We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good stay at Alamanda Resort” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Alamanda Resort

Save Saved
You added Alamanda Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Alamanda Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Baie Orientale (Orient Beach), Orient Bay 97071, St Maarten-St Martin   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 6 hotels in Orient Bay
Rochester NY
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
“Good stay at Alamanda Resort”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

We visited St. Maarten for the first time April 5th to April 7th. Spent 2 nights at the Alamanda. We traveled with our 18 year daughter so had a room with a king side bed and a very spacious loft upstairs with a double bed and it's own bathroom. The staff was friendly but not overly so. The included breakfast was ok - very heavy on the bread. The hotel room was very quiet and clean. Loved the location next to Orient Bay. Orient Bay was simply a beautiful beach!! It was so much fun to walk up and down to all the little beach bars during the day. For dinners there are fantastic restaurants adjacent to the hotel. Would definitely stay at the Alamanda again!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

360 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    147
    140
    34
    26
    13
See reviews for
39
166
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

This was our first visit to the resort and the experience exceeded our expectations. From the very moment we checked in right up to our checkout, we could not have been happier.
Upon arriving we were immediately greeted and made welcomed. The room was large, well layed out, and very clean. Although we were on the first floor our patio was still private with a view of the beach and ocean. The continental breakfast served each morning was a great start to the day. The Alamanda is located perfectly on Orient Beach. Away from the "day trippers" but close enough to walk the entire length of the beach in either direction. The entire staff was a pleasure to deal with and were of great help to us as first time visitors. Most of the guests we met had been there multiple times before. We can't wait to return.

Room Tip: Rooms on the second floor had a better view of the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

Spent 8 nights at the Alamanda Resort on Orient Bay. It was a nice, relaxing vacation on a great beach. The room was pleasant and larger than many hotel rooms. It had a king bed, which was not plush, but was okay. There was a small kitchenette with a microwave, sink and mini fridge. The resort stocked sufficient dinner ware and flat ware for 2. The best part of the room was the balcony. We spent many evenings there enjoying the breeze off the ocean.

The best feature of the resort is the proximity to the beach and the small "village" . Both were within steps of the resort. The beach was right down the sidewalk and beach chairs and an umbrella come with your reservation. The village was a 2 minute walk and provided access to a number of nice restaurants, including a lovely italian restaurant and an sushi bar. There is a little convenience store that frankly stocks a little of everything. Each morning, they cook chickens on a rotisserie on the sidewalk in front of the store. They also sell a decent variety of alcohol and beer as well as toiletries. They have a little deli section that sells some fresh salads, quiche and desserts. They had great french bread and a variety of cheeses.

The resort staff were very nice and helpful. We had the breakfast at the resort which consists of a variety of breads, fresh fruit, juice and coffee. You can order eggs at a cost. The breakfast is served in a little garden area outside the main office, next to the pool.

There are a number of beach bars and restaurants within an easy walk. Club Orient is close to the resort area, but is clearly marked as a naturist area. It's not uncommon to see topless beach goers on the entire Orient Beach, but it is totally nude within Club Orient's naturist area. Again, the area is clearly marked and if this bothers you, don't go to that end of the beach.

We really enjoyed our time at Alamanda resort. The resort was comfortable and low key. It is not a luxury resort, but that is not what we were looking for. We would definitely consider returning on a future vacation.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

This resort is located right on Orient Bay, just steps from the beach. It's also located within walking distance of a supermarket and multiple restaurants. Free beach chairs are available at the closest beach bars. Location was perfect!
Staff was very helpful, knowledgeable, and friendly. They helped us with dinner reservations and information about the surrounding area. Free breakfast included several French pastries, fruit bowl, and drinks.
The room itself was very large and comfortable, with a king sized bed. It included a kitchenette, with a refrigerator, hot plate, and lots of gadgets (including a corkscrew!). We had both a shower and bathtub in our spacious bathroom. We also had a patio overlooking the pool with lounge chairs.
This hotel was just what we were looking for to relax and enjoy Orient Bay! Highly recommended!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ny
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

nice and clean good welcome i love the breakfast and the service good staff and watter front
we love st maartin from 9 years good restaurant like the cadre in the place du village very good food to and good service perfect for the familli
we comme back every years for vacation since 9 years

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

This is the second year in a row that my husband and I have spent 9 days at the Alamanda. Rooms are large, with handy kitchenette (microwave, fridge, small stove, glasses, utensils, etc.), large bathroom, safe in room, and lovely patio. Free breakfast of fruit and croissants is just right. Free internet access is so handy, even if it is a bit slow, but hey, you are on vacation! Beach is absolutely heavenly. We have been many, many places and never have felt so relaxed. Beach bar restaurants (Chez Leandra, Aloha, Kakao, Orange Fever are excellent but are only open until about 4:00). Housekeeping is very timely, efficient, and room was always very clean.

We will return next year, same time, same place!

Room Tip: We stayed on the first floor both years as we didn't feel it was worth it to upgrade to the seco...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

I stayed only three nights at Alamanda earlier in May. Shared a duplex with my two adult children. Clean rooms, lots of space, wonderful breezes. In response to a negative review below, the ONLY bug I saw was a mosquito that bit me during the night because I left the porch doors wide open to enjoy the ocean sounds. (But it is the Caribbean afterall...) I loved the casual comfort of the place, the proximity to the gorgeous beach, the pleasant continental breakfasts and the friendly staff -- including the cleaning crew. Also really enjoyed the surrounding community. I don't go for high rise resorts so this hotel was perfect for us. Definitely coming back!

Room Tip: The two-floor duplex is wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Alamanda Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alamanda Resort

Address: Baie Orientale (Orient Beach), Orient Bay 97071, St Maarten-St Martin
Location: Caribbean > St Maarten-St Martin > Saint-Martin > Orient Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 hotels in Orient Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Alamanda Resort 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alamanda Resort, is situated on Orient Beach, the largest and most animated beach on St. Martin. Small in scale with its 42 deluxe Oceanfront rooms and suites, you'll vacation in style at Alamanda, St Martin's newest and most intimate full service hotel. The charming restaurant opens daily for breakfast, lunch and dinner, and hotel guests have charging privileges at 6 beachside restaurants serving French, Spanish or American cuisine. Multilingual staff, daily maid service, room service, 3000 sq ft convention center along with fax and internet facilities. If you looking to relax, where better than poolside in fresh water pool, sunning in the patio or sipping a drink to the poolside bar lush tropical garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Alamanda Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alamanda Hotel Orient Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alamanda Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.