We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect holiday” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Coral Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Coral Hotel to your Saves list
Coral Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Hotel Coral Roda | Municipality of Thinalion, Roda 49081, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Roda
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Perfect holiday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

We have recently returned from our third holiday in the Coral hotel, we loved it the first time and if anything even more now. Location, accommodation, food and all the amenities are excellent. Management and staff are brilliant, nothing is too much trouble and they make you feel really welcome and at home. Rhoda itself is a lovely little village, practically unspoiled. A lovely relaxing holiday. CAN'T WAIT TO GET BACK!
Florence, Kim and Elaine, Belfast Northern Ireland.

Room Tip: Annex rooms are very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    230
    53
    13
    20
    6
See reviews for
49
160
4
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dunshaughlin, Ireland
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

Best holiday EVER,,,Just felled in place like at home.Staff is wonderfull,we had so much laught with them,love to go back tomorrow,we stay for 2 weeks and wasn't enough for us,we had see view room ,spotless clean ,receptionist Maria gives u warm welcome on arrival ,such a lovely girl,Breakfast was amazing ,and with Kinga was even better,she was very good company at the pool bar too,And bar staff-amazing,Tasos,Spiros,Nikos and Dimitri best company for evening ,they keep u entertaining all the time,I never forget word SPECIAL...so much laught,Tasos make the best cocktails ever,Nikos is big heart gentleman,he makes sure u are enjoying every minute of ur holiday,Food was lovely, nice fresh and with amazing chef's decorations,Roda is very nice quit place,and u could't ask for better hotel than Coral Hotel,in general Greek's are very nice people and we hope we will be back soon.We can't say THANKS enough to all staff and owners. ,

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BANGOR
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

The hotel has an excellent location being separated from the sea only by a narrow and quiet road with views across the sea to the Albanian coast. Access to the sea in front of the hotel to swim would not be easy though Roda beach is only a short distance away as are the numerous tavernas of this quiet resort whichis not a place for rowdy clubbers.

The hotel is extremely clean, comfortable and well equipped. The pool is not huge but is perfectly adequate as is the supply of loungers etc. The pool bar is good and the same food is available as in the front restaurant.

Breakfasts are perfectly adequate Greek ones which can be supplemented for a modest charge with an English breakfast freshly cooked to order. The hotel has its own restaurant at the front and the food served is of excellent quality and on a par, at least, with food elsewhere in the village and, where possible, freshly cooked. A chicken souvlaki purchased here was both the best presented and best tasting that I have sampled.

My wife and I opted for a seaview room whose extra cost was considerably offset by free air conditioning, fridge and safe deposit box though the view itself and large size were themselves well worth the extra. The room was extremely quiet at night other than when England featured in early hour World Cup matches. Fortunately/unfortunately the disturbance was limited by Englands lack of goal scoring.

If you want a huge impersonal hotel with stuck up or rude staff the Coral is not for you. Small hotels are usually far superior to large in the primely important area of customer care and the Coral is no exception. All the staff are very warm and friendly and nothing is too much trouble. They make the hotel feel more like an extension of home.

The only complaint is that, on arriving around midnight, we discovered that our room had been double booked for that night. The hotel were very apologetic, rewarded us alcoholically, gave us a pool view room for the night and helped us move next day. Mind you the hotel is so good this only reduced my satisfaction verdict from 100% to 99.9% but, nonetheless it should not have happened.

There are lots of tavernas in the village and though service and quality varied we never had a bad meal. We visited New Port, both Alexandros, Petrinos, Roda Park, Ninos on the beach and Nikos the latter two being at the top of the old main street. We also visited Drosia which is close to the traffic lights and open all year round. Liver here though scarcely Greek traditional was excellent. The best located restaurant is the Alexandros right on the beach. To find it walk West along the seafront road and when you reach the Theodoros Hotel go straight on over the bridge (look down at the terrapins!) and immediately turn on to the beach. Half a mile along is Alexandros complete with nice sandy beach and sun loungers free for customers. It also has a Shirley Valentine table though diners would need wellies to eat at it!

There are lots of lovely places to visit in the island to see which you need to hire a car. If you don't hire a car all you will see is the Corfu that caters for us Brits not the truly Greek Corfu. You will also see numerous snakes and lizards absorbing the Sun's rays! Spiros at Dromeas close to the lights we found very good for car hire. There are some lovely tavernas in various villages especially those in Old Perithia and, our favourite, A La Palea in Strinilas (the highest village) where everything is cooked on site. The one taverna at Kouloura has a magnificent position and food is excellent though pricier than elsewhere.

Paleokastritsa, Sidari and Kassiopi are pretty crowded and touristy whereas small resorts such as Arillas and Aghios Georgios North with their sandy, safe beaches (unless it is windy) are lovely and quiet. Afionas is a lovely village with nice tavernas and great views. Aghios Stefanos Sotuh of Kassiopi is also a nice place.

If you want to see the Durrell White House in Kalami ignore all the pay car parks as you enter the village and drive to the village car park at the far end which is not only free but the one closest to the White House.

If you want a beach to yourself access Almiros which is beyond Acharavi with lots of roads to it from the main road. Like most beaches it has basic changing facilities and a freshwater shower.

Corfu town is well worth a visit. To park when coming in from the North on the dual carriageway watch out for the Port sign and turn left. , Continue past the port and just beyond the New Fort you reach the New Port where just past a BP station there is plenty of parking, free on a Sunday 3 euro per day otherwise. Close by small boats ferry over to Vodos island.

Road atlases do not seem to have been updated and virtually all roads are now tarmacced despite what your map may suggest. One driving snag is that places off a main road are often only signposted from one direction.

Room Tip: Pick a sea view room though they are like gold dust. Pool view rooms are also good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stretford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

I have read the previous reviews of this hotel & I can only argee with them. We had room number 26 which is the largest room, according to the evacuation plan on the back of the door, but only had a side view over the back gardens of the other properties & the start up building of another hotel but luckily no building work was taking place. It was good to see a very large grab handle to assist getting in & out of the shower, but sadly no anti-slip mat but we always take our own nowadays. On night 2 of our stay we were eaten alive by mozzies so bought a plug in mozzi thingy from just up the road. The stairs did not have any banisters but we were very close to the lift but we still struggled getting up the 5 steps to the breakfast room. Breakfasts were excelent with plenty of choices, orange juice & coffee was superb, but I did hear a few moans about the strength of the tea so I would suggest you bring your own tea bags. Special mention for the little girl from Poland, Kinga, who kept the breakfast room fully topped up & tables cleared away very quickly. The boss man, Nicos, would always tour the breakfast room every morning. On reception was Maria who was always available with a smile & a chat as were the rest of the staff. Greek fire dance night was great with limitless amounts of food, but this was the only night we spent at the Coral because there are plenty of other eating places. We always eat at a different place every night & Roda has plenty to offer. A small supermarket is just 100 yards from the hotel where you can buy local vino in plastic bottles at 2.60 Euros for 1.5 litres. There is also a good choice of fresh fruit available as also ice-creams.

Room Tip: Room 26 is a large room with a pull out bed for a 3rd person
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SCOTLAND
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

Been home 1 week after another fantastic 2 week stay at the Coral with my husband,everytime we go it just gets better,the staff are all amazing very hard working and can't do enough for you!!! We have been going to Roda now for 11 years and have ate out in many of the restaurants,the food at the Coral restaurant is in my opinion the best in Roda,looking forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

Just back from first visit to Coral Hotel with my wife and had a fantastic stay and have to say the staff make the hotel the success it is. Everyone of them works so hard to make sure your visit is as good as it can be. Don't miss the Greek night great laugh. We were in room 46, one of the maisonettes and have to say was best we have had on our visits to Greece and were cleaned every day apart from Sunday. We were able to watch World Cup on the new 50" telly when Dimitri could get it working lol. The lads in the bar always made it a good night and Maria was always happy to help and Kinga worked hard at breakfast and at pool bar. Careful of those Ginger Grouse Dimitiri . See you all next year.
HAPPY HOUR !!!

Room Tip: Rooms on first floor of back buildings very nice maisonette style
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Andrews, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

Visited this hotel again 2 weeks ago. It is was just as good as last year, the same friendly staff made you welcome & couldn't be more helpful. It was just a great "chill out" week. The prices for the drinks were, surprisingly, the same as last year. I can't wait to go back next year.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Coral Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coral Hotel

Address: Hotel Coral Roda | Municipality of Thinalion, Roda 49081, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Corfu > Roda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Roda
#1 Family Hotel in Roda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Coral Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Expedia so you can book your Coral Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coral Hotel Corfu/Roda

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coral Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.