We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing” 4 of 5 stars
Review of SENTIDO Apollo Palace

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added SENTIDO Apollo Palace to your Saves list
SENTIDO Apollo Palace
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Messonghi Beach 35, Messonghi 490 80, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Messonghi
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Relaxing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

We went for a week.
Good quality food, but got a little repetitive by the end. So we chose to eat out for a couple of nights.

Rooms were very clean.
Staff were delightful and helpful.
The grounds were maintained but not manicured.

Location was perfect, a quiet coastal village which didn't lack the basic amenities. Only a short transfer from the airport.

Good bus service to Corfu Town.

Mainly French speaking guests, we heard very little English which for me part of being on holiday.

Highlight of the holiday was a boat trip to The Blue Lagoon. Tickets available from the riverside or through the small travel centre in the village.

Would happily return for another week.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ingridvn, Holiday concierge at SENTIDO Apollo Palace, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
We are really happy to hear that you loved your stay in our SENTIDO Apollo Palace hotel.
Thank you so much for this positive feedback and it will be a pleasure to welcome you again.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    84
    27
    8
    4
See reviews for
50
68
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

This is our 3rd year holidaying at this hotel & we are never disappointed Our room had just been refurbished with the most luxurious bathroom lovely soft towels changed every day .This year we were on the ground floor with terrace looking on to lovely flower gardens I must praise the gardeners they do a great job There.s 2 swimming with with lots of beds again kept to a high standard The restaurant serves a great range of food for people who like a cooked breakfast theres always plenty bacon eggs sausage .The same at dinner we like their greek food especially chicken in a plum marinade yummy.We always find the staff very helpful & friendly We were h/b which suits us as we like to have a drink in the local bars The drinks are expensive at the hotel but then all hotels are the same.We loved our stay at this hotel &hope to be back next year

Room Tip: we like the ground floor as we can sunbath in the garden but better view on higher especially if you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ingridvn, Holiday concierge at SENTIDO Apollo Palace, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Thank you for choosing SENTIDO Apollo Palace again for your vacation.We love to hear that you liked your renovated room with new bathroom and really appreciate this wonderfull comments.Hoping to welcome you again and kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

I have read many reviews on this hotel and decided to cast my own and family's opinion of this hotel.

Firstly for any English going . This is a foreign hotel, particularly Belgium and French. As a ratio I would say there was only 3% English in the whole hotel.

The grounds are lovely situated around beautiful flowers and vines, this I could not complain with.

The hotel itself is quite large and has a relaxing atmosphere .

Messongi itself is very very quiet. With virtually no nightlife.
There is a short 15 minute walk to moratika where we found an ocean beach bar which played various music from 80's upwards to present. This seemed to be popular with the workers of the area and Greek locals.

The food in the hotel is awful. I am shocked to see so many good reviews but then again most of them are French.

The breakfast is breakfast and has the usual items to chose from. (Not the tastiest or warmest)

Dinner and tea seemed to repeat themselves . Always spaghetti station and a sauce of bolognese or tomato and then other dishes. The head chef Matthew who appears on a night asks if the food is not up to standard he will offer a korma which he has prepared out the back. After talking to the few residents that could understand us along wth reading reviews this seemed to be a common theme. I'd imagine it's a frozen meal ready to be placed in the microwave on request.

The food is bland and in many cases uneatable. You only have to visit a local taverna to realise the difference. I have been on all inclusives before and this really is the worst for food and drinks which I'll get onto in a minute.

There is salad which is the same every night and looks unfresh and could have been served at a previous dinner service.

We attempted dinner service on the first 3 nights of our week stay hoping the food would improve. On each night we left hungry and ended up visiting local tavernas which were lovely. Zak's which is just around the corner was beautiful along with fantastic service .

Now the drinks. There is a 7 long list cocktail menu with (alcoholic) ingredients if you want to call them that to chose from. They were horrible and tasted of washing up liquid. The beer on tap was meant to be Amstel but was watered down and I can only describe it as a nightclub pint where the aim is to get as many pints out of a barrel as possible.

Any actual drinks you had to pay for.!!!

The staff are not as friendly as described and looked quite miserable.

The entertainment ........
What entertainment... A kids party/club until about 10 at night and then a few songs from the DJ..

The rooms were modern but basic. Ours was fairly small and felt on top of each other at times.

We wouldn't normally complain or write a bad review but after reading all of the positive reviews we felt that we needed to comment to make sure others do not get sucked into coming here as we did.

All in all the hotel is around 2-3 stars and the food is 2 at very best.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ingridvn, Holiday Concierge at SENTIDO Apollo Palace, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
We are really sorry to hear that you were disappointed about your stay. We thank you for your review and we will use it to improve our services. Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

We spent a spendind weekend with my husband at this hotel and were very pleased with the hotel area and the place. Small villas with beautiful gardens, pools for kids and adults at different areas, the food was delicious and plenty! Of course there was a variety of cousine choices something that really is quite interesting to have available. I really recommend this hotel for couples and family holidays! Best choice in Messonghi of magnificient island of Corfu!

Room Tip: Higher floors - bettert view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ingridvn, Holiday Concierge at SENTIDO Apollo Palace, responded to this review, July 6, 2014
Google Translation
Θέλουμε να σας ευχαριστήσουμε πολύ για τα σχόλιά σας και είμαστε πολύ χαρούμενη που απολαύσετε τη διαμονή σας στο ξενοδοχείο SENTIDO Apollo Palace.
Φιλικους χαιρετισμους,

SENTIDO Apollo Palace team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

My husband and I just spent two weeks here for our 20th Wedding anniversary and I can't praise it highly enough. The rooms are arranged in small villas dotted throughout an ancient olive grove with little walkways the lead you through the complex. The gardens are filled with roses and oleander and are well maintained to give colour and greenery. There are a couple of pools to choose from and even a Monetesque lilly pond complete with frogs.

We stayed on an all inclusive basis and despite the food being buffet style there is always plenty to choose from and lots of variety. It is well prepared and very tasty. I should also mention the staff who serve you drinks and clear up your mess. They are extremely friendly and always willing to help, which given the fact that the all inclusive environment will automatically mean less tips for them is a real bonus.

The only warnings I have are that the internet connection is a little patchy in the rooms, but you're on holiday so just enjoy the freedom from those pesky e-mails, and if you are unlucky enough to get a wet day and be in an upstairs room the steps are extremely slippery.

That aside the title says it all. A fabulous place!!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zakynthos, Greece
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

Lovely hotel consisting of small villas spread over a massive, exquisite garden. The best thing about it is no doubt the amazing service: a group of really kind, friendly, humorous and hard-working professionals working for your pleasure and relaxation. The rooms were recently renovated and the quietness of the area is what we needed for quality sleep.Very family-friendly. I've been in this hotel before and will most certainly keep returning.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

Juicy pools, sprinkled with foot bridges and a labyrinth of footpaths taking you to a medley of clustered constructions housing a plethora of complimentary functions.
Tasty tucker provided by a super friendly Greek bunch. Rooms are very clean, with all mod cons and well planned at that.
The complex is situated right next to the beach, so if you fancy getting your top off,splashing some cream on, and dipping your toes in the sea you can!
Fancy a game of tennis? Fancy popping to the gym for a few reps? Well you can do that as well.
Great for families who want to kick back, fill your faces or chill out.

Nice one Apollo, you may be one of the most complex of Greek Deites, patron defender of herds and flocks, god of music and poetry, but on this occasion you're very user friendly and I may just come back and see you again my friend.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to SENTIDO Apollo Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SENTIDO Apollo Palace

Address: Messonghi Beach 35, Messonghi 490 80, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Corfu > Messonghi
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Messonghi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — SENTIDO Apollo Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 251
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the SENTIDO Apollo Palace! SENTIDO Apollo Palace was partially renovated in the winter of 2013 and the other part will be renovated in the winter of 2014. Built in the style of a Corfu village, the hotel complex is located at the edge of the fishing village of Messonghi on the southeast coast of the legendary island of Phaeacia, which was mentioned by the ancient Greek poet Homer in his famous Odyssey. Today the island is known under the name Corfu. With its architecture combining Greek tradition with the comfort of a children friendly hotel and its lavish garden filled with old olive trees, a chapel and a small amphitheater, the SENTIDO Apollo Palace is one of the most attractive hotels on the island. The extensive outdoor area features two freshwater pools with integrated children's pool, a sunbathing lawn and a pool bar. The hotel also offers a children's club for younger children (aged 4-12). Cozy taverns and bars as well as a small pebbly beach are close to the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your SENTIDO Apollo Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apollo Palace Messonghi
SENTIDO Apollo Palace Corfu/Messonghi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SENTIDO Apollo Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.