We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay somewhere else” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Alamanda Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Alamanda Resort to your Saves list
Alamanda Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Baie Orientale (Orient Beach), Orient Bay 97071, St Maarten-St Martin   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Orient Bay
Nantucket
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Stay somewhere else”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Beware
We arrived on March 26, 2013 and was "upgraded" to the second floor to a better unit. When we saw our room we were surprised that it
was shabby. We unpacked and went out to dinner. Upon returning we noticed the smell of cat urine in the outside common areas (hallways, sitting areas, etc). The next day we headed to the beach and the front desk clerk informed us to make sure we used the "blue lounge chairs" and to inform the attendant we were staying at the Alamanda.
When we arrived at the chairs they where 5 rows deep, some of the 1st row was roped off. We proceeded to sit in the first row and inform the attendant that we where guests at the Alamanda. He informed us we needed to sit anywhere in the last row (5th row) or pay for any other row. We decided to go to the pool.

We were unable to sit on our balcony as the air conditioning unit for the next room generated so much heat it made it unbearable to sit out on.
The shower head was laying in the tub as the hose was not long enough for it to hook on the wall. We had to use the suction cup from our GPS unit to jury rig a system to hold up in order to take a proper shower.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

362 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    140
    34
    26
    13
See reviews for
40
168
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tampere, Finland
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Good:
- Very good (the best in Orient Bay) location by the beach and near to restaurants and shops in Orient Bay area.
- Free beach chairs and umbrellas for hotel customers
- Free beach towels
- Nice pool area and it's open 24/7
- 24/7 reception
- Orient bay is probably the best location in the island to stay in
- Car rental service at the lobby

Bad:
- Rather expensive for such a modest 3 star hotel. Overall quality of the hotel is poor if you are used for European standards in this price range.
- Bed bugs in our room
- Mold in bathroom
- Included breakfast was poor and poisonous for humans (100 % carbs and fats, 0 % proteins). Roasted french loaf, butter, marmalade, croissants, fruits, 1 glass of artificial canned juice and coffee included. If you want eggs, bacon or something else you were required to pay extra.
- WiFi didn't work from our room, however you can go to lobby/breakfast/pool area and get a better signal (but still it was slow)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

My husband and our two boys, ages 12 and 14, visited St. Martin this year on our Spring Break and my husband had chosen the Alamanda. I like that the hotel is more on the low key side, but it is still clean and very welcoming. You could not pick a better spot for spending time at the beach. You walk out the back and you are there. It is a nice sandy beach and great for kids. There are also many places to eat on the beach nearby and activity booths to sign up for snorkeling, scuba, boating, etc. Alamanda has agreements with certain places on the beach for chair and umbrella set up which is great. The rooms are simple but roomy and have a balcony. You can hear the waves when outside in the evening or morning. All the staff from the maids to the front desk were very polite and helpful. I would like to give a special thank you to Arnault who gave us some great dining suggestions and was overall super helpful. The pool is small but they keep it very clean and again, the quiet around the hotel is wonderful. An ample Continental breakfast is included in room price, but you can order hot breakfast as well at a reasonable price. Shops and restaurants are very close by. The only thing that was unexpected was a couple times the water was down in the whole area, but that happens in the islands. Just get a drink and go with it.

Room Tip: We in the rooms where there is a loft stye 2nd bedroom over the main bedroom. I think they call the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

We just returned from 7 nights at the Alamanda (3/21/13 - 3/28/13). This property is all about location as it is right off Orient Beach. We had a 2-bedroom unit, which included a small kitchen, 2 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms and a deck overlooking the pool/ocean. This is by no means a 4 or 5 star property, but the extra space of our unit and the location made it well worth the price. We did rent a car, which was helpful when exploring the island. We also made a trip to the grocery store right up the road (via car) and that helped cut down on food/beverage costs. Our family of four enjoyed the included continental breakfast (rolls, toast, fresh fruit, juice and coffee). The friendliness of the entire staff was awesome – from the front desk to housekeeping. This property is in a gated community and we felt safe at all times. As far as the 1.5 mile of Orient Beach goes, it really is just steps away. Once you exit the beach side of the property, there is a service road/parking lot and then the awesome beach. We did encounter topless bathing on the beach and when we took our morning walks, there were other walkers w/o any clothes. We had no concerns with either. There is not a lot of night life in this area, but there is some beach bars AND great restaurants just a short walk. Feel free to message me with any questions.

Room Tip: Request a 2nd Floor Room w/ A View Rent A Car
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, New Hampshire
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

Loved it here.. The hotel was quaint and cute... The location is fantastic right across the street from the beach.. We had a second floor room with a "view" but it was really a partial view because of the foliage.. Unfortunately we had to cut our trip short due to a death in the family..The care and corcern from the staff was fantastic....Geraldine at the front desk, Cassandra at the breakfast service and Vincent the hotel manager will never be forgotten.. Hopefully, we will return to Alamanda during happier times..

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

Stayed here for 5 nights and found it a nice quiet place to relax. There is a nice pool with sun loungers and all the rooms overlook the pool although the first floor rooms do get a bit of a sea view as well which is about 30 seconds walk away!

Breakfast is continental 9 euro but you can pay extra for eggs bacon pancakes etc. There is no restaurant for evening meal but all the bars and restaurants are seconds away and we didnt get disturbed by any noise from the bars.

The rooms are spacious with kitchen, microwave coffee maker etc and towels are changed regularly. They also provide beach towels. Sun beds on the beach are also provided to the left of the resort on the beach but you are not allowed to sit on the front row as these are reserved we were told for the cruise ship passengers.

Staff at the resort from the reception to the cleaners are all very polite and courteous. Especially Geraldine and the 2 guys who always had time to say hello and ask how our day had gone. They also arrange taxis from the resort. Ask for Augustine who is larger than life, always reliable and laughing. We even got a big hug from her when she took us back to the airport which has never happened before from a taxi driver. She is very knowledgeable about her island and gives a great island tour.

Another must see is the Carnival in Grande Casse on a Tuesday night, only a small procession of drummers and dancers but lots of stalls, good restaurants and a great atmosphere.

Orient Bay is a very long beach which for us was very crowded but if you can switch off from other people and want a nice beach to walk along this is fine. The sea is crystal clear and there were no large waves on our visit.

There is also a nudist beach connected to this beach if you are not already aware which we were not but still enjoyed walking along and getting strange looks as did all the other swimsuit clad people out for their morning walk!!

Room Tip: Upstairs ocean view and therefore no noise from guests moving about above you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, New Hampshire
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

We stayed at the Alamanda this spring while waiting for a cruise, and unfortunately we had a death in family necessitating us to return to Boston immediately and the staff a the Alamanda was wonderfully helpful, helping us make phone calls, being wonderfully supportive.

The resort is wonderful with the beach just across the street, and the resort is right in the village surrounded by wonderfully little restaurants much like Port Royal in Marigot. Although we only stayed there for 3 days, I am definitely planning to return, as it's become my go-to place in St Martin.

A wonderful little place with a helpful and friendly staff. Not to be missed.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Alamanda Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alamanda Resort

Address: Baie Orientale (Orient Beach), Orient Bay 97071, St Maarten-St Martin
Location: Caribbean > St Maarten-St Martin > Saint-Martin > Orient Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Orient Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Alamanda Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alamanda Resort, is situated on Orient Beach, the largest and most animated beach on St. Martin. Small in scale with its 42 deluxe Oceanfront rooms and suites, you'll vacation in style at Alamanda, St Martin's newest and most intimate full service hotel. The charming restaurant opens daily for breakfast, lunch and dinner, and hotel guests have charging privileges at 6 beachside restaurants serving French, Spanish or American cuisine. Multilingual staff, daily maid service, room service, 3000 sq ft convention center along with fax and internet facilities. If you looking to relax, where better than poolside in fresh water pool, sunning in the patio or sipping a drink to the poolside bar lush tropical garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Alamanda Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alamanda Hotel Orient Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alamanda Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.