We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grumpy service every time” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Fox & Hounds

Fox & Hounds
The Green, East Knoyle SP3 6BN, England
01747 830573
Improve this listing
Price range: $16 - $30
Cuisines: Pub
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Shaftesbury, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Grumpy service every time”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

I've been to the pub 6 times in the last year and each and every time the service is poor, and the staff are entirely unfriendly. It is a shame as it is well situated but I end up leaving wishing I hadn't bothered coming. Watch out for Sunday evening when they stop serving before 10 without warning, call or bell. If you dare ask for a drink they are unapologetic and even ask you to leave. I'm looking forward to the day it goes bust and someone nice runs it.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    27
    6
    10
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Shaftesbury, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Uninviting, go elsewhere.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

The staff were unfriendly and cold. We were made to feel like we were an inconvenience. The food was very basic, fried from frozen. Which is fine, but that along with the moody service made for a very unsatisfactory meal. I would recommend another pub.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Little gem!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Stopped here for lunch on the way back from Bush Farm Bison centre. Fantastic food! Proper homemade pie not one of those silly puff pastry "lids". Excellent filling and very tasty. The homemade parsnip soup and crusty warm roll were delicious and will come back for that alone! The fish in beer batter was crispy and perfectly cooked and the service was great, the chef brought my friend some fresh chillies to go with her meal - nothing was too much trouble. Will definitely be back!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiltshire
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
“Going downhill”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013 via mobile

We have eaten here a few times as a large family group. It is a lovely country pub in a rural setting. The atmosphere is good, and the beers and wines enjoyable but I have to concur with the recent more negative reviews for the following reasons:
1. The most rushed and off-hand booking phone call I've ever experienced with monosyllabic responses 'name?' 'when?' time?'
2. A menu unchanged for about a year that looks expansive when chalked on a board but in fact is quite limited; one steak offered.
3. Variable food quality - some good (fish), some awful (over re-heated pie with a tablespoon of gravy). Desserts sound great but are more like food you would find in a chain pub e.g. Rubbery apples on stodgy pancakes. Freshly cooked? Nah.
4. Slow and lackadaisical service - there seem to be very few staff around and we had to chase dessert menus despite promises to bring them, plus no offers to serve more rounds of drinks at the table so we had to make more trips to the bar. I think this is careless for a group generating £150 +.
5. Spurious charges on the bill - keep your eye on it e.g. charging for a bottle of wine rather than a glass. (Interesting to see this sort of issue is raised in other reviews.)

The landlord appears unsmiling, stressed, uncaring and is unwelcoming. I don't need effusive, but I expect a modicum of bonhomie when handing over large amounts of cash for an evening. It's their job and livelihood after all!

I would say go and see for yourself as it's not all bad - bit like the Curate's egg. We all agreed it is a shame to see this pub going downhill and will not be returning until we hear better and consistent reports.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Sunday Lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Food very good. Friendly pub with a nice atmosphere. Lovely scenery. Steps into pub-no good for people with limited mobility.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fox & Hounds also viewed

 
Tisbury, Wiltshire
Hindon, Wiltshire
 

Been to Fox & Hounds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fox & Hounds, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.