We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming resort, great staff, walk to a beautiful beach” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alamanda Resort

Save Saved
You added Alamanda Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Alamanda Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Baie Orientale (Orient Beach), Orient Bay 97071, St Maarten-St Martin   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 6 hotels in Orient Bay
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Charming resort, great staff, walk to a beautiful beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

My husband and I spent 10 wonderful days at the Alamanda Resort and hope to return next year. The location is terrific - right across from Orient Beach. The ambience is charming - various pastel painted sections of the resort (check out the photos on line), with breakfast served daily outside under umbrellas by the pool. Our room with balcony, refrigerator, coffee maker and small range was spacious and very comfortable. Special praise is deserved for the super-persopnable, knowledgeable staff. They made us feel welcome when we arrived at midnight and each day when we asked for recommendations, etc. This is a lovely spot. In the evenings we walked out the resort's front door around the corner to a plaza of about 8 excellent restaurants. There is also a small grocery store across from the plaza. All within walking distance.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

361 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    148
    140
    34
    26
    13
See reviews for
39
167
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
philadelphia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

Stayed at Alamanda resort again this year. We usually go with a group of friends. This year it was just me and my husband. Every year we go in February and our travel agent Mitch from TripGuy.com helps us to find the best deals on our Caribbean vacations. We found Alamanda generally in a good shape, besides the fact that they desperately need new mattresses and new pillows. The Orient beach is still their greatest asset - quick 5 minute walk away. There are few great restaurants for dinner on a little square right behind the hotel- no need to travel anywhere for dinner at night if you don't feel like it. Some nights there is live music there and the square is very lively and fun place to hang out. Overall, the hotel is good value for money. However getting new mattresses is crucial.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

We just returned from 5 nights at the Alamanda at the recommendation of our Trip Advisor travel agent, who always has the best recommendations. The location is ideal and it really helps that the hotel contracts with one of the beach bars for beach chairs for their guests. The waiters at Kakao (beach bar) were great and brought our lunch out to our beach chairs every day. The hotel is not fancy by any means, but is clean and it's best feature is its location. I will say the only negative was the woman (Geraldine I think) at the front desk. As mentioned by another reviewer, she called us taxis that were driven by her friends or family I think and one charged us $30 to go to Marigot. We found out on the way back that the rate should have been $20 and that the government sets all the taxi prices. Also, any time we asked for help or had a question, it was almost like we were bothering her or she thought we were stupid. That said, the two gentleman that also worked the front desk were fantastic and supremely helpful. If you are looking for an affordable hotel with a great location, this is definitely a great pick.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

Alamanda Hotel is directly on the beach of Orient Bay, arguably the best beach on the island. It is located in a small town, which has a store (room has a kitchenette), a couple shops and some amazing choices of restaurants.

The room itself is a good size. Deck is large and a fabulous place to relax before dinner with a few drinks. The only awkward thing is the shower because it's in a small tub and it's a balancing act to keep the shower head up (and it gets water all over the floor). But that aside, everything was extremely clean. The continential breakfast was good. Plenty to go around. There is a full menu should you want more food, but it's not included in the cost of your room.

From the hotel, you turn a small corner and find yourself in a small town square full of restaurants. This is where the action is after 8pm. The hotel also has it's own beach bar, so if you want a beach chair, ensure you go to the ones the hotel "owns" or you will be charged for the rental.

Take a stroll down the long, beautiful beach, play in the warm, clear water and eat and drink at the many places along the way. Afterall, you're on vacation.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Virginia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

I combed the reviews before settling on Alamanda. The quiet side of the island, lowrise area, right at the beach, breakfast included, it hit our priorities. But we did not completely appreciate how lucky our choice had been til we traveled around more to see the options - and until we checked in late due to flight delays and had to go find dinner at ten o'clock.
The Alamanda is small and set beside a sort of town plaza, with a number of restaurants, of which we tried three. Food was terrific, not the too-prevalent Caribbean amalgam of jerk this and stewed that. The French are in control here, and that means good food and, more unexpected, friendly service. We ate well and enjoyed the amenities of the Alamanda for a week, and came home much refreshed. The room was clean and the water was hot and the chairs on the porch were comfy and so was the bed. Lots of lights, and if the TV was smallish, who cared? We didn't watch it anyway!
Our visits to the towns around the island made us realize that we would not even need a rental car on our next visit, taxis would be fine for the limited outings we would take. This place is for sailing and relaxing and staying put.
Orient beach is long and lined with restaurants and beach chairs. One end is occupied by the clothing optional resort, and all may use the beach there, so there is a good mile of beach to stroll and enjoy. The other end of the beach is the location for a large condo hotel, and there are no true beachfront hotels in between. A service road runs between the smaller hotels and the beach, but does not detract from the protected feel of the location. We always felt safe and happy here,and will certainly return!

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms permit one to sleep with the doors open (kitties, lizards not so likely to get in) bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, Georgia, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

Over all really enjoyed it. Orient Beach is very windy but fantastic beauty. I loved watching the kite surfers.

Each front desk clerk had a deal with their own cab driver. Each way to Philipsburg is $25. I was told you can rent a car for 25 Euro per day.

What did irritate me: We needed a cab to get to the ferry for Pinel Island. The day shift girl looks up the rate and says $15 to $18. She calls her buddy. He shows up in a tiny car...nowhere does it say TAXI. It was two adults and a 15 year old. The driver says there are three of you; it is $20. I should have said NO WAY, but my wife caves in and pays the $20. We took another taxi bus back for $15.

Over all great vacation. The beaches and around the island catamaran (Eagle Tours) on Tues and and Sat are fantastic. The housing where the locals live inland is a little sad.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013 via mobile

Invision Key West and this is the hotel-- Internet reception depends on your distance from the front desk! Good location, Island living, Victorian architecture. Would stay here again when wanting to escape HOTEL environment. Bring electric converters -- they are needed with limited supply from the management.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Alamanda Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alamanda Resort

Address: Baie Orientale (Orient Beach), Orient Bay 97071, St Maarten-St Martin
Location: Caribbean > St Maarten-St Martin > Saint-Martin > Orient Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 hotels in Orient Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Alamanda Resort 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alamanda Resort, is situated on Orient Beach, the largest and most animated beach on St. Martin. Small in scale with its 42 deluxe Oceanfront rooms and suites, you'll vacation in style at Alamanda, St Martin's newest and most intimate full service hotel. The charming restaurant opens daily for breakfast, lunch and dinner, and hotel guests have charging privileges at 6 beachside restaurants serving French, Spanish or American cuisine. Multilingual staff, daily maid service, room service, 3000 sq ft convention center along with fax and internet facilities. If you looking to relax, where better than poolside in fresh water pool, sunning in the patio or sipping a drink to the poolside bar lush tropical garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Alamanda Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alamanda Hotel Orient Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alamanda Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.