We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, but...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Creta Residence

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Creta Residence to your Saves list
Creta Residence
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Platanias, Rethymnon, Crete 741 00, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 19 Hotels in Platanias
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great location, but...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Hotel was a bit hard to find as we arrived late at night and they lock it up completely at night and there are no signs giving you information about what to do "after hours." We knocked to no avail, thought there might be another entrance, drove around the block, and were finally received at the front door on the second attempt - perhaps the staff person had just dozed off and was slow to awaken. The English speaking skills of the staff are limited, and only some of them are friendly. They seem more geared towards their ample Russian visitors and this made things a little hard at times, but not impossible. Our first room, and much of the hallway, smelled horribly of smoke. Thankfully the kindly owner moved us to another room the next night. I dread to think what a miserable week we would have had if we did not catch this break. The food was not so good unfortunately- wished we had not paid for the all-inclusive. We did so based on other glowing reviews we saw here. You'd be much better off walking into town each day where many restaurants serve much better, and affordable food if you are willing to eat omlettes or gyros for example. You can always spend more for more exciting meals and we did that too at times! For example, the hotel offers an orange colored drink at breakfast time, not real orange juice which is plentiful in Creta. They also offer the cheapest (flavorless) bread they can get from the bakery up the street (on the main street) which is also a better breakfast alternative with its fresh bread and juice by the way. The other foods at the hotel are the same day after day, and they do not even put out something as basic as cut tomatoes and cucumber which also seems like an affordable, and minimally decent option to offer guests for breakfast. I can't imagine why they don't bother with this at all. The dinner was often bland and unappealing. I honestly can't believe anyone raved here about these meals. Until and unless they make improvements, I strongly urge you not to misspend your money on the food here and just go to the restaurants nearby - it is only a 2-3 minute walk to an area with much better food. As to the nearby beach, it is just beautiful and relatively uncrowded. As you walk out of the residence and head to the beach you can pay to sit in chairs on the left side or the right side, we always choose the left side. They include an offer to swim in another neighboring hotel's pool, discounts on food, etc. that make you feel like you are getting a little extra for your 2.50 euro per person should you want it. One plus about the rooms is that you get a mini fridge in them, on the other hand unless the magnetized key is inside the room there is no power to the room. Nevertheless you can keep plenty of cold water or other treats on hand. We would consider staying here again, but only for the convenient location, and only if we could be assured we weren't stuck in a small, smoky room.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    4
    7
    4
    8
See reviews for
16
19
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Greece
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

amazing beach and only a few meters inf front of you... clean and quiet hotel very close to the beach. You wake up in the morning you have your breakfast next to the pool and then you walk to the beach in front of the hotel. An amazing long sandy beach just in front of the hotel. My children loved the pool and the beach ofcourse, and me and my husband had a really relaxing week. The food was very tasty aldo I loved the buffet. The city of Rethimnon is not far but not in a walking distance ofcourse , you definitely have to use car or bus. Like!

Room Tip: first floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enfield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

The amazing thing of this hotel is that has a distance from the sea about 50m. The comparison between price and service is excellent. Best Value for money in other words. Food is good and the distance from rethymnon city is 4km by bus.

Room Tip: 50 meters from the sandy beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012 via mobile

This well located hotel (close to the beach ca. 30 meters and close to Rethymnon ca 5 km) is peaceful and quiet. Hotels and restaurants close to it provide a variety of activities but not as much as would be disturbing. Pool area is small but it wasn't crowded during our stay, the other guests probably hung out on the nearby beach.

Rooms aren't big but they're clean, have a tv (only one channel in english, though), A/C and a small fridge. Beds are on the hard side. The rooms have balconies but only the ones facing the pool have sea view. Rooms on the 1st floor facing the garden get a nice glimpse of the sea (rooms facing the road haven't got the best view).

Breakfast is included and it was ok (bread, coffee, juice, cheese, ham, eggs, youghurt).

During our stay most of the guests seemed to be Russian. Only some of the staff speak english. Vassilis speaks english and is very friendly and helpful.

We appreciated the possibility to have an early breakfast on the day of our departure.

For an independent traveller this peaceful hotel provides good accomodation and great location for a reasonable price!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

i enjoyed staying in a clean and nice hotel room , with a nice balcony, so close to this Amazing SAndy Beach (!!!!) and ofcourse in a very good price. The Location is just perfect , next to Platanias Beach and not far from the city of Rethimnon. The rooms are comfortable and clean. Dinner and Breakfast was just perfect, the staff was friendly...it is "a value for money" because for me is MORE than you can get for this price! I would definitely suggest it .

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

the hotel was clean , the rooms comfortable, service was good, the pool was clean, the restaurant had really nice food! but the BESTpart was the big sandy BEACH IN FRONT of the hotel...i enjoyed my eveniings next to the pool drinking ouzo... Rehtimnon City is not far to visit.
Very Relaxing!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
athens
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

I travelled there last summer...i had one week...the sandy BEACH IN FRONT of the hotel is Amazing, we had wonderful time there with my husband and children ...the hotel very clean...very nice food...nicely furnished rooms..very close to Rethimno city a beautiful city with interesting nightlife also...many options for me and my family...Relaxing and ofcourse in a VERY GOOD PRICE!

Room Tip: room with a view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Creta Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Creta Residence

Address: Platanias, Rethymnon, Crete 741 00, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Rethymnon Prefecture > Rethymnon > Platanias
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 19 Hotels in Platanias
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Creta Residence 3*
Number of rooms: 94
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Creta Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Creta Residence Hotel Platanias
Creta Residence Crete, Greece

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Creta Residence, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.