We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Week!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Spiros No1

Spiros No1
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Spiros No1 to your Saves list
Spiros No1
2.0 of 5 Condominium   |   Roda, Roda 490 81, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 21 Specialty Lodging in Roda
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic Week!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2010

I have just spent a week at Spiros No1 with my 5 year old son and my parents and we had the most relaxing and fun holiday. The complex is incredibly safe for children offering a perfect kids pool and larger adult pool. The apartments were perfectly adequate with everything we needed and very clean.
The food in the restaurant is outstanding which is prepared and cooked by Vicky - superb!
The owner is one of the funniest people I now know and his two sons complete a perfect package. I highly respect this family for creating such a warm and friendly complext and I hope to be going back for many years to come. Thank you to the Spiros family.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    4
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
9
2
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2010

We have been to Spiros no1 for few years now and are going back in a couple of months! We love it there! They are a great family! In fact everything about it is great and can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2010

First stayed here many years ago and fell in love with the place and the people we now return every other year.
We always book the massoniettes and they are spacious and pretty much on par with other greek self catering accomodation.
The grounds are really pretty and the pool is really clean as Spiros (the owner) prides himself on keeping it clean.
The grounds are set back from the village so really peaceful but only a short walk (5mins) through the orchards to the beach and centre of village.
Spiros and his family are fantastic people who make the holiday so special.
Resturant is great plenty of choice and good value for money.
Roda village is small and friendly with plenty of resrurants from traditional Greek food to fish and chips.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belfast
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2010

so relaxing, kids had a great time, have very fond memories or corfu, and cant wait to go back!!! spiros and family are brill, great fun and very welcoming. apts are situated brilliantly, just a bit out of roda, but nice walk in, and the fireflies in field on way to roda are hillarious!!! maybe just the time year we went, but such a lovely time to go. were going back this year, and theres 12 of us!!! all looking forward to it!

  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hull
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2009

Just had a fantastic time with Spiros, Vicky, Thomas and Phillip. After reading some reviews I was not sure what to expect, the accomodation was much better than I thought, we had two showers!! And real beds, a double for me and my husband and singles for the kids, not pull out sofas you usually get in self catering. The kitchen is small with a stove but no cooker, however with Vickys home cooking why would you even bother!!!

Roda itself is smaller than I thougt although the beach is lovely and the sea goes out a long way before it gets deep, so fab for little kids.

Some resturants are a little dodgy and all the food may not be home cooked and even out of a packet, but stay at Spiros's and eat Vickys!!!!

Greek nite fab as was the pool party. Most people there had been a few times before and those who had not were intending to return to No1.

Spiros is mad but very friendly and I would recommend to anyone.

Bloody Greeks!!!!!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2009

We booked this holiday on a budget through Thomas Cook and we gave the lady in the travel shop the brief to 'find us the cheapest holiday in the Greek Islands in the school Summer holidays'. After several minutes of searching and asking to put the holiday through as 3 adults rather than 2 adults and 1 child (this saves paying under occupancy and can significantly reduce the cost), Spiros No.1 came up within our budget.

We booked it without seeing it in the brochure as we regularly holiday Self Catering in Greece. We then saw it and it looked very nice and were pleasantly surprised in the shop. We then saw the reviews on here and kept an open mind about things as we did not expect much for the price we paid.

The hotel and pool area was very nice. The pool is great for families and it is clean. Spiros No.1 is located just on the edge of Roda and the town is only 5mins walk away. Roda was almost perfect for our requirements - lots of nice bars and restaurants and not too lively. The only downside was that Roda is too small and not there is not enough for young families to do except one bar has a good sized childrens play area in. Sidari would probably be our preferred location next time.

The apartments are very small and intimate, there are no problems getting sunbeds etc and you get to know everyone you are staying with very quickly. Spiros and his family who run the place are fantastic and make your stay very enjoyable. We enjoyed the quiz nights and Greek nights! Thomas and Philip who man the bar area are very friendly and cannot do enough for you.

The only downside to the holiday which spoilt our experience was the room. It is in desperate need of refurbishment! Tiles are cracking, the bathroom smelled (didn't help us being just above the kitchen) the matresses were hard and uncomfortable. other guests reported this problem but we didn't say anything. The cleaner squashed two straw hats worth £30 and ruined them by placing a large pile of towels on top of them. when we reported this she just denied all knowledge and never cleaned our room again. we never got any toilet rolls and had to keep asking at the bar.

my daughter also burnt her finger on a halogen light situated above her bed about 300mm (1ft) above the pillow which is extremely dangerous. the bulb was open and had no protection. the light bulbs should be situated much higher up.

overall we had a great holiday. the resort and the people are fantastic but the little things let it down. We would visit Corfu again but probably not Spiros No.1 unless we got a cheap last minute deal. If anyone reads these, please do not let it put you off. you will have a nice time but be prepared to accept the room will not be brilliant. Many people are return visitors who book private so some people obviously love it and want to come back every year. We still have lots more countries and Greek Islands to see first!!!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2009

We were really disappointed when we arrived at our accommodation, it was dark and dingy, the wardrobes and drawers were smelly and damp so we kept our clothes in our cases for 2 weeks.

The whole place was dirty, the sheets were changed twice and when we ran out of loo roll the cleaner did not replace it. Two of the four mattresses were disgusting and i had to hump one up the stairs to change it as i wouldn't let my child sleep on it.

The rooms did not have air conditioning (this was my fault, as i usually check before booking and budget for it) so sleeping was really uncomfortable. Despite this we enjoyed our holiday as the people are friendly, the food is great, the service is excellent and the pool is really clean as Spiros prides himself on his clean pool.

It's just a shame that the accommodation is so poor as this is what really lets the place down. We have holidayed in Greece for years but this is the worst place we have stayed.

Roda itself is fantastic - friendly and restaurants and bars are excellent and I will visit Roda again, I just won't be staying at Spiro's No1.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Spiros No1? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spiros No1

Address: Roda, Roda 490 81, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Corfu > Roda
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 21 Specialty Lodging in Roda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Spiros No1 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Spiros No1 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spiros No1 Corfu/Roda

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Spiros No1, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.