We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All in all not bad” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Venus Studios and Apartments

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Roda
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Venus Studios and Apartments
Save
You added Venus Studios and Apartments to your Saves list
Roda 49081, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 22 Specialty Lodging in Roda
Halifax, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“All in all not bad”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

I've rated the Venus average but only because there isn't a good rating.

Our holiday was made not by the accommodation so much as the other guests that were staying there. The guests were mainly families and a few young couples out for a quiet holiday in the sun, although when all the kids got together in the pool it wasn't that quiet but it was fab to see all the kids playing together and getting on as if they'd been friends for years. We have a boy 13 and a girl 10, and it made our holiday that they could go and play safely with all the other kids. This leads me to the parents and the couples staying there, you couldn't have hoped to meet a friendlier bunch of people. For the whole 2 weeks there was no rushing for sun beds at stupid o'clock in the morning and most people would chat and say hello.
My opinion of the accommodation is pretty much the same as most other reviewers. Our apartment was No.3 fortunately it was one of the last to be revamped so the bathroom although small was perfectly adequate. The bedrooms are of a good size with enough storage for most families, We don't go on holiday to cook so didn't care about the cooking facilities, Beware of the fridge the door opens from the wrong side so you bang your arm or head on the microwave shelf and the door doesn't close properly unless you nudge it a bit. The A.C. works well with units upstairs and down.
A 15 min stroll along the sea front road past tavernas and restaurants gets you into Roda village with plenty of entertainment and a little retail therapy.

Charlie's hideaway bar! For us the only thing that lets the Venus down, it's not so much the bar area its self, that's spacious with plenty of seating a pool table and a large screen telly. The issue is poor Charlie, He's a lovely old fella who tries to do far too much, he's there from 1st thing till the bar closes and that's one of the problems. On many a night we went back expecting a night cap and a chat with other guests only to find it all locked up, I could have understood it if it had been really late but it was never much after midnight and on one occasion it was 11.15. Also when the bar is open be prepared to pay hotel prices for your drinks. We paid on average €13 for 2 small cokes a wine and lemonade and a shot of sambuka.

All in all not bad.

Thanks to all the other families and couples that made our holiday such a fun and relaxing 2 weeks and thanks to Charlie for all his hard work.

Room Tip: Ask for room 2 or 3
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    13
    4
    4
    6
See reviews for
17
13
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

Please remember you are looking at Greek 3 star accommodation here. These apartments are of a typical standard for 3 star accommodation across Greece, yes there are always exceptions, but having worked in the travel industry for 20+ years I have a very good understanding of the grading system and value for money.

These apartments are value for money. It’s a complex of 19 apartments, set in 4 blocks, very spacious layout to the complex, plenty of room around the pool and on the grass, plenty of sun beds and umbrellas as well as trees for shade. There was no need for the early morning sun bed rush!!!

Arriving at the apartments, we got a bit worried. Arriving at night in the dark along un-light poorly surfaced roads – (typical Greece), the resort of Roda has a main road about 300m back from the sea front, with lots of small roads every 200m or so, that run down to the resort - so when we turned off the main road and stopped at the apartments we did wonder where we had picked!

But just a 1 minute walk from the complex and you are in one of the small coastal road that links Roda and Acharavi. Roda is bigger and picturesque with loads of restaurants and bars on the seafront – a nice 15 minute walk along the front to the start of the main drag of facilities; it is not littered with touristy shops. Acharavi has a few seafront restaurants with more on the main road.

We had booked a 2 bedroom apartment. These apartments sleep 4, the cooking facilities, if you wanted to cook might be difficult, 2 rings and a microwave, we did not attempt any cooking other then boiling some eggs, which took forever!!! We had two bedrooms one a double and the other a twin room which had a very tight spiral staircase up to it, my two teenage boys where fine, but others might find this different. I believe only two of the apartments have these spiral staircases!!! I would definitely request a room without a spiral staircase. We saw inside several other apartments and they had normal staircases. It would also appear some of the rooms have been refurbished. Ours, number 20 had not, but ours just needed a little bit of TLC. The kitchen area and bathrooms are not very spacious, but OK, we only slept and got showered etc in the apartment.

Cleaned regularly and linen changed twice in our stay. The complex is clean, the bar/restaurant is clean, the food is okay not over priced, and there is a small play area next to the pool. There is a pool table in the bar area. The pool did turn our white swimwear green!!

Charlie was very pleasant, a little forgetful at times, but very accommodating.

For the essential holiday bit’s, we suggest a walk to the bigger supper market on the main road either at Archaravi or Roda. Cheaper than those in the restaurant areas. You can walk to them and get a taxi back, but the taxi was 7 euros, so you need to make sure you stock up and make the taxi fee worthwhile.

Overall we were very pleased with our holiday; these apartments are a Greek three star and are good value for money. All in all this is a good complex, fine location, clean, friendly staff.

Please be careful this resort seems to have a short season, talking to the local restaurant owners, many of whom are English, the season gets going in May and ends by the end of September. Our apartments and Nino where we spent a good amount of time both are planning to close by the first weekend in October. It’s a ghost town out of season!!


I travelled in August 2012, 1 adult and 2 teenage boys.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, UK
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

Just got back from Venus apartments. the location is brilliant, 1 min walk to to the beach and 10m mins walk along the beach into Roda. The setting was gorgeous, really lovely pool but don't wear a white costume as it has a tendency to turn everything green including some guest's blond hair - lots of mini Shreks running around! The apartment itself was basic particularly the bathroom and the kitchen. We did cook some nights but only basic grilled meat and salad as the apartments are poorly stocked with equipment - only a bread knife for your sharp knife, but most of the tavernas are really reasonably priced so we ate out more than we originally intended to - we would particularly recommend Roda Park as the owner really went out of his way to ensure we enjoyed our selves. My 2 sons loved the pool and the proximity to the beach. My main observation would be that possibly Charlie is a bit too old to be managing it all and some balls are dropped. My other observation would be that if you would like to see a Cosmos rep to sort things out with, then don't hold your breath - we saw him once, he came across as very insincere but the plus side was that we certainly weren't hassled to go on trips etc as we never saw him. Some guests were also stung when hiring a car through Cosmos as they don't tell you that you are only paying for 100 km and any additional mileage is charged at 30 cents/km so bit sneaky. We didn't hire a car though as everything is within walking distance including the bus stop to nearby towns. We would go back but would insist on one of the rooms that has had a bathroom upgrade - rooms 1-9 currently! Hi to everyone we met - we really enjoyed our nights chatting in the bar!!

Room Tip: All rooms overlook the pool, rooms 1-9 have better bathrooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
porthmadog
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

we had a week in july this year, our room was smelly ,dirty a
nd very basic.Room not cleaned during our stay towels not changed ,bathroom still had soap bar from previous guest.kitchen was dirty all surfaces greasy never used the kitchen couldnt face it.I really dont recommend any one goes to the venus, lots of lovely other places to stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012 via mobile

We have just come back from a lovely 2 week break in Corfu. Having stayed self catering in Greece before, we had quite low expectations of the accommodation we would be in as it is usually very basic and Venus apartments are exactly that but also quite dated. The first room we were in was a bit smelly and musty with mould on the walls so we changed rooms. Charlie the owner was very apologetic and it was easy enough to move. The rooms are small and basic but they are clean and ours was cleaned about 4 times while we were there with fresh towels every other day, however talking to other guests, this was not always the case. The pool and bar area are lovely, but again needs updating. Charlie seems to do everything, including cooking and serving in the bar so getting served can take a long time and you are never quite sure if food is available. Food is very basic but ok. The pool is a bit dubious. After swimming in it, swim suits end up green! It looks clean enough and it did not bother any of the guests there but you always feel like it needs a good dose of chlorine! The whole place is actually lovely, perfect location to Roda and you can catch the bus easily to neighbouring towns! My advice would be to just expect it to be very basic 1 star accommodation and for the price we paid we really can't complain.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

Stayed at the venus early July 2012. The room was basic, and was only cleaned once during our weeks stay. that was our ONLY gripe. The garden/pool area was fantastic, really quiet one day only 4 people around the pool. no worries about claiming sun beds!! We didnt spend much time in Charlies bar (no cider for she who must be obeyed!) but we always found Charle pleasant and always willing to help. this is the first time I have done a review but felt the need after reading negative comments from certain people who obviously shouldnt go self catering in Greece!!!
Kev and Julie, Newcastle

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Austell, Cornwall
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

Some friends of ours recommended these apartments after having a thoroughly enjoyable time there last August. We were not disappointed at all. Our apartment was clean, simply furnished but more than adequate. Charlie is welcoming and if there is a problem it is sorted out straight away. We mentioned to him that our shower hose was leaking and it was changed within the hour. We chose to purchase air con to make the evenings more comfortable. The kitchen area was tiny but fine to provide breakfast, I have no intention of cooking when on holiday. Roda provides many good tavernas serving traditional Greek food as well as the typical English choices, and is an enjoyable 10 minute stroll by the sea. The sunsets were divine, and I'm sure the sunrises were also but we slept through those. It is a very quiet spot by day and night. The pool is kept very clean and was a joy to be in. There are plenty of sunbeds and umbrellas and you can move them in the garden wherever you want to be.
Three darling young kittens currently living in the garden kept us entertained, if you are reading this before going there, please be kind to them and give my love to Charlie, he gave me some bitter oranges from his garden to bring home for marmalade.

Room Tip: All rooms have a balcony or small terrace overlooking the pool area and gardens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Venus Studios and Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Venus Studios and Apartments

Address: Roda 49081, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Corfu > Roda
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 22 Specialty Lodging in Roda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Venus is a small collection of family-run studios & apartments, tastefully arranged around a spectacular swimming pool so that everyone has a perfect view. With ‘duplex’apartments sleeping up to four people and two person studios, there is a wide range of options available for families and other groups. All have air-conditioning, private balconies, showers, W.C.s, refrigerators and basic cooking facilities. Cots are available and there is a regular maid service. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Venus Studios And Apartments Hotel Roda
Venus Studios And Apartments Corfu/Roda

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Venus Studios and Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.