We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautiful beach near Tamarindo” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Playa Avellanes

Playa Avellanes
Playa Avellanas, Tamarindo, Costa Rica
Improve this listing
Attraction details
Jackson, Mississippi
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“beautiful beach near Tamarindo”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

we stayed in Tamarindo and wanted to drive to another beach one day. Avellanes is beautiful. It was crowded, but the sunset was absolutely gorgeous. Totally serene and peaceful. Lola's is great to eat lunch also!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

369 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    274
    76
    17
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Awesome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

This beach is very nice. There are rocks with tide pools where you can catch fish, and the water had some nice waves. The original Lola's is on the beach, so there is always food near.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Great beach and Lola's”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

We went here one day after being told how beautiful it was. It is very pretty. There were a lot of Costa Rican families celebrating the holiday season there. The only problem and it's a big problem is the road to get there. IT IS AWFUL!!!! It was the worst road we were on in Costa Rica the entire 10 day vacation. Just be prepared for it. We didn't have a 4 wheel drive. You could have really used one to get there. The only nice part of the road is a stretch leading up to the JW Marriott resort. Also go to Lola's the only restaurant at the end of the road to the beach. Also we had to pay around $4 to park in a "lot".

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westchester, NY
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“Great surfing and boogie boarding”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Wish we had come here earlier in our trip to the JW Marriott. It is a very wide beach with great waves. My husband and son learned to surf one day, and then we came back to boogie board. The food and drinks at the Pinilla Beach Club were also good.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fair Lawn, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Would go back for sure!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Hacienda Pinilla from Dec. 21- Jan.1, and Playa Avellanas and the pool club were absolutely beautiful! They call it Little Hawaii. Great waves, nice sand, and pretty shells. Don't miss the sunset! Walk to Lola's, which has fantastic food (only open for breakfast and lunch) or eat at the pool club at Haciena Pinilla where the food is great (no dinner either) and the wait staff is awesome! I loved it too because the beach it wasn't too crowded, exept by Lola's. Highly recommend!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Playa Avellanes also viewed

El Guapote, Tamarindo
Tamarindo, Province of Guanacaste
 
Playa Conchal, Province of Guanacaste
Tamarindo, Province of Guanacaste
 

Been to Playa Avellanes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Playa Avellanes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.