We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern decor, friendly, family run hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Axos

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Axos to your Saves list
Hotel Axos
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Maxis kritis 167, Platanias, Rethymnon, Crete 741 00, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 19 Hotels in Platanias
Certificate of Excellence 2014
York, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Modern decor, friendly, family run hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

We stayed at the Axos last year and had a wonderful family holiday, the staff were absolutely fantastic nothing was a bother. The family run business is right in the centre of Plantanias and a 2-3 minute work to the beach. The hotel provided a traditional Greek breakfast which we thought was lovely and we would sit int he onstreet bar watching life go by for far to long. the road outside the hotel is busy, but i think all Greek roads are and it was never a problem. the rooms were really modern design and spotless and had a fridge, hob, kettle, etc.

The hotel is on direct bus routes to all the main attractions, we had a hire car for the 2 weeks but rarely used it. The local restaurants are so close and these come to life in the evening (but don't worry no nightclubs or rowdy scene in this resort. We could have eaten in every restaurant but 2 weeks was'nt enough and besides each one had such charm and the Greek food was perfect, they all supplied fruit, cake and ouzo or Raki to wash the meal done at no extra charge.

Sometimes the beach can get windy, but thats what the pools for and you can generally get a sunbed. But wonder done to the beach in the evening and watch the sunset never once feeling worried.

Would we go back? Yes like a shot 100%.

Room Tip: You'll need transport/ transfers from the airport, we got a hire car but rarely used it as the b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    179
    60
    16
    10
    1
See reviews for
59
140
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

We stayed here for 7 days in june 2013. Me, my husband and 1 year old boy.

First we got a room with a view facing the street in second floor, I asked if it was possible to get a room facing the pool, and the next day we had a new room. Great service, and the pool front room was excellent even if we had to give up our family room with to rooms to and move to a single room.

The reason I wont give this hotel a 5 star is because we where travelling with a one year old and we had requested a baby cot on arrival.
When we arrived the hotel they didn't have a baby cot and it took several hours before it arrived pretty late in the evening. And when it arrived it was a pretty awful thing, it must have been 15 years old or something, extremely dirty and smelled of old sweat. But we used it anyway and covered it with the sheets from the hotel.

The breakfast was great, I payed 5 euros for me and my toddler.
The drinks in the bar was good, and super service as they served it to us in the convenience of our balcony while our little one was safe asleep inside.

I would definitely go back to this hotel.

Room Tip: A pool front room is a great option
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North West England
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

Didn't stay here but it was recommended as a good place for a late drink. IT IS !! Had possibly one of the best Margaritas - ever. The bar was full but NOT noisy. A great place to chill and enjoy a drink (or two) in a nice location

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

I booked this hotel for 2 nights after checking many positive reviews, and actually wanted to stay longer at the end!
We lost direction to get to the hotel by car from Highway as there was no clear sign of "Platanias", but managed to find it. All staff were very friendly, and the room was unbelievably spacious. The bed room was separate room from Kitchen/Living room, and it had very spacious balcony. Our rooms were spotlessly clean, and beds were very comfortable.
Our stay was B&B basis, and breakfast was more than enough. There were variety of choices from cold and hot meals with some Greek spcialities.
There were plenty of restaurants and shops around the hotel, and you can buy soap/shampoo from them (only hand soap was provided in the room).

If you are noise-sensitive person, we suggest you to book a room away from Hotel bar/neighboring bars.
Only one negative point was that no wifi was available in room (available only bar/reception area as is mentioned in their website).

Overall, it was one of the best three star hotels in my life.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

We reviewed Axos Hotel on here before booking. We weren't disappointed! The hotel was great. We went with our teenage children, who, are adult size so needed a large room and 'sensible beds! Our room was very generous, my husband and I shared a double bed in an a joining room whilst the children had a decent single bed each in the lounge/kitchenette area. We had a pool side balcony. Again, large, two sun loungers on it and 4 comfy wicker chairs and table. The staff were always polite, keen and welcoming. Nothing was too much trouble! Sheets and towels were changed when requested.
The beach was a 5minute walk away, sandy and welcoming.
We went in half term, but it was quiet, although perfect! The Cretans we met were always welcoming and keen to share and tell about their country. Many Thanks, we had a wonderful time.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spalding
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013 via mobile

We booked here after reviewing on trip advisor and can say everything we read was true.
Hotel staff were very friendly and helpful the rooms and hotel very clean and we'll looked after.
The pool was clean and generally I couldn't fault our stay.
Our rooms were cleaned as requested
The bar is well stocked and breakfast was popular with my children as always plenty to eat including cakes for breakfast.

The hotel is situated approx 5k from the old town just a 2o min buse trip costing 1.20 euro each way.
It leaves every 30min, the beach was a 5min walk and is in a lovely location.
Thanks to all the staff at axos hotel for a lovely stay and the October weather was wonderful daytime 25/27 cel and night time 10/15 cel.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billericay, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

We booked three nights but only stayed two allowing us to keep the room and make full use of the day before a late flight from Heraklion ( 75 minutes by car away .)
Charming at check-in , very clean , well maintained and equipped. Ample parking nearby and close to numerous restaurants .150 metres from beach which is absolutely fine if a little featureless.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Axos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Axos

Address: Maxis kritis 167, Platanias, Rethymnon, Crete 741 00, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Rethymnon Prefecture > Rethymnon > Platanias
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Platanias
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Axos 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Axos is a cozy and pleasant apartment hotel, in a beautiful location and with a great variety of services. Highly recommended as an alternative for those who want to explore majestic Rethymno and its surroundings but don't want to be confined within the city. Its name comes from the village ‘AXOS’ where the family that runs the hotel comes from, works since 1989 and been fully renovated in 2009. It is built in an L shape that encloses the pool and garden. There is also a gift/gold shop near the entrance where guests can benefit from an exclusive discount on every purchase. Axos is located in Platanias which is the most well known seaside village for the holidaymakers with restaurants, supermarkets, bars, stores with clothes or souvenirs and with a very good bus and taxi transport. To its guests it offers free Internet WI-FI at the public areas (lobby, pool, bar) (Wi-Fi) or they can use the PC provided in the lobby are and its target is the friendly atmosphere since it is a Family Run hotel. Last but not least, Axos is very pleased and proud to announce that the National Jury of programs ''GREEN KEY'' decided to reward ''Axos'' hotel, after having evaluated their application for participating in this ecological label for tourist units. So now Axos is officially a ''GREEN KEY'' hotel.''Axos hotel offers 44 Studios and Apartments that recently have been renovated (2009). Modern furnishing, spacious rooms and big balconies suitable decorated in a pleasant atmosphere. All rooms are equipped with central heating, self controlled air-condition, balcony, satellite Flat Screen TV, direct telephone line, radio, cooker with 2 rings, microwave, kitchen kettle, coffee & tea making facilities, refrigerator, toaster, coffee maker, wake up service, hair dryer, bath tabs and very relaxing bed mattresses with ISO certifications for you to enjoy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, HostelWorld, HostelBookers and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Axos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Axos Hotel Rethymnon
Hotel Axos Crete, Greece

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Axos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.