We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful!!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of JW Marriott Guanacaste Resort & Spa Costa Rica

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added JW Marriott Guanacaste Resort & Spa Costa Rica to your Saves list
JW Marriott Guanacaste Resort & Spa Costa Rica
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   Hacienda Pinilla, Playa Avellanas, Tamarindo, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Playa Avellanas
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

My wife and I are half way through our week long stay at this beautiful resort. We have the perfect room for us. Ocean view, but bordering the woods filled with beautiful birds. Have taken some great pictures fro our balcony. So far, the staff has been helpful, the food good, and the pool and views terrific. One caution - this resort is isolated! Tamarindo is 15-20 minutes away via a very bumpy dirt road. However, there is a shuttle which costs $7/person each way (last shuttle to hotel at 9:30 PM. Not much there, but bars, restaurants and tourist shops. If you're looking for nightlife, this may not be the destination for you as there is not much in Tamirindo, and even less at the JW. This is the dry season and it is hot and dry! But...beautiful blue skies over the Pacific. One caution - food and wine are quite expensive and given the isolated location, not much choice on where to eat. Not even a vending machine with a soft drink. Everything has to be purchased at one of the resort restaurants.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_JWGuanacaste, General Manager at JW Marriott Guanacaste Resort & Spa Costa Rica, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Dear Guest;


We appreciate all your great comments wrote in this review.

I am pleased you have experienced a nice stay at our resort and I hope you return in a near future.

Sincerely;


Jesus Gonzalez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,379 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    736
    355
    161
    84
    43
See reviews for
441
586
26
80
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (394)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Carmel, Indiana
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

We stayed at the hotel with a tour group and were assigned a room that faced a woods. The resort is quite large so it was quite a walk to the pool and even further to the Pacific Ocean. The pool was great and the meals were very nice. The frist night we were there a company was giving a presentation and there was a man with a microphone giving a presentation to a group of approximately 100 people at the beach. I'm sure this made a lot of money for the Marriott but took away from the experience. The service was awesome and the rooms were what you would expect from a JW Marriott.

Room Tip: Insist on a pool view or ocean view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_JWGuanacaste, General Manager at JW Marriott Guanacaste Resort & Spa Costa Rica, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Dear Guest;

I appreciate your comments shared at this review.

I apologize if you felt uncomfortable with the event made the first night of your stay.

We truly hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back.


Sincerely;


Jesus Gonzalez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio, United States
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I are on day 2 of our 5 day stay. I can't say enough about the hotel and staff. As a Platinum Elite member, I have stayed at some very nice Marriotts and this one is definitely in the top 5. We were welcomed with a room upgrade overlooking the pool and ocean. There were some initial minor issues which were resolved very quickly by the staff. The resort is very clean and updated. The room is absolutely perfect. I read a lot of reviews prior to arriving and made note of some of the negative comments:
1) the road to the Hotel is a little rough but remember where you are and It is not that long of a bumpy road.
2) the food has been very good and typical of a JW Mariott. Pricing and quality is what you expect in a resort.
3) music by the pool is peaceful and relaxing and, unlike some negative posts, you cannot hear in your room.
4) the room is excellent. We have not experienced a bothersome red light from the smoke detector...some people are just too critical
5) the beach is not bad. The rocks on the beach are part of the beautiful landscape and there are parts where you can wade into the ocean and enjoy.
6) the resort is in a secluded area but that is part of the ambiance and what we wanted. Tamarindo is a short drive or shuttle where you can experience the Costa Rican experience both culture and food.

Overall, a great experience so far and worthy of a return trip.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_JWGuanacaste, General Manager at JW Marriott Guanacaste Resort & Spa Costa Rica, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Dear Guest;

Thank you very much for your comments and for taking from your valuable time to write this review while you are at the hotel.

I hope these four days has been enjoyed for you and your wife.

Please feel free to contact me for any further assistance.

Kind regards;


Jesus Gonzalez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno CA
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

We just returned from a week at this resort, were there for a business meeting and had a lovely time. We had children with us, so we were in a suite which was AWESOME! The suite was so large and lovely, we didn't feel cramped in there at all. The service was great overall, although I felt the cost of food was quite high. The pool is wonderful, and service next to the pool very attentive with towels and umbrellas. The area around this resort is very hot and dry this time of year, not green and lush like you expect from Costa Rica. Surely in the wet season it would be more beautiful. The beach is rocky right in front of the resort, but I never even wanted to go to the beach because the pool is all you need! There were some activities for kids and a play structure, which was really nice to have. Didn't visit the spa...next time.

Room Tip: The Guayabo suite down by the pool is awesome!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_JWGuanacaste, General Manager at JW Marriott Guanacaste Resort & Spa Costa Rica, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear Guest;

“Next Time” is a good sign. This means you are coming back, be sure to visit the SPA you will not regret.

I hope your child had enjoyed the JW Adventures.

I appreciate your comments.

Sincerely;


Jesus Gonzalez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Strongsville, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

My husband and I just returned from Costa Rica--beautiful resort! It is definitely isolated but well worth the effort getting there. Our room had an unbelievable view of both the pool and Pacific Ocean...a welcome change from the cold and snow outside at home! The rustic décor gives the rooms an "authentic" but thoroughly modern feel. The management and staff are extremely friendly and helpful. Food service was a bit slow but more than made up for by the beautiful surroundings and gracious service. Would definitely make a return visit.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_JWGuanacaste, General Manager at JW Marriott Guanacaste Resort & Spa Costa Rica, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear Guest;

I am glad to know that you are coming back. I hope soon.

Thank you for share your experience at our Resort and I am pleased you liked.

Kind regards;


Jesus Gonzalez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

My husband and I just returned from our trip, and let me just say, the JW Guanacaste is nothing short of perfect. The whole property is clean, well cared for, and just awesome! We got a pool view room, with a backdoor so we could just walk straight out. The resort is rather large, so it was nice to have a room with such close proximity to the pool. And speaking of the pool, it is really long and the perfect temperature. There are a ton of pool chairs and although you did need to be up quite early to get the ones with a view of the ocean, there were always chairs and umbrellas available. The beach was nice, but the sand was super hot and it burned your feet so wear your flip flops. During low tide, you can see that most of the ocean/beach is rocky so best to swim over on the right side of the beach which has less rocks. The staff is great and always ready to bring you drinks or food both at the pool or at the beach. In fact, the entire staff on the property was fantastic, very friendly and attentive.

A couple things worth mentioning:
*Turn left onto the beach and walk about 30 minutes down to Lola's for lunch. Great food and people watching - and of course visit Lolita the pig! They are closed on Mondays.
*Stephany, one of the conceirges, was fantastic. We decided to extend our trip an extra day and she called our airline for us and took care of all the arrangements. Talk about service!!
*You do NOT need a car. I was pretty worried after reading some reviews that you might need one, but we are happy we did not rent one. We pretty much were able to go everywhere we wanted via excursion or the JW shuttle. Just one less thing to worry about.
*If you do go into Tamarindo for dinner, don't just wing it like we did, figure out in advance where to go for dinner. We didn't do our research and ended up eating at a pizza place. Not very good.
*We booked our airport transfer from the Liberia airport with Xplore Costa Rica. They were great, price was good and were on time to pick us up at the airport and at the hotel. I highly recommend them and they are cheaper than going through the hotel.
*They have a minibar in the room, so we stopped at the grocery store on the way (our driver was happy to do so) and we picked up beer and sunblock. I like to think we are thrify where we can be, not cheap :)

Anyway, this place does not disappoint and you'll be happy you went. It is paradise on earth!!

Room Tip: Rooms with a door to the pool are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_JWGuanacaste, General Manager at JW Marriott Guanacaste Resort & Spa Costa Rica, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Dear Guest;


Thank you very much for your wonderful review.

I am pleased you had had a great vacation.

We appreciate your comments about the staff, service and also for the tips that you have mentioned for our readers.

I will let know Stephany about your comment.

Sincerely;


Jesus Gonzalez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

Beautiful and well maintained property, excellent service.

Food - At times the meal service was a little slow, not sure if that was a purposefully leisurely pace or capacity issues in the kitchens. I ate at the steak house twice , great meal! In general all of the other restaurants on the property were good. Up the beach there is a beach club which has a nice menu and is a nice change. Further up the beach is a beach hangout called Lola's, excellent food and great place to hang out for an afternoon (but make sure you check the tides as part of the walk will be impassable at high tide)

Pool - nice pool lots of shade if you desire it, the staff seemed to appear out of no where to assists in chair and umbrella set up the second you select a spot. There is a shallow end for the kiddies
You can sit on the beach but this stretch of the beach is quite rocky do not ideal for swimming.

We booked several excursions through the hotel travel office, one of which was the Volcano/rainforest/zip line/ hot spring tour. It was a long day but well worth it.

I had two spa services, very pleased with both, lovely facility make sure you save enough time to use the steam and sauna.

If on the way here you fear you are lost because you are on the worst road ever, fear not you are in the right spot (roads otherwise excellent)

Room Tip: All the rooms face the pool and/or the ocean I am not sure there are any bad rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_JWGuanacaste, General Manager at JW Marriott Guanacaste Resort & Spa Costa Rica, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Dear Guest;

I am glad to know that you liked our Resort and that you really enjoyed your stay with us.

Is good that you have time to have fun, relax and check other places around the area.

Thank you for sharing your experience with all of us.

Kind regards;



Jesus Gonzalez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to JW Marriott Guanacaste Resort & Spa Costa Rica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Guanacaste Resort & Spa Costa Rica

Address: Hacienda Pinilla, Playa Avellanas, Tamarindo, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Tamarindo > Playa Avellanas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Playa Avellanas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — JW Marriott Guanacaste Resort & Spa Costa Rica 4.5*
Number of rooms: 310
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Live an authentic Costa Rican experience in a luxury hacienda style resort in Guanacaste, Costa Rica. This resort & spa sits oceanfront on a secluded stretch of coastline minutes from the Hacienda Pinilla Golf Course and Tamarindo village. The JW Marriott Guanacaste is surrounded by the splendors of Costa Rican rich biodiversity; with a choice of 5 beaches, adjacent to an equestrian center, tennis courts, and an 18-hole golf course with a coastal layout. Off-site activities like canopy tours, horseback riding, white water rafting, kayaking, and ATV tours can be arranged on site. You can also arrange tours to nearby locations such as Arenal Volcano, Rincon de la Vieja Volcano and National Park or Guachipelin thermal hot springs. Enjoy surf beaches with excellent year-round waves and warm water, visit turtle nesting beaches or observe a great variety of wildlife. The property features the largest infinity pool in Central America, outdoor hot tubs, a fully equipped fitness center, biking and jogging trails and a Kids Club with professional care. You can also relax in our spa, ranked one of the top five Spas in Latin America by Spa Magazine. This resort offers 5 restaurants and two bars. Among these options enjoy a romantic dinner right on the beach at Azul Grill our beach front restaurant or visit Tamarine where you can enjoy Asian fusion cuisine. Indulge yourself with a genuine Guanacastecan style meal at Sabanero Steakhouse or relax and admire a spectacular sunset at Nau Lounge and Bar, while you enjoy hand crafted cocktails and a variety of Sushi. All rooms have balconies with garden, pool or ocean views. In-room amenities include LCD TVs, sound proof windows, iPod docks and streaming speed Wi-Fi Internet access, blackout curtains, plush pillow-top mattresses and fine linens, rich woods, and marble bathtubs. The village of Tamarindo is just 5 miles away, where you will find restaurants, bars, and souvenirs in a "Pura Vida" laid back atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your JW Marriott Guanacaste Resort & Spa Costa Rica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Guanacaste Resort & Spa Costa Rica Hotel Santa Cruz
Jw Marriott Guanacaste Resort And Spa Costa Rica
Jw Marriott Santa Cruz
Marriott Santa Cruz
JW Marriott Guanacaste Resort & Spa Costa Rica Playa Avellanas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage JW Marriott Guanacaste Resort & Spa Costa Rica, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.