We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid if you don't want the greek great yarmouth” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Amorossa Village

Save Saved
You added Amorossa Village to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Amorossa Village
Roda 49081, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 21 Specialty lodging in Roda
norwich
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Avoid if you don't want the greek great yarmouth”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2008

Booked via Thomas Cook !
We have nothing positive to say about our 11 night stay in this dirty, mould-infested accommodation. Below are a few comments relating to the "highlights" of our holiday, please email us if you need any more horror stories!

1 - First of all, do yourself a favour and pay the additional £12 to have extra leg room on your flight to Corfu (should you decide to go there after reading the rest of this reveiw!). I'm not even that tall (5'4!) and found the flight there unbearably uncomfortable. You are completely packed in like sardines on the plane. On arrival at Corfu airport, the Thomas Cook reps seemed totally unorganised. We were asked to take a seat in the waiting area then left until about 20 mins later when we sensed something was up, we asked a rep what we should be doing (who seemed frustrated and completely patronising in her response to us), and asked us why we weren't already on the coach and made us feel like naughty school children. Not really the best first impression of this island, given we'd been up since 4.30am to get to Birmingham airport!
2 - The Resort. The apartments are in between Roda and Acharavi. Both are fine if you like fried breakfasts, awful bars with constant bad films and bingo nights in a smoked-filled atmosphere, tacky souvenir shops that you could really do without, grumpy and extremely rude locals, and a frontage that resembles Great Yarmouth on a really bad weekend with graffiti everywhere, dirt, and dilapidated/unfinished buildings. The beach at Roda is a joke - a narrow strip of dirty pebbles - watch out for the overweight German tourists in Speedos!
3 - Accommodation. It was awful - the brochure describes it as "basic" so our expectations were low to begin with. Needless to say, it was very, very uncomfortable and absolutely filthy - pictures give evidence of damp and mould, dead flies, dirty, very basic cookware (good luck if there's more than 2 of you staying in a two-bedroom apartment - there's extremely limited crockery/cookware (not even a chopping board or wine glasses!) - don't even attempt to cook more than a risotto/pasta), mattresses with springs coming out of them, blankets with cigarette burns... to name but a few issues! - Oh, and if you want hot water, forget it! Water is solar-powered so you won't have any hot water to wash with until about 5pm, but get in the shower quick as all adjacent apartments seems to compete for hot water/pressure.
4 - Given the options and alternatives that we have discovered since our return from the "holiday" that we could have got for what we paid for this farce, please, please, please do your self a favour and avoid this place at all costs - go to France or Italy or anywhere but this - put a tent up in your back garden (you'd be more comfortable!), smash somes plates, drink some foul wine - just don't spend your hard-earned cash on a holiday at Amorosa, or in Roda/Acharavi, Corfu.

  • Liked — I didnt - the thought of leaving was very appealing !!
  • Disliked — it was filthy !!!
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    6
    3
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
6
1
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Slough
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2008

We have just arrived back from a fab holiday at the Amorossa Apartments in Roda. It is a small complex, but being small means it is very friendly. We had a range of ages on our family holiday ranging from 13 upto 60+ and everyone was catered for!
The pool area is very clean and we were not fighting for sun-loungers as there were plenty. Petros and his family, along with Georgia and Olga go out of their way to ensure that your experience at the resort is a pleasurable one.
Apartments are basic, but you only sleep in them and are adequate for the purpose they are intended for.....would however recommend that you purchase mosqueto nets to go over the beds.
The apartments are situated about a 10 minute walk from Roda which is a nice walk along the front.

We will be going back to see everyone as soon as we can.

P.s as soon as we can download the photo's they will be added

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2008

If you are thinking of going to these Apartments and Resort then you are in for a treat! My friends and I loved the place, we only stayed a week but it was not long enough! The beach is just in front of the apartments, a bit pebbly, but loads of room! The sunsets from here are wonderful. There are plenty of bars and restaurants to suit every taste, maybe not the teenagers but couples and people who enjoy a quiet meal watching the sun go down! The apartments are clean and modern, and the staff are second to none. Petros and his family will make you so welcome! They do their own Greek Night with Petros and his family doing the dancing, and a great barbecue. I would definitely recommend Amarossa Apts and Roda.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wales
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2008

Lovely place,very clean,excellent pool,just across small road to beach.Pedros works hard,nothings too much trouble.would definately go back.

  • Liked — spacious studios
  • Disliked — no air con
  • Stayed June 2008
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2007

This is a lovely place to stay. The apartments are very clean, comfortable and good value. They are basic but contain everything you need. The pool is beautiful, bar staff very friendly but not overly so.

The hotel lies inbetween acharavi and roda, allowing one to enjoy the highlights of both but find a peaceful retreat as well. Roda is great for watersports, lively bars and shopping, while acharavi has some gems of restaurants, especially Fuego, and is a great place to eat and watch the sun set over the sea.

The bay is calm and warm, with plenty to do. I would highly recommend hireing a boat to explore a few more bays and to see the island, it's gorgeous. I would also recommend a trip to Aqua land water park, it's a great day out.

I would recommend this place for anyone who wants a low fuss holiday, a bit of a relax but also wants some activities to keep it interesting.

  • Liked — friendly staff, clean place, great pool
  • Disliked — pool closes at 7.30, too early
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Amorossa Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amorossa Village

Address: Roda 49081, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Corfu > Roda
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 21 Specialty lodging in Roda
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Otel so you can book your Amorossa Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amorosa Hotel Corfu
Amorossa Village Corfu/Roda

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amorossa Village, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.