We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Favorite restaurant in Guanacaste” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lola's

Lola's
On the Beach! | Playa Avellana, Playa Avellanas, Tamarindo, Costa Rica
+506 2652 9097
Improve this listing
Price range: $7 - $15
Cuisines: Organic, Seafood, International, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Families with children, Scenic view, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Long loved by locals, the secret is out on Lola's fantastic staff serving top-notch organic fare in a beautiful open-air beachfront setting. Gorgeous homemade wooden tables and chairs are set at water's edge under the shade of palm trees and umbrellas. Fresh seared tuna, big healthy salads, Dutch fries, pizzas and all new tacos are the favorites, alongside fruit smoothies, delicious sandwiches and fish & chips! Banana bread, coffee & smoothies starting at 8 a.M. Full menu from 11 a.M. To 5 p.M. Bar open to sunset. Closed Mondays. Cash, Visa & MasterCard.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Favorite restaurant in Guanacaste”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

We love the feel and food here. Like being able to sit on the beach and have good food? This is worth the trip if you are within an hour's drive.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

613 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    446
    120
    37
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Good food, great drinks and the best views!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

Came here for a sunset dinner with 2 other couples and it did not disappoint! The staff was wonderful and made great suggestions for food. Nothing really beats a cold drink while watching the sunset and some locals surfing. It is the iconic "endless summer".

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Playa Samara, Costa Rica
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“nice place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

very good restaurant and bar, good food, good service! lastima que cierra muy temprano! beautiful sunset right on the beach

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Amazing Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

We had a light snack here (ceviche - which was great) and a couple of beers after getting absolutely pounded by the surf (we're beginners and we can definitely see why most surfers appear to be in such good shape). The location is amazing, just off the beach with high backed wood carved chairs where you can sit under an umbrella and chill while watching some really amazing surfers do their thing about 100 feet away from where you are sitting. Would love to come back and try some more of the food.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santa cruz
1 review
“Best place in the world!!!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

On my trip to the beautiful country of Costa Rica my family and I went to Lola's beach bar. It was truly one of the best places I have ever been to. My family loves it tremendously and would go back any time we could. I love the fish and chips, pizzas and any thing else they have to offer. I love the atmosphere, it is cool and chill. The staff is really nice and respectful. Of course myself and my family love the pig!!!!!

  • Visited December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lola's also viewed

Tamarindo, Province of Guanacaste
Tamarindo, Province of Guanacaste
 
Tamarindo, Province of Guanacaste
Tamarindo, Province of Guanacaste
 

Been to Lola's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lola's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.