We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good restaurant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Taverna Vergina

Taverna Vergina
Main street in Platanias | Maxis Kritis 147, Platanias, Rethymnon, Crete 74100, Greece
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 11 Restaurants in Platanias
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Greek
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Surrey, UK
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Good restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

This family run (what else) restaurant is we believe the best in Platanias - we ate there 3 times during our stay. Food is great, atmosphere superb and waiters friendly but not pushy. Recommended.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    26
    13
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Leicester
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“wine”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

Had a nice meal,waiter ask if we would like wine,we said yes but the cost 20euros which he did not tell at the time of ordering

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“The best restaurant we went to in Crete”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Try almost everything. For starters take cheesballs, grilled feta and stuffed wineleafs. The mussaka is very good, anything mix-plate is good. The housewine is good and cheep.
The staff is very helpful and polite. I think the food and the staff was the reason why we went back there many times.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Thank You Mine Host”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

It has been a long time - 18 years to be precise - since we dined at this restaurant. We watched this restaurant being built in April 1995 - which happened within the space of a week - and saw an old, run down, cottage transformed into a traditional Cretan restaurant. As we were passing through on our way to Heraklion Airport yesterday, we stopped at Platanias. The town has changed almost beyond recognition, but I guess in 18 years, to some extent, that's inevitable, but the welcome at Taverna Vergina was the same. Although, sadly, we weren't able to dine here, yesterday, when we did eat here, it was excellent, and, looking at the menu, there is no reason to believe it is not more so today. Lots of new features too, from when we were there last, including a rooftop garden. The owner/manager came out to greet us, and, was genuinely interested in listening to our history with the Taverna Vergina. On saying our farewells, he asked us to wait for a moment, and gave us a bottle of wine to take home, and which we are enjoying even as I write. Thank you mine host - it is delicious!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Lovely”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

If you want genuinely fresh seafood eat here and ask what's available. Home cooked food restaurant standard. Choose the Greek. The home baked cakes you get at the end of the meal are mamas own and truly delicious. Make sure you go up to the rooftop garden at night.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taverna Vergina also viewed

Platanias, Rethymnon
Missiria, Rethymnon Prefecture
 
Platanias, Rethymnon
Platanias, Rethymnon
 

Been to Taverna Vergina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Taverna Vergina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.