We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect once again--great hotel for price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Alamanda Resort

Save Saved
You added Alamanda Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Alamanda Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Baie Orientale (Orient Beach), Orient Bay 97071, St Maarten-St Martin   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Orient Bay
Columbia, South Carolina
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Perfect once again--great hotel for price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

This is the second year in a row that my husband and I have spent 9 days at the Alamanda. Rooms are large, with handy kitchenette (microwave, fridge, small stove, glasses, utensils, etc.), large bathroom, safe in room, and lovely patio. Free breakfast of fruit and croissants is just right. Free internet access is so handy, even if it is a bit slow, but hey, you are on vacation! Beach is absolutely heavenly. We have been many, many places and never have felt so relaxed. Beach bar restaurants (Chez Leandra, Aloha, Kakao, Orange Fever are excellent but are only open until about 4:00). Housekeeping is very timely, efficient, and room was always very clean.

We will return next year, same time, same place!

Room Tip: We stayed on the first floor both years as we didn't feel it was worth it to upgrade to the seco...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

362 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    140
    34
    26
    13
See reviews for
40
168
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

I stayed only three nights at Alamanda earlier in May. Shared a duplex with my two adult children. Clean rooms, lots of space, wonderful breezes. In response to a negative review below, the ONLY bug I saw was a mosquito that bit me during the night because I left the porch doors wide open to enjoy the ocean sounds. (But it is the Caribbean afterall...) I loved the casual comfort of the place, the proximity to the gorgeous beach, the pleasant continental breakfasts and the friendly staff -- including the cleaning crew. Also really enjoyed the surrounding community. I don't go for high rise resorts so this hotel was perfect for us. Definitely coming back!

Room Tip: The two-floor duplex is wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

Spent 8 nights at Alamanda with no complaints-excellent value on St. Martin for the money. I'm amused at some of the comments....the 'smell' described is NOT cats, its the cleaning solution that they mop the floors and halls with-you know, sort of like our Pine Sol. This hotel was very clean, and I'm always amazed at what people think that they should get for the price they pay. Alamanda was very clean; breakfasts were fresh and excellent for being included. This hotel is absolutely the best for location-check it out on a map. Just a few steps to the beach and other hotels are much further away.

Room Tip: We were on the 2nd floor-liked the large balcony and view as compared with the lower floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

The resort is lovely and the staff is very friendly I must say the front desk agent Anou made our stay perfect he was so peasant and helpful when we asked for assistance with our room.The resort is right across from the beach and the restaurants are a short walk we enjoyed all of the restaurants especially little italy and le petite.The staff at breakfast at the hotel were always pleasant and we enjoyed it every morning.

Room Tip: We had a sunny corner suite which made our stay perfect1
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, NY
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Having read reviews from past guests, I had a basic idea of what to expect.

The resort is quaint and low key. It is a 1 minute walk to the beach and water sports activities.
A short 5 minute walk to Orient Beach.

The property is maintained nicely.

The advertised continental breakfast is closely monitored - you'll pay more if you want fruit and cereal as opposed to either/or. The fruit was fresh and the criossants delicious.

There is a small market, pizza, a bakery and the restaurant square. The choices are limited, but everything was fresh. It would be nice to have a larger selection since there is no meal plan, but for a week stay, it was fine.

Go and see Patrick at the Bikini Beach bar - he makes a mean guavaberry colada.
All in all - a relaxing vacation and a beautiful place.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thunder Bay, Ontario, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

You have to realize this isn't a 5 star resort when you book.What it is,is a wonderfully quaint freindly hotel.The staff are very friendly and helpful,The rooms are spacious and well appointed.They are not brand new but everything was there and it all worked.We got upgraded to the second level two room suite.The veiw was incredible from the second floor bedroom.My wife was able to have the window open at night to listen to the ocean.
The breakfast consisted of fruit,bagettes and crossiants.Very good,other traditional breakfast choices are also availible.
I can't say enough about the location.Everything is close.The resaurants in the Orient village are a 30 second walk away.They all looked good,we fancied Le Piment.Again great food and service.
Overall a wonderful vacation experiene.We are already planning our next stay here

Room Tip: All rooms are nice,second floor room have beeter view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

This is one of the most disgusting hotels I have ever stayed. There is absolutely no way this place has any stars at all. We just arrived a few minutes ago and I do not know whether to cry or lose my money. What I have found so far:

Room smell like urine and/or insect killer
Shower is full of mold
Wi Fi only available in the yard where one is attacked by mosquitos
Roaches a big as 5in crawling in the hallway
Door hanging lose from the frame in the kitchenette area
Refrigerator looks filthy at the bottom

How can anyone give this place a good rating? If you do not want to have your vacation totally ruined by such a disgusting place, do yourself a favor and look for a clean hotel!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Alamanda Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alamanda Resort

Address: Baie Orientale (Orient Beach), Orient Bay 97071, St Maarten-St Martin
Location: Caribbean > St Maarten-St Martin > Saint-Martin > Orient Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Orient Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Alamanda Resort 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alamanda Resort, is situated on Orient Beach, the largest and most animated beach on St. Martin. Small in scale with its 42 deluxe Oceanfront rooms and suites, you'll vacation in style at Alamanda, St Martin's newest and most intimate full service hotel. The charming restaurant opens daily for breakfast, lunch and dinner, and hotel guests have charging privileges at 6 beachside restaurants serving French, Spanish or American cuisine. Multilingual staff, daily maid service, room service, 3000 sq ft convention center along with fax and internet facilities. If you looking to relax, where better than poolside in fresh water pool, sunning in the patio or sipping a drink to the poolside bar lush tropical garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Venere and Otel so you can book your Alamanda Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alamanda Hotel Orient Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alamanda Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.