We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden gem on Orient Bay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Alamanda Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Alamanda Resort to your Saves list
Alamanda Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Baie Orientale (Orient Beach), Orient Bay 97071, St Maarten-St Martin   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Orient Bay
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Hidden gem on Orient Bay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

Excellent location on one of the most beautiful beaches. Drive not far to Grand Case and other towns. Wonderful staff made us feel right at home. Helped give recommendation for scuba diving and scheduled our dive. Plan to stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

410 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    158
    166
    42
    30
    14
See reviews for
47
201
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

My husband and I just returned from 4 nights at Alamanda Resort. It was very clean and all of the staff was nice and helpful. It was very convenient to the beach and close to restaurants. The breakfast was very good. The only complaint I have is there is no access to any bottled water or any food after breakfast is closed at 10:30 am. It would be nice if they would have included small complimentary bottled water in the rooms, because the store is way too far to walk at night. I would probably stay there again but they need to include a few amenities/necessities for their guests so they don't have to go into the village for quick snack or bottled water.
I thought the beds were comfortable, unlike a few other reviews I read. The mattress was very firm in our room.

Room Tip: Get an ocean view room on the 2nd floor and it is a good view of the pool, courtyard and ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

The best location in Saint Marteen. Orient Bay Village has become a central point to visit Saint Marteen. Has many walking distance restaurants and shops. Good continental breakfast included in the room rate. Room are comfortable and with good air conditioning and service.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

Just returned from 8 day stay at Alamanda. Wonderful!!! First it is right in the middle of all the best restaurants on Orient Bay. The rooms are very spacious and the continental breakfast is excellent. Baguettes with honey, YUMMY. The beach is literally a hop, skip and a jump from the resort. The beach chairs are very nice and are free with the room. The pool is spacious and has a lot of chairs. There is no reason to want to go any where else once you get to Orient Bay and the Alamanda. Geraldine is very helpful at the desk; matter of fact all of the staff is very nice. I would return there again. Don't get me wrong....it is not four star but who wants to spend time in a room when you can go to one of the most beautiful beaches in the Caribbean. Never had a bad meal anywhere; never a bad beach day; glorious, relaxing vacation!!!!!

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

It was our 3rd time staying here over the 4th of July this year, and Alamanda still ranks as one of the best spots on Orient beach. Firstly, if you are expecting the amenities of a Four Seasons or St. Regis, don't look on St. Martin. What you will find is a charming, boutique, French hotel that offers you a great spot and a comfortable room to enjoy arguably the best beach in the Caribbean. Now as an American, part of me wants to take over this hotel, clean it, upgrade it, and spruce up the grounds, but in a weird way that would take away from the French Caribbean charm. The rooms are clean, but not hospital room clean. Yes it's an island so you might lose water for an hour or two, but hey, you have a great beach and pool, just relax and enjoy yourself. This is a great spot on the beach, right next to the shops/restaurants in Orient beach.

We have previously stayed at the Esmeralda and the Alamanda. I will say I love the semi-private pools at the Esmeralda. But, we booked the 'Presidential Suite' at the Alamanda for the same cost as a suite at the Esmeralda. So here's the deal - the Alamanda is in a better spot to walk to the Orient beach restaurants and shops, but the Esmeralda has the better semi-private pools that you maybe share with 2 or 3 neighbors. Depends what you want, the room quality is about the same between the two.

Service was fine - surely on island time. The breakfast was perfect, a crossaint and fresh fruit. Enough to tide me over until we got to one of the great restaurants on the beach.

In the past, we have used this hotel/island as a jumping off point to Anguilla or St. Barts, both of which are more expensive and "higher end" than St. Martin. This time we only had a short time to be away from the kids, and I was more than pleased spending it solely in the Alamanda on St. Martin.

If a leisurely breakfast, followed by some beach time and then a great lunch on the beach, followed by more beach time and then a phenomenal dinner at one of the great spots on the French side of St. Martin sound good to you, do yourself a favor and stay here. We didn't book a rental car, though were only here for 4 days. I would probably grab a car, or candidly look to split my time between St. Martin and Anguilla/St. Barts if I were staying longer.

If you are looking to stay on Orient Beach, you have found one of the best spots.

Since we have stayed here several times, here's some tips:
-Ocean View rooms are really just the rooms on the second floor. As you can see from other reviews, there is a small dirt/sand roadway between the hotel and the beach. There are no hotels directly on the beach here, so this is as close as you will get.
-All the second floor rooms give you a modest view of the ocean through palm trees (over the pool). We stayed in the presidential suite this time which has the most direct view of the beach of any room in the hotel, great spot and the wrap around porch is worth it. First floor rooms look over the pool area.

The only negative I can really relay is that the beds are firm, sort of like sleeping on just a box spring. But, this was the same way last time we stayed at Esmeralda. Bottom line, they don't have the Tempurpedic mattress on St. Martin, but chances are you'll be so tired from the beach and some rum punch it won't matter.

We would definitely return.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven, Connecticut
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

My wife and I stayed here twice, including our first trip to SXM around 2001. This hotel spoiled us forever it was so charming and ideally located. After about 7 trips to SXM, we still start here when looking for a hotel. Sometimes you can get a very good price, especially in the off season. While there is a quiet dirt road between hotel and Orient Bay, it's more like a 'track' and nothing of concern. The water is about 100m from the building so it's close and hotel has it's own section, with chairs, on the beach. The restaurant was ok but the village has several good options and there is a grocery store 2 minutes away. You likely want a car if you stay here so you can visit the other great places on the isle like Grand Case and Marigot (to eat), or Phillipsburg and surrounding area for shopping, etc.

Room Tip: Ask for the Presidential Suite which is on the second floor, front and has a gorgeous view of the wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Isidro, Argentina
Level Contributor
91 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

I have stayed at least 3 or 4 times at the Alamanda with my wife, great place right on the beach.
It includes a continental breakfast and extras such as eggs or cereals are reasonable, plus chairs and an umbrella on the beach at two different spots: Kakao or Bikini, both are very nice. You can linchpin and drinks, a Gin tonic is €6, and they will put it on your hotel bill
I prefer paying a little more and have a room looking at the beach, rooms are big, a fantastic king size bed and a small kitchenette with all necessary gadgets for lunch or even your dinner if you don't want to Leo out for dinner that night.
Their is a small market nearby plus a small plaza with several different kinds of restaurants.
Will come back again !

Room Tip: Looking at the beach !
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Orient Bay
2.7 mi away
Grand Case Beach Club
Grand Case Beach Club
#3 of 8 in Grand Case
4.5 of 5 stars 1,328 reviews
0.6 mi away
Palm Court Hotel
Palm Court Hotel
#2 of 7 in Orient Bay
4.5 of 5 stars 188 reviews
1.6 mi away
L'Hoste Hotel
L'Hoste Hotel
#3 of 7 in Orient Bay
4.0 of 5 stars 388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten
4.9 mi away
Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa
2.4 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace St Martin
Hotel Riu Palace St Martin
#2 of 5 in Anse Marcel
4.0 of 5 stars 1,344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alamanda Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alamanda Resort

Address: Baie Orientale (Orient Beach), Orient Bay 97071, St Maarten-St Martin
Location: Caribbean > St Maarten-St Martin > Saint-Martin > Orient Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Orient Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Alamanda Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alamanda Resort, is situated on Orient Beach, the largest and most animated beach on St. Martin. Small in scale with its 42 deluxe Oceanfront rooms and suites, you'll vacation in style at Alamanda, St Martin's newest and most intimate full service hotel. The charming restaurant opens daily for breakfast, lunch and dinner, and hotel guests have charging privileges at 6 beachside restaurants serving French, Spanish or American cuisine. Multilingual staff, daily maid service, room service, 3000 sq ft convention center along with fax and internet facilities. If you looking to relax, where better than poolside in fresh water pool, sunning in the patio or sipping a drink to the poolside bar lush tropical garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Alamanda Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alamanda Hotel Orient Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alamanda Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.