trudel . The island has so much to offer and the food, people and beaches are absolutely wonderful. We look forward to returning and visiting this great little place. Thanks again Dan and Kira for helping us make so many wonderful memories and we hope to see you guys again soon. Take care!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

stayed here quite some time ago before the renovations. Dan was a pleasure to deal with, right from my initial enquiry. He was clear and straightforward in all my dealings with him, very helpful because I don't speak Spanish.

I stayed for 3 weeks and found the b+b perfect for my needs. Bedrooms are large and airy with a great bathroom. Breakfast each morning was breads, a cold meat platter, juice and tea/coffee.

It is a short walk to the main entrance of Playa el Agua but I preferred to take a cab to Matzanilla beach about 3 miles away - calmer bay and quieter beach with some excellent seafood restaurants right on the beach.

the set-up at the b+b is such that you can meet other travellers from all over or you can have your own privacy. After a 36 hour trip, I was met with a cold beer and a big welcome from Dan & co. The premises is spotless and it is obvious to see how much pride the owners have it in.

the only thing I would say, is this type of vacation accommodation is not for everyone, this is not a reflection on the b+b just that some travellers can have different expectations and I would recommend doing your research first.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012 via mobile

Stayed 4 nites with my boyfriend for rest after being in Colombia. Thats what we got as there is nothing within walking distance as far as services or shopping. Must emphasize the place is very isolated. Beach is 10 min walk on roads with no sidewalks & pushed into dirt when cars scream by. Mosquitos resistant to repellant I've used successfully everywhere else! Beach is long & lovely for pictures but there were tons of jellyfish & frankly, if I'd known that, I probably wouldnt have gone to Venezuela. Water seemed clean, cool, waves not big for adults but saw 1 kid get stung. Apparently its low season so only 1 place open to eat when we arrived 7pm on Wed. $6 for hamburger on beach, only ones in place so not much fun or socializing. Found a hotel down beach where we paid $22 each for ok buffet, all u want beer or wine and nice dance shows. Few guests: Italians, Germans, got them doing a conga line finally but if u want action after 10pm, its a 45 min taxi to Porlamar. Casa Trudel is a full hour from the airport. Arranged transfer who was nice to wait as our flight was delayed, and had chat about economy in the tank due to Chavez' regime, expats property had been devalued to point where they couldnt leave as couldnt sell. Downside was isolation and not really friendly area, electrified fence around property, tons of stray dogs. However, if u want a nice pool, comfy room with some hot water and quiet, cant complain about $44us a night. Wifi, coffee and good rate of exchange but nothing really to buy. Breakfast decent, wouldve liked chocolate milk too!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2011

Room was cleaned totally every day and always house maid make new towelart in room! Nice and helpful people! There was no dilemma what Danny(owner) couldnt fix. One thing we notice, always ask Danny before booking any trips or go any restaurant to eat. He has been there so long and everybody know him. If you do that you will never be ripped off.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2011

Incredible value for your money. One of the cleanest Posada-labelled accommodations we've seen around the world. Excellent for people who are not into all inclusive, non-personal service complexes, but rather enjoy spending their holiday in a home away from home. Located a 5 min walk from the beach, lovely hosts will help you figure out how to explore rest of what the island has to offer. Thank you Dan, Kira, Gini and Yexika for making our trip to Margarita Island an unforgettable one.

Room Tip: A/C works perfectly in all of the rooms, but pool side rooms are excellent for jumping straight into...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Genoa, Italy
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2011

We spent 2 wonderful weeks there !! Dan and Kira are 2 amazing hosts, they took very good care of us , they gave us lots of good advise ,and told us where to go and how to get there !!We became very good friends while there !! The Posada in lovely and super clean the breackfast excellent with lots of goodies and juies and fruits!! The posada is 10 minutes walking from Playa El Agua one of The nicest beach in Margarita! Nice and clean swiming pool , hair dryer, free internet ,tv sat in each rooms, small fridge , air conditioning and everything works perfectly!!! I Had a great time and left my heart on the isla!! the best place to be!!! :)))) Caterina Genoa Italy

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa Trudel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Trudel

Address: Calle Diaz Ordaz, Playa el Agua, Margarita Island 6301, Venezuela
Location: Venezuela > Insular Region > Coastal Islands > Margarita Island > Playa el Agua
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Specialty lodging in Playa el Agua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
10 spacious poolside & villa rooms with pool located in a tropical villa just 5 minutes walk to Playa El Agua beach - A/C, kitchen, fridge, microwave, blender, toaster, coffee maker, electric grill oven, electric sandwich maker, DirecTV, Free DSL Internet & Wi-Fi, king size beds, free continental breakfast & affordable prices! The best deal in Playa El Agua! We are very sorry children under 8 years of age are not permitted. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Casa Trudel Margarita Island/Playa El Agua, Venezuela

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Trudel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;