We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't trip, you'll hit the beach!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alamanda Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Alamanda Resort to your Saves list
Alamanda Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Baie Orientale (Orient Beach), Orient Bay 97071, St Maarten-St Martin   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Orient Bay
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Don't trip, you'll hit the beach!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

Literally situated 50 feet from beautiful Orient beach on the French side of the island, the hotel lies at the midway point of the mile long beach. The location offers great access to the many beach bars and restaurants. The hotel has an arrangement with the Kaibo beach bar which offers ocean side chairs and umbrellas. If the free spirit of Orient beach (nudists on south end of beach, topless elsewhere) is a problem, there are 39 other white sand beaches to choose from on the island.
The Alamanda is adjacent to the village of Orient Baie which allows for multiple dining options within steps of the hotel. These restaurants apply the charges directly to the room (tips need to be in cash) and eliminates the need for credit cards, etc. It gives the feel of an all inclusive without confining you to one location.
Rooms are simple and clean with a small kitchen and refrigerator. The cable TV has been upgraded. The staff is very friendly and is willing to help with any problems you might have. A favorite of our visits (we have stayed 7 or 8 times) is the simple continental breakfasts that are served every morning at 7 a.m. A more extensive menu is available for a fee.
The excellent location and reproducibility of our experience at Alamanda are the reasons we return every year.

Room Tip: 2nd story offers the best views, but no elevator if steps are a problem and metal roofs may be a dis...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

362 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    140
    34
    26
    13
See reviews for
40
168
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Tx
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

This is a very nice hotel right next to the beach. The hotel photos are an accurate representation of the property. The 2nd floor rooms seem to be better in terms of view and space. The value of the rooms is very good compared to other properties on the French side.

Breakfast was included in our rate, which is served outdoors on umbrella shaded tables. It is a typical French side breakfast offering. WiFi was essentially useless from our room, however you can go to lobby/breakfast/pool area and get a strong signal. The rooms are large and nicely decorated, but the TVs are small although we did not use them much.

The hotel has an arrangement with one of the beach bars(Kakao) allowing you to have a beach chair and umbrella for each guest. This was really convenient and we used it daily. Kakao will server drinks and food on the beach. The Orient Bay gets crowded when the cruise ships come in(you will see the crowds not the ships), but the beach is large enough that you don't feel cramped.

It backs up to a small town square that has several restaurants including, Sushi, Italian, Pizza and a couple with French cuisine. While none of these restaurants compare to food experience in Grand Case, they are still very good. In addition there are 4 beach restaurants that serve a more casual menu within walking distance. The hotel will provide you with a card that allows to charge your meals from all of these restaurants to your room. There is a small grocery store across from the square, which also has some prepared food items.

The beach is loaded with activities, para sailing, kayaks, jet skis, etc.

There were some older comments about the security of the hotel and the area being run down. However we did not see any issues with security and felt very safe at the hotel. Most of the hotels that we stay in, at least on the French side, are not all inclusive conclaves like you find on other islands. So you do have to venture out some to grocery or the local restaurants. That may be disturbing to some, but to us it is part of the charm that keeps coming to St. Martin.

This is a charming convenient hotel at a great price.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Our second trip to Orient Beach and what a disappointment. The Alamanda Hotel shut the water off on the guests on 3 of the days we stayed there, with no warning to the guests. They gave us bottled water, but there was no running water to shower, bathe, shave, use the toilet, etc. We came back from a beautiful day at the beach only to be be sandy and salty. On two of the days we "washed" in the pool. That was the way we had to return home, by using the pool to wash after the beach. Not a pleasant way to sit on an airplane.
Why they shut the water off, we were not told. We were told it was "everywhere".
Were we compensated in some way? No. Not at all. We stayed 5 nights and paid the full rate.
I think they should have been more honest about the situation and helped us to get a hotel room elsewhere. Had we known this would be a continuing problem while we were there, we would have left.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

My husband and I spent 10 wonderful days at the Alamanda Resort and hope to return next year. The location is terrific - right across from Orient Beach. The ambience is charming - various pastel painted sections of the resort (check out the photos on line), with breakfast served daily outside under umbrellas by the pool. Our room with balcony, refrigerator, coffee maker and small range was spacious and very comfortable. Special praise is deserved for the super-persopnable, knowledgeable staff. They made us feel welcome when we arrived at midnight and each day when we asked for recommendations, etc. This is a lovely spot. In the evenings we walked out the resort's front door around the corner to a plaza of about 8 excellent restaurants. There is also a small grocery store across from the plaza. All within walking distance.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philadelphia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

Stayed at Alamanda resort again this year. We usually go with a group of friends. This year it was just me and my husband. Every year we go in February and our travel agent Mitch from TripGuy.com helps us to find the best deals on our Caribbean vacations. We found Alamanda generally in a good shape, besides the fact that they desperately need new mattresses and new pillows. The Orient beach is still their greatest asset - quick 5 minute walk away. There are few great restaurants for dinner on a little square right behind the hotel- no need to travel anywhere for dinner at night if you don't feel like it. Some nights there is live music there and the square is very lively and fun place to hang out. Overall, the hotel is good value for money. However getting new mattresses is crucial.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

We just returned from 5 nights at the Alamanda at the recommendation of our Trip Advisor travel agent, who always has the best recommendations. The location is ideal and it really helps that the hotel contracts with one of the beach bars for beach chairs for their guests. The waiters at Kakao (beach bar) were great and brought our lunch out to our beach chairs every day. The hotel is not fancy by any means, but is clean and it's best feature is its location. I will say the only negative was the woman (Geraldine I think) at the front desk. As mentioned by another reviewer, she called us taxis that were driven by her friends or family I think and one charged us $30 to go to Marigot. We found out on the way back that the rate should have been $20 and that the government sets all the taxi prices. Also, any time we asked for help or had a question, it was almost like we were bothering her or she thought we were stupid. That said, the two gentleman that also worked the front desk were fantastic and supremely helpful. If you are looking for an affordable hotel with a great location, this is definitely a great pick.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

Alamanda Hotel is directly on the beach of Orient Bay, arguably the best beach on the island. It is located in a small town, which has a store (room has a kitchenette), a couple shops and some amazing choices of restaurants.

The room itself is a good size. Deck is large and a fabulous place to relax before dinner with a few drinks. The only awkward thing is the shower because it's in a small tub and it's a balancing act to keep the shower head up (and it gets water all over the floor). But that aside, everything was extremely clean. The continential breakfast was good. Plenty to go around. There is a full menu should you want more food, but it's not included in the cost of your room.

From the hotel, you turn a small corner and find yourself in a small town square full of restaurants. This is where the action is after 8pm. The hotel also has it's own beach bar, so if you want a beach chair, ensure you go to the ones the hotel "owns" or you will be charged for the rental.

Take a stroll down the long, beautiful beach, play in the warm, clear water and eat and drink at the many places along the way. Afterall, you're on vacation.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Alamanda Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alamanda Resort

Address: Baie Orientale (Orient Beach), Orient Bay 97071, St Maarten-St Martin
Location: Caribbean > St Maarten-St Martin > Saint-Martin > Orient Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Orient Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Alamanda Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alamanda Resort, is situated on Orient Beach, the largest and most animated beach on St. Martin. Small in scale with its 42 deluxe Oceanfront rooms and suites, you'll vacation in style at Alamanda, St Martin's newest and most intimate full service hotel. The charming restaurant opens daily for breakfast, lunch and dinner, and hotel guests have charging privileges at 6 beachside restaurants serving French, Spanish or American cuisine. Multilingual staff, daily maid service, room service, 3000 sq ft convention center along with fax and internet facilities. If you looking to relax, where better than poolside in fresh water pool, sunning in the patio or sipping a drink to the poolside bar lush tropical garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Alamanda Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alamanda Hotel Orient Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alamanda Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.