We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Minos Mare Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Minos Mare Hotel to your Saves list
Minos Mare Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   17 Pavlou Drandaki St, Platanias, Rethymnon, Crete 74100, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 19 Hotels in Platanias
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Sunny South East
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

Although the rooms in Minos Mare are basic they are nevertheless comfortable. Despite other reviews, I found the food excellent and the variation of food was splendid, catering for the different tastes. The pools are nice and it's straight on the sandy stretch of Rethymno. Most evenings there is some form of entertainment. The short 2 minute walk to the main street is no problem and you're straight at the bus stop and shops etc. If I have to say something negative it would be that it's hard to find free sockets when you want to charge a few things at the same time. But you would laugh at me if would say that this is a complaint.

Room Tip: You can upgrade to Minos Mare Royal, which rooms are a little more luxurious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    74
    28
    11
    4
See reviews for
53
70
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
LEEDS
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

We stayed for a week in September 2013. The hotel is in a good location, right on the beach and only 5 mins walk to the centre. It has a nice pool and have some great staff. Dimitri and Despina at the outdoor pool bar are great.

However the rooms are no way 4 star, they are quite dated. The air conditioning is not great, its old fashioned and you can not control the temperature, its preset, so you can only adjust the airflow. The rooms need a complete revamp. The hotel have started but they have only done 2 rooms and there were not any signs of any others being done.

The food was not great either, it was only ever warm and not hot. The white wine in the restaurant was disgusting, we tried to reject it after sampling it but we had to pay.

If I were to go again it would be for bed and breakfast and only when the rooms have been upgraded. I would rate them at 3 star at the most.

if your not fussy about a 4 star room or the food you could have a great holiday here!

Room Tip: Only a refurbished room or you will be disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth UK
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Stayed for 2 weeks in August 2013.
my wife and I and two friends had excellent rooms- each with with a balcony. the Hotel is quiet, clean and has excellent staff in the reception and the restaurant ( which is on the lower ground floor).
the hotel has a lift in addition to stairways to the first floor.The air conditioning was quiet and efficient
There was an excellent choice of food in a buffet style restaurant which has a choice of inside or a outside dining areas.
The hotel provides wifi free of charge.
We found the beach - which adjoins the hotel to be really good & safe for swimming with free sun beds.
All in all highly recommended as a choice from Olympic holidays.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony overlooking the reception area. they are quiet and have good WiFi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Definately not a 4* hotel! Air condition is turned off every day from 4am to 2pm!!!!!Extremely hot in the rooms, uncomfortable beds, old furniture. Pool area is ok, breakfast was good. Location was not very close to the main strip of restaurants and shops, about 5min walk. Surroundings of the hotels were not too pretty, beach was sandy, but sea too rough to swim in.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

The rooms are pretty dated. The beds pretty bad (springy and old) We got the all inclusive deal. Food was mostly overcooked and pretty basic. The air con is timed - starts at 2pm and ends at 4am and isnt very strong. The key is linked to the electrics so when you leave the room the air con goes off. Woke up everday in a sauna. Not a bad place for kids as pool was good size plus a small kids pool. Nighly entertainment is pretty light but the kids seemed to like it. Mostly the staff are friendly enough. Beach is pretty much useless as the water is so rough you cant swim it. Many people came out with scrapes on legs, backs etc due to the rough water and the rocks. Maybe I was expecting too much out of a 4* in Greece. I have stayed in 5*s on Crete (Elounda Bay) and they have been great.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

We stayed at the Minos mare in June 2013 to attend our son's and daughter in law's wedding which was held at this hotel. Everything about the hotel was perfect, I have nothing negative to say about it, the wedding was fantastic and you could not wish for a better venue. All the staff are really helpful and friendly from the cleaning ladies to top management. The pool bar prices are reasonable and cheaper than some of the bars in the village! The food is fine if you are willing to try different things and when I'm away I do so that was O K but my husband was not so keen on some of the menus available. The pool is spotlessly clean and there are ample sunbeds to use around it. The rooms are cleaned daily with fresh towels provided each day, beach towels also available. There is a fridge in each room which is really handy, tea and coffee facilities also.

The village itself is not too bad a couple of small supermarkets, lots of touristy shops and loads of bars, tavernas etc. There is a Lidl supermarket which is a 5 minute walk from the hotel. Buses run regularly from the village to Rethymnon at a cost of 1 euro 20.

I would definitely, and hope to, return to this hotel. I would also like to mention Costos from the beach bar, Yannis from the pool bar and Pisti who worked on reception just three of the many wonderful staff.

Room Tip: Try to avoid rooms 201, 202, 203 as these rooms are above the kitchen and are really hot even when u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

This hotel is really nice and the staff were all very friendly and helpful. The room decor was a bit dated but the bed was comfy, the room was a good size and the bathroom was large with toiletries provided. The rooms are cleaned daily and each room has a balcony. The breakfast buffet had a large selection that varied every morning and the it was the same for dinner, although drinks were not included in half board.

There is a large pool with a second indoor pool and the beach is literally steps away from the hotel. There is a restaurant on the beach that provides excellent food and the hotel provided us with a 10% discount for it when we checked in. There is a giant chess set, games room and table tennis table as well as a children's play area and plenty of seating and sun beds on the premises.

The hotel is close to a bus stop which takes you to the city and there is a Lidl within walking distance to buy supplies. There are plenty of restaurants close by as well and some touristy shops. The tips I can offer are not to go at the end of October as the weather was very unsettled, and be specific that you are staying at the Minos Mare as there is a separate hotel called the Minos and there is also the Minos Mare Royal.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Minos Mare Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Minos Mare Hotel

Address: 17 Pavlou Drandaki St, Platanias, Rethymnon, Crete 74100, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Rethymnon Prefecture > Rethymnon > Platanias
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Platanias
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Minos Mare Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Minos Mare Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Minos Mare
Minos Mare Rethymnon
Minos Mare Hotel Crete, Greece

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Minos Mare Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.