We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Costa Linda Beach

Save Saved
You added Costa Linda Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Costa Linda Beach
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle Miragua, Playa el Agua, Margarita Island, Venezuela   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 17 hotels in Playa el Agua
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

The hotel is located 5 minutes walk from playa el agua. Include a good breakfast and the restaurant has very good food. The staff is very friendly and helpful. Rooms clean. All services work. Free wifi in the restaurant/lobby area. Small swimming pool but well maintened. No lift but it has only 3 floors. Definitely will recommend and repeat

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    120
    48
    8
    3
    2
See reviews for
50
83
5
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

Traveled with spouse and small child (1.5 yrs old) to Isla Margarita from 30 August 2012 through 03 September 2012 for a family vacation. Flew in on LTA which was ok. International arrivals terminal at Margarita is small, but this is the Carib and most airports aren't that large anyway. Costa Linda sent a taxi cab driver to meet us at the airport and he kindly took our bags (this helped with a restless infant in tow) to the cab. It was $25 USD from the airport to the hotel which is at Playa el Agua. The drive takes about 30-40 minutes or so. The neighborhood around the hotel was quiet, alot of walls as that's just how it goes sometimes in these parts of the world. Staff there was very nice. Julissa and Mary were especially kind and were always able to answer any questions related to restaurants, culture, the beach, security, fees, etc.. Great bunch of people. Some staff didn't speak English but everyone worked hard to communicated with us. Costa Linda is setup much like an Old World style hacienda. Very cool decor. Our rate was $70 USD (cash payment) a nite for 3 people. They also included a pack and play crib for our baby. The room was on the 2nd floor (take note, no elevators) which came with an indoor hammock and two queen sized beds, A/C, and cable TV. There's a safe in the room you can use for an extra daily charge. Some units have different setups as there were also outdoor balconies with hammocks in some rooms. We'd probably get one of those next time we visit. The rate included a breakfast buffet and they also give you tickets for free towels and beach chairs at Playa el Agua. The food at the restaurant was good and staff was kind too. Free wifi is available in the lobby and restaurant/lounge area. The hotel/B&B felt very secure with an electrified fence and lots of walls. The hammocks in the restaurant and lounge area were great. We spent plenty of time laying around, reading, having good rum, playing with the baby. The beach; It's about a 10 minute walk straight down to the beach. You follow the street which feels like a tunnel with the high walls on both sides, but once you hit the main drag it opens up and you find blue waters in front of you. We used the tickets for free beach towels and chairs each day with no trouble. Nice beach, clear water, and great sun. Alot of vendors though, but everyone has to make a living somehow these days. Easily dispatched if you politely say no thank you. While alot of businesses along the strip are somewhat rundown, people there do try hard to accommodate you. The beach experience was very good overall, I was pleasantly surprised. It's abit windy most days, but this really helps with the hot sun and it keeps bugs away. Dinner at Costa Linda was very good after a long day at the beach. Good choices overall. Keep in mind with the breakfast buffet, it's best to arrive early as we didn't one morning and alot of items were gone by the time we arrived. The restaurant did have a baby high chair available available which we used on a regular basis. Good to have a stroller though. Overall, we very much enjoyed our stay. It's sad to see that Margarita has seen a turn towards tougher times which you can see with much of the economically despressed areas, but alot can be said about the character of the people here. Not a rude soul to be found. In terms of security, stay away from areas that look sketchy and just be smart and aware of your surroundings. At night, it's best to stay at your hotel and take it easy (not a problem when you're at the beach all day). Overall, we had a blast at Costa Linda and look forward to returning one day. Despite being the only non-Spanish speaking guests there, we were treated with just as much kindness and respect as our fellow vacationers. We flew out on Conviasa (state airline) after 3 full days there. Keep in mind, Conviasa has been in the news with management issues, but the plane seemed relatively clean and well-kept. One last tip is bring US dollars. The "official" exchange rate is astronomical at around 4.3 Bsf to 1 US dollar, which based on the rates means you're basically getting 1 unit of currency for every 50 cents, thus you're losing half the value of your money when use credit cards and ATMs. Was able to exhange money for 9.7 Bsf to 1 US dollar which made a huge difference, be discreet about it though. There's an airport departure tax around 210 Bsf or so per person which would've been over $125 USD total, but with money changed via the unofficial exchange rate we only paid the equivalent of $50 USD. Duty free at the international terminal is pretty small, which is surprising as the domestic terminal looks more like a megamall than an airport. Good times to be had at Isla Margarita if you plan ahead, bring USD, and just be safe when you're venturing around the island. Costa Linda Beach Hotel is a great place to hang your hat if you decide to visit.

Room Tip: Ask about hammocks in the rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012

We stayed in this hotel for 3 nights. It is very clean beautiful and reasonable. It is definitely the place to be if you want to be near a really beautiful beach. It is a little far from the other areas so you are secluded or you will have to take a cab for 45 mins to another area. All in all we enjoyed our stay the staff is friendly and very helpful.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2012

I travelled alone in Isla Margarita and I had reserved Costa Linda for 4 nights. They had asked me to confirm the reservation by sending them my credit card details. It's never nice send this kind of details but this worked out well even if I paid my room in cash.
I had standard room which are in ground floor. There's basically no window: the window opens to corridor where people are walking and at least I kept my window closed (with wooden doors) all the time. The room was good side but quite plain. There is big safety box - which costs extra, if I right remember around 18 VEF per day. There's hammock also in every room/terrace which is great. There is air conditioning but the machine is so loud that I cannot think that anyone can sleep when it's on. If you are tall person it may be important thing for you that the beds are relatively short. I'm 165cm and it was just good for me.
One of the best things in Costa Linda is the nice outside area: there is pool and sunbeds, two terraces (in shade) with hammocks, sofas and chairs for sitting and relaxing. They serve lunch and dinner (restaurant closed on Tuesday nights) and the food tastes ok and was ok priced, especially compared to beach restaurants. I ate here in the evenings when it is not considered to be safe to walk outside.
Costa Linda advertised that they are half a block away from beach. That's true but it's a big block. Anyway, it was not long away, maybe 300 meters. The beach is superb place to walk in the mornings as long as you do it early enough before it's too hot. Hotel offers tickets for sunbeds and umbrellas and gives also towels for beach (excellent). There are 2-3 beaches (i.e. restaurants that have the beach front of them) from which you can choose. I liked most Dona's because it had nicer staff. The beach was nice and I really enjoyed following the busy beach life.
Breakfast was included in the hotel price. There were plenty of fruits and bread, some cheese etc, pastries, cerials. Everything looked good but I was first a bit scared because there seem to be nothing that keeps the food cold. Western stomacks can sometimes be too sensitive :) However, I ate everything and felt great.
The hotel reception people were nice and helpful. The only semi-negative comment is that I was promised that I can keep my room till 2pm on the day when I left. However the day before it turned out that this person had promised something she shouldn't have.
There is market closeby; from the hotel gate go to right till the end of the block and turn right, walk around 50 meters and there it is. You can get here water and some snacks; they dont sell any fresh stuff here.
There are most probably fancier hotels in Playa Agua but if I ever go back there I would select again Costa Linda for it's cosy and relaxing feeling.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2012

Overall Costa Linda is a beautiful hotel with a good restaurant and bar. The staff is friendly (watch out for the bartender though, she triple charged us for 2 diet cokes one evening which was the only down-side to staying here!)
The upside is the hotel is safe, clean, and close to the beach; they also have partnerships with several places on the beach where you can get chairs and umbrellas while hanging out for the day. The hotel itself has a great pool, clean rooms, hammocks and chairs to lounge around in, and a fun bar/restaurant that is open 6 days a week throughout the day/evening to order what you would like. The food at the hotel is better than most of the food in the Playa el Agua area from my experience as well.
The downside to staying here would be the strange exchange rates going on, there is a black market for exchanging money and every front desk person was offering us a different rate, apparently depending on what they could do with the US dollars I would guess. Just be up to speed on what you can get for your money. The only other negative was the bartender charging us 60 BSF for two diet cokes when they should have only been 24, once we discovered this we stopped tipping her as this is not appropriate for a service worker to take advantadge of a guest, which is the only reason that I'm giving service an average rating.

Room Tip: From what I could see about rooms they were all clean and convenient to the layout of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
petrovče
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

We spend three nights in this hotel. We loved hotels arhitecture, with vivid colours, the feel of colonial times, with hammocks and comfortable chairs around reception and restaurant. We took a room at the back of the hotel, with no view, but comfortable. The bed was a little small for two, but the price was not too expensive. In the morning you could make your own juice from oranges, and in the evening, we had a diner once - the best steaks. We tried some other restaurants nearby, only to regret not eating in the hotel more often. People at the front were very helpful with sugestions, they even tried to help us rent a car without credit card for deposit.We like the fact, that hotel is connected with some restaurants on the beach, where you could use lying chairs and umbrellas for free. Also Coco loco - local coctail was the best on the island.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Latvia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2011

I spent 5 nights in this hotel and there is almost nothing bad I could tell about it.
Design of the hotel is very very cosy. Very good options from price perspective for the lunch (steaks were excellent). Breakfast buffet choice absolutely enough. But note that it is more continential rather than local.
Twin room beds were like 2 king size beds.
It is 5 minutes walking from the beach and they give free vouchers for the chairs in the beach.
The only thing I would be expecting better was information about the island tours and entertainment. They only adviced jeep safari and nothing more.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Costa Linda Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Costa Linda Beach

Address: Calle Miragua, Playa el Agua, Margarita Island, Venezuela
Location: Venezuela > Insular Region > Coastal Islands > Margarita Island > Playa el Agua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Playa el Agua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Costa Linda Beach 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelsClick and Otel so you can book your Costa Linda Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Costa Linda Beach Hotel Playa El Agua
Costa Linda Beach Margarita Island/Playa El Agua, Venezuela

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Costa Linda Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.