We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply, On the Beach” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Le Flamboyant Hotel

Save Saved
You added Le Flamboyant Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Le Flamboyant Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Playa el Agua, Margarita Island, Venezuela   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 17 hotels in Playa el Agua
Montreal, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Simply, On the Beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

Just returned last night from a short yet wonderful trip. My boyfriend and I had been looking at deals for two weeks when we finally decided on a bit of an adventure in Isla Margarita, Venzuela.
We landed in Porlamar, about 45 minutes from the Hotel Flamboyant.
Service/Staff: We were driven in a small air conditioned bus with 5 others. We were checked in within 10 minutes into a room on the second floor by the pool. There are more quiet rooms farther from the pool but the show ends at 11pm so it's never noisy after that. Staff is mostly Spanish speaking but as soon as you smile and show a little bit of effort when trying to speak the language they are helpful, patient and available. Bingo was fun if you win you get a bottle of rhum. Darts is same. Played soccer with some Italians. No gym, not much entertainment.
Rooms: Air conditioning, two double beds, balcony, shower no bath not a lot of hot water but at 34 degrees Celsius everyday didn't need it!! Clean, smelled liked cinnamon.
Food: Real food. Simple and tasty. Salad and fresh raw veggies, rice, pasta, potatoes, cooked veggies, fish, beef and chicken or pork. Grill breakfast omelets or dinner meat. Red or white wine with dinner. Local beers and alcohol available onsite or at the beach. Coffee is delicious.
Beach: 3km long, big" waves and sometimes strong current but no problem swimming. Beautiful sand, some stray dogs but none aggressive, some run down shacks but very lively. Chairs and umbrellas easy to find. Massage on the beach with Martha well worth 250 BsF($12.50USD), Loved her! Lots of people trying to sell you stuff, pearls, bracelets... If you are not interested, just say no and they leave you alone. Trick: don't touch the stuff unless you are interested if you touch whatever they are selling they will get comfortable... Once you say no they shake your hand and go! Good price for sunglasses $10USD or 150-250 BsF. Pearls go to a shop if you want certified, very good deals if you get the pearls mounted back home. Bruno is awesome and friendly, wont hassle and give you a good price. He also makes his own stuff. Jerseys baseball or soccer ask for Jose Antonio, kind man. Tours are way cheaper from the guys on the beach than through your booking company but should it be cancelled for any reason might be easier to get your $ back.
Money: Our Canadian dollar is worth about half of US... Very frustrating. Not worth exchanging at a bank, rate is ridiculous. Bring USD, change it on the beach or even better in the street in Porlamar. It sounds dodgy but it's very common and quite safe. Exchange for USD should be 20BsF : 1 USD up to 25 BsF : 1USD. Canadian is 15 to 20BsF to 1. Euro is 27-29BsF :1
Tours: We did the Colonial History Tour. Good except for the stop at Sigo which is basically a massive North American type mall, some good deals on shoes (Nike). Visited Porlamar, took public transit to center of town. Hot, busy and lots of fun. Empanadas for the corner vendors were delicious!! If you like animals the Labyrith Garden was super. They take injured animals and care for them only to release most back into the wild. We did this with the Colonial tour.

I think that's it. We had a lovely time. Sunny and hot everyday. Can't complain. Other than the return ... Our flight was an hour late and they searched our bags twice. That being said. Chavez passed away the day we landed.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

395 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    97
    177
    80
    19
    22
See reviews for
108
188
15
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

This was the worst hotel experience I've had in MY LIFE!! Mediocre food and unsanitary conditions in the dining room -including stray dogs!!- and kitchen made 5 members of our group get sick for three days, both ends of the pipe; national drinks that are part of the all inclusive deal are one radical away from being raw alcohol, poor maintenance all around (clogged toilets, air conditioners not working, trash left overnight, beach towels are rags, see pictures), only part time maintenance personnel, personnel cussing out loud among themselves even when children were around, water service unreliable, room telephones don't work ... We changed rooms THREE TIMES and still there were problems!! Yes it is in Playa del Agua but the chairs and umbrellas are available only until 4:00 p.m. and after that the beach is unsafe even with the National Guard stationed right there, so you are stuck inside the premises with the pool open only until 7:30 p.m. and the loudest hip hop music ever until 11:00 p.m. Friends can't visit not even for a cup of coffee- unless you pay a hefty fee. If a non-guest friend visits you at the beach and sits on one of the hotel chairs an employee comes over and asks him/her to leave (embarrassing!!!) Complained to the owner who happened to be there and he just answered "I'm sorry"... Front desk personnel useless... We found out that this hotel has been fined a couple of times recently for serving substandard food. On top of all this, employees are being overworked and cut short of benefits, they were about to go on strike as we were leaving!!! STAY AWAY!!!! DON'T STAY HERE!!!

Room Tip: No fitness center, no room service, no good rooms!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bilbao, Spain
Top Contributor
159 reviews 159 reviews
156 hotel reviews
Reviews in 104 cities Reviews in 104 cities
303 helpful votes 303 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

The hotel is not very big – despite the name – so it’s easy to avoid swarms of tourists. It has a wonderful, well taken care of garden.
The meals in the hotel were very good – and varied from day to day, and so were the drinks both in the hotel bar and the beach one.
Rooms seem to be better in the newer part of the complex, there is air-conditioning in the room, a fridge and the bathroom even has a hair dryer :)
The nearby beach is just gorgeous – but the waves can be dangerous.
I cannot say a bad word about the afternoon staff, but the bartender working the morning shift sometimes seemed unnecessarily judgemental.
There are trips to be made: I strongly recommend the Orinoco Delta, Canaima Park and the Jeep Safari. You can book them at the hotel or with local tour agencies – the latter are cheaper and you can use a part of the saved money to tip your guide.
If I were to come back to Margerita, I would gladly stay in Le Flamboyant again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2012

Not for families!!! if you like to party and want to travel very cheap, this is the place. Do not expect good food and be prepare to listen to the music all night long. yes right in front of Playa el Agua, good location.The swimming pool had mold inside, very slippery. Not good for American standard!!!

Room Tip: away from swimming pool or better look for a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 29, 2012

Spent one week from Feb. 21-28/2012 at the hotel. A smallish hotel with nice rooms, a smaller but very nicely maintained garden area with a pool. I tipped heavily but kind of gave up at the end as most showed no appreciation ...a "thank you" or "gracias" would have been nice to hear once in a while. I found that the tours the hotel promoted were way over priced, you are better off getting trips booked from one of the tour operators outside of the hotel. I think the best deal and most fun was the jeep tour and the most expensive tour was the most boring, (was not worth the money), which was the kayak trip. Thepublic beach was across from the hotel, which was nice but I did not find it safe hanging out there from late afternoon and on. A lot of stray dogs occupy the beach which broke my heart as most were starving and diseased. Part of my day was spent stressing over these dogs and trying to feed them from restaurant left overs. Also, I was astonished to find the beach littered with garbage which was a problem for the whole island. Considering this island main income comes from tourism, it is hard to believe that there are hardly any efforts are made to clean up the island from the garbage that was scattered all over. The islanders should be educated about the human treatment of animals and by that I mean to try to solve the masses of stray, starving, sick dog population along with proper garbage disposal. But I regress...back to the hotel. Nightly entertainment was dull and boring, aside from that however, I would definitely recommend the hotel for your vacation.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poznań, Polska
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2012

A beautiful hotel next to the breathtaking beach. The hotel is not too big but it offers one of the biggest rooms I have ever seen in a hotel. Each well equipped, with a balcony and a beautifully green garden view. Wireless internet connection works only in a small area next to the main restaurant, but I think it is enough, after all you are on your vacation. Be careful with cocktails- they do not add water like in Europe . Food is good but not much varied. The pool is quite small so if you are late there can be lack of deckchairs. You can always go to the beach which is very nice to sunbathe and stroll but definitely not for swimming- too big waves, too strong currents. You will be happy if you are a surfer… On the beach you will find a lot of people trying to sell you something, I recommend not to buy- you can find all the same stuff on the market but half priced.
Near the hotel you can find a lot of restaurants with local food, a small market with souvenirs and pearls, a few travel agencies where you can exchange money (FEB 2012 official rate 1$=4vef, nonofficial 1$=8vef).
Be prepared that you will have to leave at the reception more or less 100$ for different deposits (TV and A/C remote controls, safe deposit key, beach towel card, etc.). Don’t worry it will be given back at the end of your stay- if you don’t break anything.
Every evening there is an animation show but it is much below average. Also not much to do for children.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampere, Finland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2011

All-inclusive worked quite well. Breakfast, lunch and dinner were just ok. Would have liked to have more variety of food. Pasta was served almost every night.

Service was poor from the beginning when we checked in. 40 years old overweight women huffed and we didn't feel welcome. The staff was unsympathetic.

Mariposa_1717 wrote earlier about birds. That was so true. If you left the dish on the table there was soon couple of birds eating your food.

My overall rating: Average.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Le Flamboyant Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Flamboyant Hotel

Also Known As:
Hotel Le Flamboyant
Le Flamboyant Hotel Margarita Island/Playa El Agua, Venezuela
Address: Playa el Agua, Margarita Island, Venezuela
Location: Venezuela > Insular Region > Coastal Islands > Margarita Island > Playa el Agua
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Playa el Agua
#6 Family Hotel in Playa el Agua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Flamboyant Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelsClick and Otel so you can book your Le Flamboyant Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Flamboyant Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.