We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I can not say it was bad” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rethymno Village

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Rethymno Village to your Saves list
Rethymno Village
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   199, Machis Kritis, Platanias, Rethymnon, Crete 741 00, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 19 Hotels in Platanias
Tallinn, Estonia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“I can not say it was bad”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

Recently returned from a stay at this hotel. What can I say, I do not know where to start to say that loved not say, well, there was nothing wrong. Generally everything is simple and monotonous, like a boarding house for the elderly. Quiet, calm, clean enough for a delicious and varied cuisine.
On the first day of arrival a little upset resettlement, we were given a room in the hotel at the end of the road on which are worn as a crazed machine. I am tired of tears with a lump in my throat went to ask retseshn change, thank God we are fortunate that this day was the administrator Yianis, very pleasant, sociable, modest and sympathetic person, of course had to wait, but the second floor and all close.
The pool had once. Husband said that the water is clean and does not smell of chlorine. And we do not understand those vacationers who come to Cyprus and other seaside resorts and sit by the pool. The hotel had a lot of Germans and French, thanks to these travelers, all was quiet, stay very spoil heaps arrogant, dishonest Poles. Besides that climbed all over the head with my plate, so more and talked so loudly, as if they were there alone, as women were laughing at the bazaar that is loudly discussing and waving with his hands . Horror .... As for food, in general, it is normal for breakfast always eggs in various forms, yogurt, jam, cakes, salads, dried fruit, delight. Coffee certainly horror is hard to understand that you drink tea or water with the smell of coffee, but it's not exactly coffee. By the way there is hot water, and if to bring instant three in one, it will be much more seemly. Eats fish, meat, potatoes and mash and was pasta and rice and green sauce. Lamb gave a couple of times, kebabs were like beef stew, cooked very well, thanks to the chef. Four varieties of ice cream. I really did not eat it, but my husband said that it is very tasty. Fruit did not have much, but we went to the store Lidl, there kilogram 1.80 apricots, cherries 3.-, strawberries 2- euro half a kilo, vkunaya, orange juice or greyfrukt 100%. Tasty beer, wine to drink, too, fortified do not know, my husband just poprobyval something red, which is the tincture, not very strong, like a berry, so the mood took this drink, his head did not hurt him.
No entertainment, but on the contrary there was a bar with live music, very nice singing voice Bari White's super. We were there drinking beer and enjoyed the atmosphere positive. Incidentally very surprised that interenet in the bar and lobby always worked, and took in the room is not bad. Well, something like this is not bad, but not that good, so we wanted to go back there.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    19
    13
    4
    9
See reviews for
16
21
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
East Yorkshire
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

We had a very nice holiday at this hotel. It was a little basic but, all in all quite good. The room was large with a terrace/balcony set back from the pool. The bathroom or should I say shower room was a little small, but ok as it was just my partner and I. If you had a family of 4 it would be a bit of a squeeze. The room was cleaned daily and fresh towels twice a week or more often if you put the towels in the shower cubicle. It is a short walk to the beach, just across the road really, so no big problem there. The food was ok, not a la carte, but hey, you get what you pay for. The only alinc drinks were raki, ouzo, local brandy, wine and beer. The other spirits are available but at a price. (now that the Greeks pay tax even cheap vodka is more to buy there than here) There is no entertainment at this hotel, the bar and pool area are nice to chill for a bit after your meal. There are plenty of good bars/tavernas close by, so you can wander and find something you like. We did find a really friendly Greek bar/restaurant called Taverna Garden which is owned by Valilis who speaks great English, (he is married to a Scottish lady) very good sense of humour lol. This hotel is a 3* and we usually stay 4* so we wont go back there but don't be put off, its nice enough.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novi Sad, Serbia
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Nice, nice hotel.....Clean hotel with friendly staff. Good location, nice sandy beach is about 150 m from hotel. Food is excellent. Rethymno is about 6 km from this place and it is nice town with old fortress and old city, romantic.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

Me, my mom and my aunt stayed here for 7 nights mid May 2012. It wasn't busy at all which worried us, but in the end it made the stay more enjoyable. The food was delicious. They served traditional Greek foods obviously, you don't come to Greece to eat burgers. The rooms and bathrooms weren't the best, but they were clean and the beds were comfy. The staff were one of the nicest people we've met. They even took time to help us learn some Greek. It's across the street from the beach, very nice pool and patio bar area as well. I overall would recommend this place to anyone who is looking for good quality for what they pay. I would most defiantly go again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karlovy Vary, Czech Republic
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

Nice hotel in Platanias (eastern from Rethymno, 10 minutes by bus). Many bars (for example Eyes Bar with Soul Man opposite hotel), restaurants and shops. About 4 minutes walk to the beach across the road. Our room was modest but clean (firdge, dryer, bathroom with toailet, balcony, paid safe and aircondition). Two sunny pools (one for kids). All hotel staff were very friendly and helpful at all times. Food was good, less offer of main meals, lots of fruits and vegetables. Some snacks between meals. All inclusive drinks were self service which included soft drinks, coffee, tea, beer, wine and also raki, ouzo and brandy from 21:00-23:00. One negative of Crete: lots of mosquitos at night. Final result: 80%

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

Location of hotel in the middle of a busy street with plenty of bars, restaurants and shops and only a 2 minute walk to the beach, just across the road. We arrived at the hotel quite late, however after checking in we were taken into the restaurant where they had saved us a cold buffet and access to wine, beer and soft drinks, which we thought was really good.

Our room was spacious and clean, which was cleaned every day except sundays and had clean towels and bedding.

Pool was massive with plenty of sun loungers available.

All hotel staff were very friendly and helpful at all times.

Food was good, plenty of choice with snacks in between meals. All inclusive drinks were self service which included soft drinks, coffee, tea, beer, wine and also raki, ouzo and brandy from 9pm, however was a bit disappointed that vodka, whisky, gin, rum was not available on the all inclusive and cocktails were 3 euros each. Nevertheless, we got used to the raki & lemonade with plenty of ice!!

A great bar situated directly opposite the hote, Eyes Bar, which had live acts most nights and a karaoke nite. Dont miss the Soul Man here, he is a must see act, absolutely brilliant!

All in all a lovely hotel.

Would we go back again?? Yes we probably would, but would take a bottle of vodka with us!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

We ended up here after the nightmare of the first hotel (see my last review) and what a huge improvement on what we had endured for 2 days in Scaleta Beach Hotel.

The food is good, plenty of choice and the snacks in between were good too. All inclusive alcohol means self service beer, soft drinks and on an evening self service Brandy , Raki and Ozo. The soft drinks were fine too which is too often neglected by other hotels and you end up with tasteless soda water with different colour added to them, so a plus there as well. Free ice cream cones on an afternoon went down well too.
The room was excellent, a new block had been either just built or renovated from scratch and we were the first occupants, so state of the art with air con, flat screen tv and great patio (what a sun trap) with modern bathroom, it did not want for anything.

The staff were friendly and always helpful no matter what you needed or asked.
The hotel is located in a street full of restaurants and bars should you want to go out of an evening which we did most evenings even if just for a change of scenery, I totally recommend the Eyes bar directly opposite, the British owner and his Dad were so friendly and treat us like we had known them years. They had a live singer on every night which went down well.

The hotel does not have any night-life really on an evening just quiet music and pool side seating but that was fine, you can sit and chat with other guests who were mainly Eastern European but all spoke conversational English, in fact until late in week 2 we were the only British guests but that is not a problem at all for us, if we wanted to be surrounded by just Brits then Ibiza it would be.

The beech is a 2 minute walk over the road and is great but we tended to just chill out by the hotel pool most days.

I would recommend this hotel to my friends for sure and go back however it may get a little boring for the kids should we have taken them.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the rooms in the 800 range, they are new.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rethymno Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rethymno Village

Address: 199, Machis Kritis, Platanias, Rethymnon, Crete 741 00, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Rethymnon Prefecture > Rethymnon > Platanias
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Platanias
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Rethymno Village 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity and Despegar.com so you can book your Rethymno Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rethymno Village Hotel Crete
Rethymno Village Crete, Greece

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rethymno Village, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.