We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very impressed and delighted - will certainly return” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Domaine de la Breche

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Varennes sur Loire
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Domaine de la Breche
Save
You added Domaine de la Breche to your Saves list
5 Impasse De La Breche, 49730 Varennes sur Loire, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Very impressed and delighted - will certainly return”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2011

The site is a very well maintained Les Castels site which also includes Eurocamp & Keycamp mobile homes. The site is laid out very well and is quite small so wherever you are staying it is never too long to walk to the main facilities. There is a shop with fairly reasonable prices (although it will never compare with supermarkets), a bar on site as well as a restaurant - food was good and again reasonably priced. They also do take away pizzas. There are 4 swimming pools - 1 with water slides, one deeper pool, one shallow pool and one toddler pool with small slides. Also a bouncy castle and a games room near the shop and various swings, climbing frames etc. dotted around the park. Lots of other activities including pony trekking.

There were lots of British, Irish and Dutch on site plus a few French, German and Belgians while we were there. The site is ideal for younger children and seemed to be popular with these sort of families. Not too many older children who I guess may get a bit bored here. We loved it as did our 2 year old daughter, particularly the pools. Close to Saumur (6km) which contains all amenities you require (shops, petrol, supermarkets etc.)

The site was generally very well kept and although we were in a mobile home I did look at the wash blocks and toilets for campers which were always very clean. Washing machines, dryers and irons available there too. We stayed in a Eurocamp mobile home which was great and catered for everything we needed.

The camp has a quiet policy between 10pm and 8 am which seemed to be well observed.

The local area is very beautiful - this was our first visit to the area but will certainly not be our last. If we return we will certainly look seriously at staying here again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    27
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
47
13
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rogerstone
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2010

We chose this site for its proximity to Saumur and the Loire, it is a Castels site, the facilities offered and the general reviews. On arrival we realised that this was a touring site that had developed over the years - the touring pitches are very good and spacious and I would recommend to anyone looking in this area.

The Keycamp / Eurocamp etc pitches are obviously an add on in the last few years but are well placed - a bit away from the pool but as it is not a large site this is not a problem. The pools are small with a limited appeal to teenagers - in fact we realised that this was campsite for families with younger children and were pleased that we chose this when our older children had not been with us on this holiday.

Our caravan was near the lake which meant that we had a lot of wildlife for children to watch - the family of ducks was fed with the left over croissants every morning and we had a list of different birds that settled on the deck to eat crumbs

There is a very small bar, shop that was open at limited hours (early July) but adequate and has bread, milk etc, a restaurant ( we didn’t try it so can’t comment). It has the feel of a small family run site which we found comfortable and friendly. We were there during the last week of the World Cup and enjoyed talking to the Dutch families on site - we all went to the bar area for the final which (despite the result) was a good evening and the site put up a small screen in the courtyard.

I enjoyed the holiday immensely (as much for the weather, which was very hot, and the chateau, stunning) and would recommend the site for its facilities and location. However as we left (mid July) it became very busy and I would doubt that the quite small pool complex would be comfortable with a full site. If I had a tourer I would definitely book on to this site

Have lots of info about local facilities if anyone is interested

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stansted
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2010

This is a third holiday in as many years to this site . First came on a two week holiday in August in 2008 booked direct with the site, then again last may half term with key camp and again this half term but booked direct again. Fabulous holiday, kids love the site with the 3 parks and the swimming pools and water slides. Very clean and Bridgitte and her family make you feel welcome. Kids are 8 and 6 had had a great time although not sure there is enough if your kids are older , but its great if you just want to get away for a week and want warm / hot weather and its not too far to drive from Calais for only a week. Will definately go back again next May half term. Caravans direct with the site a great in a quite area of the park, we just felt at home there and instantly relaxed.

Great great site.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leics
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2009

We thought this campsite was excellent - generous sized pitches with shade, good pools for children, lots of facilities but not noisy.

Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2008

I agree with the previous report on this campsite.

We have holidayed with Castels campsites 3 times, and you can be guaranteed a consistent standard. However, although the position of this site was excellent, with Saumur close-by and many attractions and places to visit, the campsite wasn't the best Castels one we have stayed on.

We use Castels own accommodation, usually the 3 bedroom mobile homes, which are always very good.

However, the campsite bar and shop were a disappointment. The shop was poorly stocked, and the bar was just really tatty. One member of staff covered both places, so you more often or not had to wait for the person to come from the other place to serve.

However, I believe from an independent campers point of view this site is excellent, with large pitches and a mixture of sun/shade. Unfortunately when we were there, there was little sun to be had.

  • Liked — Position in Loire Valley
  • Disliked — Shop & Bar area
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Powys
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2008

This was our 1st time camping (2 adults and 2 children aged 4yrs and 15months) and I would recommend here to everyone, especially after listening to the more experienced of campers, the general sensus is that this place is one of a kind, and is very good.

There are 4 swimming pools 1 with slides, 1 indoor heated, 1 children/toddlers with climbing aparatus and slide and 1 children/adults.

There is loads to do on site such as golf, hire bikes including ones with baby seats, go karting hire, pony rides, there are 4 parks, there is also Eurocamp entertainment for the kids (we didnt go through Eurocamp but you can still join in) There is also a lake which you can fish on.

The plots are very spacious and all have electric hook up and water access, they are all surrounded by trees which is great when its hot.

The toilets are very clean, there are showers, washing machines and dryers and sinks and drainers to wash your dishes.

The reception staff were fantastic and speak really good english, there is also a shop, restaurant and take away service available and a bar (which is quite expensive!)

The area is perfect with loads to see and do, I recommend highly going to Zoo de Doue, a perfect day out.

We will most definately be going back!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Domaine de la Breche? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Domaine de la Breche

Address: 5 Impasse De La Breche, 49730 Varennes sur Loire, France
Location: France > Pays de la Loire > Maine et Loire > Varennes sur Loire
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Varennes sur Loire
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In an estate of 50 acres just a few miles away from Saumur, le Domaine de la Brèche offers a service with a wide variety of facilities : bar, restaurant, take away, superette and various entertainment : heated swimming pools with water slides, pitch and putt, tennis courts, crazy golf, pony club, kids club in summer, bicycle and go karts hire, etc. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
l`Etang De La Breche Hotel Varennes Sur Loire
Domaine De La Breche Varennes Sur Loire, Pays De La Loire, France

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Domaine de la Breche, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.