We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food in Mirthios” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Taverna Dionyssos

Taverna Dionyssos
Mirthios, Plakias, Crete 74060, Greece
+(30)2832031005
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 4 Restaurants in Mirthios
Cuisines: Greek
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Hoganas, Sweden
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Food in Mirthios”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

We looked up the restaurant in the small village Mirthios in the mountains above Plakias. To order by a visit to the kitchen, you pick out your dinner directly by the ready-made and genuine Cretan dishes. The view out of Plakias and the sea is adorable.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    9
    4
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Versoix, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Authentic and delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

The most authentic dishes we tasted during our week-long stay near Plakias. Vegetarian paradise - I strongly recommend the bean meze and the fried aubergines! The owners use lovely olive oil in all their dishes. The kids loved the spaghetti and the little complementary dessert. Warm Cretan welcome - literally! It was chilly on the terrace so the owners made a fire in the little stove so we could stay out and enjoy the view in comfort. We'd go back to Crete just to eat here again.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Ou family favourite!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

We've eaten here for a few years now and simply love it. Normally we go here 4 or 5 times during the fortnight's holiday. That's how good it is! Cretan hospitality at its absolute best and an authentic culinary experience EVERY time. We love it, and will return again and again and again!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jesenice
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Madness and ecstasy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

In Greek mythology Dionysos was the god of the grape harvest, winemaking and wine, of ritual madness and ecstasy. He was there, no doubt.
Lamb in lemon (and fennel) and tomato sauce were indescribably good. Salad Dionysos, simply fantastic. Today we go again to meet new ecstasy.

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mirthios, Greece
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“If you are going to eat in Crete...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Eat here. Just do it. The taverna is run by a friendly family. They make you feel welcome immediately. Dinner is followed by complimentary dessert and a small vase of reiki liquor. The owner Manousas will drink with you and make you laugh. Probably the freshest fish and best prepared fish we've ever had. We went once and kept coming back every night. Once there were no open tables so they brought in another table and made room for us to sit and eat. The food comes out really quick. They have nightly specials that you are invited into the kitchen to take a gander at.

Get the fish. Get some orange juice too.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taverna Dionyssos also viewed

 
Plakias, Rethymnon Prefecture
Plakias, Rethymnon Prefecture
 

Been to Taverna Dionyssos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Taverna Dionyssos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.