We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We love Avellanas and Lola's” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lola's

Lola's
On the Beach! | Playa Avellana, Playa Avellanas, Costa Rica
+506 2652 9097
Improve this listing
Price range: $7 - $15
Cuisines: Seafood, International, Healthy, Organic
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Bar scene, Large groups, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating, Special occasions, Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Long loved by locals, the secret is out on Lola's fantastic staff serving top-notch organic fare in a beautiful open-air beachfront setting. Gorgeous homemade wooden tables and chairs are set at water's edge under the shade of palm trees and umbrellas. Fresh seared tuna, big healthy salads, Dutch fries, pizzas and all new tacos are the favorites, alongside fruit smoothies, delicious sandwiches and fish & chips! Banana bread, coffee & smoothies starting at 8 a.M. Full menu from 11 a.M. To 5 p.M. Bar open to sunset. Closed Mondays. Cash, Visa & MasterCard.
Insbruck
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“We love Avellanas and Lola's”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Avellanas beach is really one of the nicest we have seen on our round trip in CR. Cool people and cool vibe. Surfing all they long and a very relaxed atmosphere. Well as for Restaurants there is not much to write because I think there is just one (or at least just one at the beach). Totally sufficient because the place is very very cool. They menu is small but we thought that you have a choice for everybody. I ate a Burger which was jummy and big and my girlfriend ate the chicken satay, which was one of the best she ever had. Even the beer (Pilsen) tasted better there but I think it might have been the amazing sunset, the comfy wooden chairs and us two being in the best and most relaxed mood ever.
One hello to the nice staff and the pig they keep at the Restaurant. Very funny!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

420 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    314
    76
    23
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Good Food, Great Experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

We rented a house about 20 minutes from Lola's and hear about it from the property manager. A group of 9 of us spent the day at the public beach, playing in the surf (which can get quite rough). We ended the day with a late lunch at Lola's, which is literally on the beach. The lounge like wood chairs placed under palm trees right on the beach make for a great beach expereience. The food and drinks were very good, a little over priced, but the location made it worth it. I would recommend Lola's to anyone staying in the area.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Best beach cafe (...and only beach cafe)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

This place benefits from being the only cafe of its kind in Playa Avellenas and so we had breakfast and lunch there every day. It's not bad, if a little pricey. The waiting staff will love you if you are female and under twenty-five. The pizzas are good and so are the mango smoothies. And if none of this appeals, it does have a giant pig who eats all your leftovers. And a parrot who can wolfwhistle.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Cool Pig”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Lola's is a great place. Such a friendly atmosphere, a great but limited menu, and a very large pig. It's just a really fun place to go.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Gorgeous setting, great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

We just returned from the Tamarindo area of Costa Rica. We were told by the owner of the condo where we stayed and our guide for several excursions to go to Lola's. They were right. It's on a beautiful beach at Playa Avellanas. Lola's is the only restaurant right on the beach. When we got there it was crowded as it was holiday season and many Costa Rican families were there also enjoying the beach and the gorgeous weather. Our hostess said it would be a 30-45 minute wait and to check back with her after 30 minutes or so. We didn't mind because we went to the beach. The first time my husband checked she was getting a table ready for us. You sit at big wooden tables with really neat wooden chairs with extremely high backs. Later on we were asked if two ladies could sit at the other end of our table which we didn't mind at all. The food was great as well as the drinks. It's a very relaxed dining experience. We ate and went back to the beach but some people were at their tables for quite awhile and no one seemed to care. The hostess mentioned that Lola is a big pig and namesake for the restaurant. She was in a pen in the back but I forgot to see her. My husband did and said she was huge. The restaurant isn't open for dinner I assume because of the horrendous roads to get there. That is the only negative. The road to the beach and Lola's was the absolute worst road we were on in 10 days in Costa Rica including going up in the mountains. I asked the hostess why the roads were so bad there and she said corrupt politicians. If you're ever in the area, this is a must.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lola's also viewed

Tamarindo, Province of Guanacaste
Tamarindo, Province of Guanacaste
 
Tamarindo, Province of Guanacaste
Tamarindo, Province of Guanacaste
 

Been to Lola's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lola's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.