We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise in The Loire!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Les Peupliers

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Varennes sur Loire
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Les Peupliers
Save
You added Les Peupliers to your Saves list
2 Rue de Montauron, Varennes sur Loire, 49730 Varennes sur Loire, France   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Amboise, France
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Paradise in The Loire!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

This was a piece of Paradise! Tracey and Mike are the most wonderful hosts! I had booked the cookery class as a surprise for my husbands special Birthday! And to stay the night.
The course was just great!! And so informative! Drinks in the garden before eating our amazing meal was a delight with locally sourced Champagne! Then Dinner in the most stunning dining room! A gourmet meal with beautiful wine and company! Then an amazing breakfast with homemade yogurts, jams warm breads oh! just so wonderful!
Mike and Tracey went out of their way to make this an amazing experience! They are more than just hosts but friends!!! We even had a complimentary bottle of wine as a birthday present.
We only wished we had booked to stay longer!! I could have had a massage and we could have enjoyed our stunning bedroom, The Garden Room, with the largest shower! the room had every detail catered fo! and we could have enjoyed the area and their company for longer! !
This is more than a bed and breakfast! Mike will cook a meal in the evening for anyone who wants to join them!
This is an experience not to be missed! This is a MUST for anyone visiting the Loire area! We can't wait to return!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Garden Room which was just delightful . Massive shower, large lounge very comfortab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LesPeupliers, Owner at Les Peupliers, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Thank you for such a glowing review! We are really pleased that you both enjoyed your stay with us and that you husband enjoyed his birthday present of a cookery class with Mike. We hope that we helped make it a memorable occasion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    1
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
12
107
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Worcester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

This was my second visit to the wonderful Les Peupliers. Having last year visited with friends, this time I couldn't wait to return with my husband for a relaxing few days, just the two of us. We had an absolutely incredible time. Tracey and Mike were such fabulous hosts, our room 'The Hayloft' was beautiful and Mike's cuisine was amazing. Lazy days spent visiting the stunning Chateaux, time for some local wine and champagne tasting, and a chance to wander around the picturesque town of Saumur. A simply perfect break. Thank you so much Tracey, Mike and Max the lovely labrador :) Already planning a return visit!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mikewilke, Owner at Les Peupliers, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
We are so pleased that you enjoyed your special break with us. It was a pleasure having you stay with us. We'd love to see you again next year! Best wishes from us all, Mike, Trace & Max
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Les peupliers was absolutely wonderful. After the chaotic stress of Paris, it was a haven for weary travellers. Tracey and Mike went out of their way to our stay comfortable and easy. They organised a driver for us so we could visit the surrounding chateuxs full of historical significance. But we enjoyed the peaceful atmosphere of les peupliers the best and were spoilt by Mike's culinary delights and Tracey's relaxing massage. Say hello to Max. Thank you for a wonderful stay

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mikewilke, Owner at Les Peupliers, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
Thank you for your lovely comments on your recent stay with us. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay. We do try to make our guests' stays a pleasureable one. It was great meeting you and hope to see you again sometime in the future. Best wishes Tracey, Mike & Max.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tadworth
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Tracey & Mike never disappoint. Our third visit and the standard is so high. Glorious décor and accommodation, mouth watering food from Mike and beauty treatments which are so relaxing from Tracey.
Roll on our next visit!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mikewilke, Owner at Les Peupliers, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
Thank you both for choosing to come to us for the third time and that you enjoyed your time with us.
Hope to see you again next year! It was a pleasure welcoming you back and we really appreciate your loyalty. Take care. Mike, Tracey & Max.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremantle, Australia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

This is a special place simply because the owners understand what visitors to their chambre d'hôte really want.

The place itself is simple - a renovated old farmhouse in a quiet country setting close to everything that the Loire is famous for. It is roomy, comfortable and has all amenities, including a pool, separate sitting area with a fridge, and Max the friendly lab.

Mike and Tracy immediately make new arrivals feel at ease and very welcome in a casual understated way. You soon slip into the relaxed and homely atmosphere of the place.

Breakfast is French and delicious in the dining room, but it is the optional evening meal that becomes the standout experience at les peupliers. Mike is an accomplished chef and he is very happy to show dinner guests each evening why this is so. Excellent and innovative cuisine!

Mike and Tracy are interested in their guests and are very helpful in recommending the best the area has to offer. But more than that, they are very likeable people who genuinely enjoy seeing their guests make the most of their visit. And it shows.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mikewilke, Owner at Les Peupliers, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
Thank you for your recent review on Tripadvisor. We always try to offer good service and a welcoming smile to our guests, it is important to us that guests feel at home here. We are happy that you enjoyed your Les Peupliers dining experience. As you know, Mike is a passionate chef who still, after 30 years in the business, gets really pleasure from creating tasty dishes using the best ingredients. It is great to know that it is appreciated. Kind Regards from us all, Mike, Tracey & Max.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

We booked very late and we were very lucky that Tracey and Mike could accommodate us!! We were only there for 2 nights, only wished we could have stayed longer. Tracey and Mike are so welcoming and made us feel at home from the moment we arrived. We stayed in Stables II - very well decorated and spacious. Mikes food was lovely - would defiantly recommend having dinner there. Unfortunately I did not have time for a massage, but next time for sure!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mikewilke, Owner at Les Peupliers, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
We are pleased that we managed to fit in your booking and that you enjoyed your two night stay with us. Thank you for your appreciative comments on the accommodation and Mike's cooking. Would love to fit you in for a relaxing massage next time around. Kind Regards, Mike, Tracey & Max
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ville Jesus, France
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Just returned from our fourth visit to Les Peupliers, and just as fabulous as the first time. Mike and Tracey (and Max of course) never fail to welcome us with such brilliant hospitality. We cannot fault the service here, gorgeous and superbly comfortable rooms, heated swimming pool, brilliant stone massages by Tracey, and the food....................cannot be beaten anywhere!!!!!!!!!Mike you are our dream chef. Why eat anywhere else.......doesn't make sense.
Must look at our diary for next year and get another visit booked in quickly.
Thank you again, for such a brilliant 5 days x

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mikewilke, Owner at Les Peupliers, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
Many, many thanks for your continued support and loyalty. It's great to know that everything we offer here is enjoyed and appreciated. Mike enjoys producing new and exciting dishes for your visits and I enjoy providing the relaxing hot stone massages that are so beneficial. We look forward to your next visit very much. Best wishes from us all, Mike, Tracey & Max.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Les Peupliers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Les Peupliers

Address: 2 Rue de Montauron, Varennes sur Loire, 49730 Varennes sur Loire, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Pays de la Loire > Maine et Loire > Varennes sur Loire
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Varennes sur Loire
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury bed & breakfast accommodation in the heart of the Loire Valley. Lovingly restored and renovated, Les Peupliers provides five luxurious guest bedrooms and suites, each with private facilities. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Les Peupliers Varennes Sur Loire, Pays De La Loire, France

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Les Peupliers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.