We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Place to Stay on Orient Beach” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Alamanda Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Alamanda Resort to your Saves list
Alamanda Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Baie Orientale (Orient Beach), Orient Bay 97071, St. Maarten-St. Martin   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Orient Bay
Hurricane, Utah
Level Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Good Place to Stay on Orient Beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

To say the Alamanda is a "resort" is a stretch. To say it is in a "resort area" is more accurate. The Alamanda is located next to a "square" with a number of restaurants, small businesses, a laundry (not a laundromat), and a small grocery store. The grocery store is about the size of a U.S. convenient store and is across the street from "the square". Look for the name "Casino". Beach restaurants/bars and watersport activities are on the beach immediately to the south. The hotel was pleasant, clean, and the staff was friendly and helpful. We were there 6 days and saw no bugs. There is a concern about mosquito-born illness, but during 6 days, including a visit to the Loterie Farm and hike through the jungle to Pic du Paradis, we saw only two mosquitoes and we were not wearing repellant (although we had some at the ready). There were no rats (although there were three friendly cats that roamed the grounds). As far as we're concerned, the Alamanda is on the beach. Walk down a 50 foot path, cross a dirt beach access road and you're there. Because you're staying at the Alamanda, you get free access to the beach chairs from the beach restaurant next door. The Alamanda's swimming pool was large, clean, and you'll probably have it all to yourselves. The continental breakfast was good -- unlimited coffee or tea, a large glass of juice of your choice, a large serving of fresh fruit, and a basket of breads and pastries. You can order more (omelettes, breakfast sandwiches, etc.) at additional cost. However, we found the added cost items were the equivalent of food at Denny's. Contrary to their website, there was no airport shuttle. We took a taxi and it was $25 (dollars) one way for two people. We had an ocean view room on the second floor (recommended). You can see the ocean through the coconut trees from the ocean view rooms but you will not have an unobstructed view of the ocean. The room was large, air conditioning worked well, there was a ceiling fan, several chairs, a table, and a king sized bed with a firm, but comfortable mattress. The TV brought in about 40 channels. The room had a kitchenette and a balcony with two chairs, foot rests, and tables. The hotel loaned us a converter for electricity for a refundable $100 deposit. WiFi was available, but was inconsistent and unreliable. The bathroom was large with a hair dryer and a selection of soaps/shampoos.

Our only beef was the bathroom tub (as others have stated). The tub had a significant step-over. It was wider at the top than the bottom (i.e., it tapered down). I could stand sideways and my heels and toes could touch the bottom sides. The shower head could be used as a regular shower or a hand-held one, but we always used it as hand-held. There was no shower curtain or shower doors and water went everywhere. There were no grab bars. Given the shape of the tub, high step over, water everywhere and no grab bars, I would caution you to be very careful getting in and out of the tub.

About the exchange rate: As I write this, the exchange rate was $1 = 1.37 euros. Prices are often listed in euros. For a ballpark figure, add 40% more to get the dollar amount. For instance, if a hamburger is listed at 10 euros, 40% of that is $4, so that hamburger will run you about $14. The beach restaurants/bars on the beach often have a 1:1 exchange rate and it's MUCH cheaper to eat there (or get food at the small grocery store), rather than eating at the "square" next door.

To save a buck or two, the Butterfly Farm is located down the "beach access road" a 25 minute walk from the Alamanda. The road is well-traveled but narrow, so walk facing traffic and keep well to the side. We really liked the Alamanda, would recommend it (and its location) and would return.

Room Tip: I would get a room on the second floor. You will have a view of the ocean, although obstructed by t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

411 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    158
    167
    42
    30
    14
See reviews for
47
202
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
rockville centre NY
Level Contributor
60 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

My wife and I have just returned from our 5th or 6th visit to the Alamanda and have found it to be as good as ever. It deserves 4 and a half stars. It is a very relaxing place for a vacation within a short walk to the beach as well as the local restaurants. It is also a short ride to Grand Case where there are many exceptional restaurants. The best of the local restaurants is Le Piment while I would recommend La Aurbrege Gourmand, Bistrot Caribe and Le Villa in Grand Case. The room is large and has a refrigerator, microwave etc. as well as a very nice deck. Most people hang out at the beach but they have a very nice pool which is not crowded. The staff is very gracious and helpful. The complimentary continental breakfast is very good, fresh fruit croissants and coffee, tea or chocolate. There is no question in my mind that we will be returning..

Room Tip: There are no elevators the second floor so if you have a problem with stairs get a room on the first...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

~Stayed week of May 17, 2014~

Cons: Extremely lackadaisical front desk staff who stayed on the internet and who had total disregard for customers (with the exception of Frank), the wifi was intermittent, there was no clock, there were only 2 outlets in the room, with none in the bathroom, the television was very small, we encountered some bugs, there was a strong odor in our room upon check in, which luckily, finally waned after a day and the bed needed a new mattress as it was worn/too soft. There was no point in complaining, as we were at their mercy...the Manager was away; however, I don't know if it would have made a difference had he been there, after having read some other reviews.

Pros: One of, if not the best locations on the beach (maybe this makes up for the poor customer service for some folks)! The beach is gorgeous and is chocked full of every water sport that you can imagine. There's Orient Village, which is just behind the hotel, that offers numerous options of quaint restaurants. There's also a small grocery store and a few merchandise stores, all of the above, which are within walking distance from the hotel. The area is quiet and it was nice to hear the waves lapping at night. The hotel is cute, the rooms are spacious and it was nice to have a small kitchenette.

In summary, I do not recommend this hotel. Pay a little more and stay elsewhere. I only rated the hotel as poor, as opposed to terrible, due to the location of the beach.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USAsalesoffice, Director of Sales at Alamanda Resort, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
Dear Angela,

We truly apologize that you felt at our mercy, we never want a guest to feel like that at Alamanda and we would have been happy to relocate you to another property or a different room since you state there was a smell in your room and all we want is to give our guests an outstanding vacation / holiday. We were shocked to hear that our front office staff was not accommodating during your stay. We thought that sending 2 of our staff members for aloe vera for your sunburned husband, looking for an electrical wheelchair for use during your stay and answering all the emails prior to your arrival that we were not lackadaisical again our sincere apologies. Every room has 6 electrical outlets and one in each bathroom, the hotel was built that way in 2002. Our TV's are 26 inches and we feel they are appropriate for the rooms and we really encourage our guests to go out and explore our friendly island of St. Martin instead of watching TV. The Internet, we are sorry it was sporadic for you however, we had no problems and no other guest complaints. The manager is Vincent, and he is great, most guests come back time and time again because of Vincent's great detailed oriented service. Vincent meets a guest once and will remember them upon returning and this is sometimes after several years has passed. In closing we do apologize as we did not meet your expectations in delivering a great vacation / holiday experience.

Warm regards,
Alamanda Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bosch en Duin, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

This hotel is really worth a stay. Wonderfull staff, A real French hotel, everything easy going and laid back.
Indeed, some things are not 'up to scratch', but when booking this hotel you know that and you accept it. It adds to its charm.
The Alamanda Resort is the only hotel at Orient Beach with direct access to Orient beach, And what a beach it is! Worth a visit / detour / stay.

Room Tip: doesn't matter which room you're in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, New Jersey
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

from April 23 to the 26th 2014.
Oh St Maarten just
beautiful!
Alamanda was nice I had room 217 top floor, spacious, clean, air conditioner good, big balcony
sotve there but we did not cook for what there restaurants are when you step outside loved them all Cotes Plagues, Antione all good there is not supermarket close so we can not get fish...
best to eat out hotel is cosy close to the beach but there is not ocean view really the trees covers it.
breakfast was ok bread croissants coffee fruit salad could be fresher, fine for me I don't need much in the morning...
always all pleasant, Orient bay breathtaking....
Geraldine (staff) she was amazing got me a car, a boat trip, helped with all such a nice lady adorable...
I really had a good time I loved the people in the hotel that all good...
Kakau bar so nice a lot of Shade I just hoped I had more time was quick but fantastic.
I never turned the TV on that was good.
internet connection is bad be prepared, food a little expensive but still good time.

Room Tip: higher floors better I liked 217
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwalk, Oh
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

Had a great week at Alamanda. Staff was very friendly & accommodating. Rooms are dated but clean & functional. Beds are on the firm side. AC worked great. WiFi was hit and miss in the room. No coffee in room so bring your own. Coffee maker provided. Breakfast with ala carte choices were a great start to the day.

Location is great. Felt safe walking even at night. Beach is maybe 50 yards from the front door. Restaurants & grocery store are around the corner. Free beach chairs & service at Kakao were very good. Dollar for Euro for drinks on beach at Kakao if paid in cash & ordered thru beach boys.

We decided that we would return the first day there.

Room Tip: First Floor (2nd floor in U.S.) offer a nice view over pool & ours (212) had a view of the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
97 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

Overall, would highly recommend.

Pro's: Location, free breakfast bread/fruit, Location (Beach), Safety, Location (Restaurants), Comfortable, Location (Store), free wifi in lobby area

Con's: Rooms are a bit dated, could use a thorough cleaning

Location location location. I was a bit unsure of where to stay after perusing trip advisor and the hotels in Orient Bay, but we were more than pleased with the Alamanda. After spending some time there, I'd say Alamanda is in the best location at Orient Bay. It is nearly exactly in the middle of the beach North-South wise and thus provides easy access to anywhere on the beach. One review talked about it not being directly on the beach, but I'm not sure what they're talking about, there's a sand "road" and a line of sand dunes to the beach, not more than 50 feet from the hotel to the beach, pretty much as close as you can get.

The minor negatives about the rooms are roughly true as listed in most reviews. They're a bit dated, especially the bathrooms, the shower drips some water on the floor, and it feels like they could use an extremely thorough cleaning but they were more than comfortable if you're spending your time where you should here, ON THE BEACH. We had no problems getting a good night's sleep, a shower, and storing our food/beers in the fridge. The AC was great, we felt safe, and we slept well. There are 5-6 restaurants open for dinner literally around the corner from the hotel and it's one of the few places I think you could stay easily without a car. There's a little grocery store 2 minutes walk away with plenty of beer/wine/food to fill your cooler with for the day. The hotel even has an ice maker to fill your cooler up with.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Orient Bay
2.7 mi away
Grand Case Beach Club
Grand Case Beach Club
#3 of 8 in Grand Case
4.5 of 5 stars 1,355 reviews
0.6 mi away
Palm Court Hotel
Palm Court Hotel
#2 of 7 in Orient Bay
4.5 of 5 stars 191 reviews
1.6 mi away
L'Hoste Hotel
L'Hoste Hotel
#3 of 7 in Orient Bay
4.0 of 5 stars 392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten
4.9 mi away
Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa
6.4 mi away
Mercure St Martin and Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alamanda Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alamanda Resort

Address: Baie Orientale (Orient Beach), Orient Bay 97071, St. Maarten-St. Martin
Location: Caribbean > St. Maarten-St. Martin > Saint-Martin > Orient Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Orient Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Alamanda Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alamanda Resort, is situated on Orient Beach, the largest and most animated beach on St. Martin. Small in scale with its 42 deluxe Oceanfront rooms and suites, you'll vacation in style at Alamanda, St Martin's newest and most intimate full service hotel. The charming restaurant opens daily for breakfast, lunch and dinner, and hotel guests have charging privileges at 6 beachside restaurants serving French, Spanish or American cuisine. Multilingual staff, daily maid service, room service, 3000 sq ft convention center along with fax and internet facilities. If you looking to relax, where better than poolside in fresh water pool, sunning in the patio or sipping a drink to the poolside bar lush tropical garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Alamanda Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alamanda Hotel Orient Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alamanda Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.