We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful lodge, in quiet natural surroundings.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Risor Holiday Village

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Risor
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Risor Holiday Village
Save
You added Risor Holiday Village to your Saves list
Osteboneset 20 | (also Torvet 1), Risor 4950, Norway   |  
Hotel amenities
Southampton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful lodge, in quiet natural surroundings.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

We spent a week in this superb holiday village, in a luxury lodge, close to the fjord with all its attractions of fishing, boating, swimming etc. For us, the joy was the Risor Kammermusikfest and we attended concerts daily. We want to thank David Arnesen and his colleagues for their helpfulness, they made our holiday. Highly recommended, for families and groups of friends, supermarket close by is reasonably priced, and buses and taxis will get you to and from Risor.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
5
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
south wales
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

We spent 5 nights holiday on 8th June and had a brilliant time, 4 adults Dave and Andy were extremely helpful and knowledgeable regarding the area.Our husbands went fishing locally and 3 of us went on the days fishing trip and caught severalspecies of fish.The scenery wasbreathtaking and the area is the quietest we have ever stayed at. The lodges are very modern and tastefully decorated and have everything you would need for a self catering holiday. The only down side is that there is only one toilet/shower room and if the lodges are fully occupied that might be a problem. The supermarket is within walking distance and the staff were pleasant and very helpful. The prices for own brands are similar to UK but British brands are expensive. There are many restaurants in Risor Village but they are expensive so choose wisely and check prices. Thanks to Dave and Andy who helped and advised us on the best places to visit and the best fishing. We had a brilliant holiday and would certainly go back.

Room Tip: Each of the Lodges are in excellent positions. The area is extremely quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012 via mobile

We spend two nights here straight after our wedding and it was a great get away!! The cabins (which are more like modern appartments) are great, modern and new with all amenities like dishwasher, BBQ, and washing machine. The cabins also offers some private space As they are not facing each other.

A small beach approximately 1 km away and you can rent a boat for only 400NOK.

Service is also very nice and relaxed and they also offer transportation if needed.

Risør is a small and very nice southern city, worth seeing:)

Allthough we are Norwegian and are familiar with lovely nature etc we were pleasantly surprised by the whole experience and would come back for a relaxing stay! :) Probably with more space as our cabin would fit at least 8 people;)

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watford, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2012

After a short flight, we landed in the small but not crowed airport, where waiting for us was our own private chauffeured car. It’s an hour and half journey to the village, which is pleasant on the traffic free roads with some beautiful scenery to watch pass by. Once we reached the supermarket at the bottom of the hill, we were offered the chance to pop in and pick up supplies whilst we had the lift, to save us having to walk back up the slope to the village with our shopping, which was very much appreciated.

When we arrived in the village we were pleasantly greeted by David, and shown to our lovely cabin, which is tastefully decorated to make you feel at home. The kitchen has all of the essentials that you could need, not just the bare minimum that you normally find, the only major thing it doesn’t have is a microwave, but the dishwasher more than makes up for that. There is a tv which has mostly English and American programs and a DVD player. There is a comfortable sofa and there is enough room in the seating area to comfortably sit four or five, as there was just two of us it was more than enough room. The bedrooms are large enough; the only downside is there are only single beds. There is a small hanging unit in the upstairs landing for clothes storage, which was fine for two but not for larger groups. There was a heater in the living area which supplies the cabin with plenty of warmth, which made the cabin very cosy.

Unfortunately due to a mild winter, there was not any snow when we went and so were unable to enjoy all of their winter activities, such as the skiing and dog sledding. We were able however to enjoy some abseiling, with a skilled and patient instructor who assisted with photo taking, which I would highly recommend. We also enjoyed the boat trip, and would highly recommend the little café on the Island that you visit especially the chocolate brownies. They serve a lovely fish soup on the boat and there is plenty of sea fishing, our group certainly caught more than enough fish for everyone to take back for dinner.

A visit to the local village Risor is highly recommended, we were fortunate enough to receive a lift there and back, and enjoyed the picturesque surroundings. They have lots of little shops for buying gifts and plenty of restaurants; the majority of people that we met spoke English so language was no barrier. There is the aquarium just down the harbour and a walk up to the white rock to take in the view is a must on a clear day.

The holiday village is a beautiful quiet place that can be as adventurous or as relaxed as you like. The staff is extremely friendly and make sure that you get the most out of your stay. The cabins feel like your own home away from home and it was a real disappointment to have to go home. From what we saw it is a pleasant and friendly country, I would most certainly go back again and would highly recommend that you visit.

Room Tip: All of the cabins have a reasonable amount of space between them to allow privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2012

What a fantastic place! We stayed here as a group of 6 in February and had a brilliant time. The accomodation was brand new, spacious, cosy, tastfully decorated and very well equipped. All the cabins are set amongst a beautiful alpine forest and the fjords are a short stroll away.
We enjoyed a spot of cross country skiing, dog sledding and a sea fishing trip - all organised by the extremely friendly and knowledgable owners/staff.
We spent very little on the entire trip, with the accomdation being part of a Groupon deal (though I would happily pay full price to stay there as I think it is well worth it) We took a budget flight with Ryanair into Oslo, and transfers through some really impressive were included with the booking.
Although Norway is notoriously expensive, there is a very reasonably priced supermarket a short walk from the cabins which sells food which is priced on a par with most British supermarkets. Alcohol is a bit pricey, however, it is easy enough just to stock up at the 24hr duty free shop at Oslo Torp.

Overall, a holiday here has something for everyone, whether you want to enjoy the various activities on offer or simply chill out in the tranquil surroundings.

Special mention must be made for the staff at the holiday village who could not be more helpful, attentive and good company.

I've been fortunate enough to go to some pretty cool places over the years and I would definately say that this is up there with the best of them. Well worth a visit.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2012

Travelled to Norway in April and stayed at Risor Holiday Village for 5 nigths after booking a deal on Groupon.

Was the perfect place to relax in beautiful scenery and be as active or docile as you please. The accomodation was lovely - very cosy with nice warm duvets and blankets and all the neccessities for a self catering holiday stay.

David & Tony (the owners) were extremely helpful and provided us with anything we didnt have in the accomodation. They even left us easter eggs on Easter sunday.

The activities were really enjoyable - my highlight was the all day boat trip which was great valkue for money - we got to go fishing in the sea where most of us caught trout and visit some nearby islands. The cost for this trip was around £50.

One small negative point is the kayaking trip was the same price as the boat trip which surprised me as we were only out for 1.5 hours which is very expensive for a £50 trip! Howwver the weather conditions were poor on this date which may have resulted in the trip being cut short.

Please be aware the prices in Norway are VERY expensive so would suggest bringing staple foods like pasta with you as even in the local supermarket it is very expensive!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David A, Owner at Risor Holiday Village, responded to this review, May 2, 2012
Hi, thanks for a great review! the feedback about the activities is very useful.

With kayaking the groups are kept deliberately small with one guide, and the length of the trip is dependent on conditions, which can make it seem expensive compared to other activities. We try to make all activities good value for money.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2012

Loved it! Chalets were gorgeous. Scenery amazing. Activities fantastic! Loved the horse riding and the canoeing. The owners David and Tony could't have been more accomodating and welcoming. I would recommend this holiday to anyone. Just wished we could have stayed longer!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Risor Holiday Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Risor Holiday Village

Address: Osteboneset 20 | (also Torvet 1), Risor 4950, Norway
Location: Norway > Southern Norway > Aust-Agder > Risor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Risor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Risør Holiday Village offers high standard Scandinavian lodges by the Risør Fjord, a 5-minute drive from Risør town centre. The surrounding area is ideal for outdoor activities all year round.All cottages at Holiday Village include free Wi-Fi and living areas with modern furnishings. The kitchens are well-equipped, including dishwashers and washing machines. All cottages have private terraces and boat docks.Leisure activities include an outdoor swimming pool, a sports area and a sandy beach. Popular summer activities are swimming, kayaking and climbing. In the winter, guests can experience dog sledding, skiing and ice fishing. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Risor Holiday Village Hotel Risor

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Risor Holiday Village, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.