We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Apo Island Marine Reserve

Apo Island Marine Reserve
Negros Oriental, Philippines
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Attraction details
Kuala Lumpur
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Peaceful”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We stayed at Liquid and took our snorkeling excursion with them. The boat ride was enjoyable and relaxing. Unfortunately we did not see much fishes or any sea turtles whilst snorkeling. They may have gone into hiding because of the onslaught of Pablo typhoon 2 days ago. {We were stranded in tanawan oslob (we swam with the whalesharks before the typhoon came) for 2 nights during the super typhoon. The damages were quite severe and all boat/air services were stopped for 2 days.}
We bought some Tshirts from the villagers of Apo Island and were glad to have the chance to contribute a little to their economy. It's very heartening to see the efforts of the people involved bearing fruits as we could see the corals are growing and thriving again around Apo island.
Personally I felt very encouraged and hopeful,(having experienced and seen the real possibilities of revival of the coral life) when today we come together to right the wrong done in the past, it is possible to pass on to our children in the future, all the beauty and goodness of life given to us by our Heavenly Father!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    85
    31
    4
    4
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Apo Island = Paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

If your into Diving - say no more this place is unreal. Highly recommend staying with Mario's Diving and doing the course there. Heard a couple of people having bad experiences with a narky dive master in Liberties.

Mario himself is a patient and genuine guy and was brilliant to work with. Got to see a Manta Ray which is a rarity and watching the turtles do their own thing was incredible to watch.

Cant wait to get back there.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“Lovely swimming with giant tortoises”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

A choppy boat ride brought us to Apo Island, where we swam with tortoises. Guided by the locals, many of whom are entrepreneurial, be sure to have lunch in Liberty Community Hotel which serves excellent jack fish. You don't need the locals to guide you as you snorkel, but your boatman can point the way to the tortoises. It's a divine experience to swim with them!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Locals need to be aware”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

The actual marine reserve was closed during our visit..but i guess the part where we saw a BIG Turtle is still part of the marine reserve. In less than 5minutes of snorkeling, a BIG Turtle welcome us to Apo Island. The animal was busy eating when we saw it, I had a huge grin on my face while snorkeling. Happy to I've seen such a creature.

Locals need to be aware that they need to keep the shore clean. Otherwise, the turtles might accidentally eat their trash and end up dying. Locals will surely suffer if that happens, it will affect tourism in which they get incomes.

I hope LGU's urged the locals to make the shore clean, keep the trash away from it.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
72 attraction reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
274 helpful votes 274 helpful votes
“Easily 5 stars!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

My family and I took a day trip from Coco Grove Resort in Siquijor, which included a couple of snorkeling trips around Apo Island and a lunch buffet in their sister resort located in the island itself. THIS was the highlight of our trip this year! First, we went to the marine sanctuary where we were able to snorkel with enormous sea turtles -- tons of them! Unbelievable. I've not seen so many turtles since snorkeling at the Galapagos a few years back. The second excursion involved going to the other side of the island (where the divers go) and snorkeling all the way towards the shore. The corals and marine life here were extraordinary. The corals were humongous, while the fish were overly abundant. Totally a marine lover's paradise! Do not miss if you're in the Philippines!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Apo Island Marine Reserve also viewed

Dumaguete City, Negros Oriental
Dumaguete City, Negros Oriental
 
Sipalay, Negros Occidental
Bacolod, Negros Occidental
 

Been to Apo Island Marine Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Apo Island Marine Reserve, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.