We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best all around location St. Martin” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Alamanda Resort

Save Saved
You added Alamanda Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Alamanda Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Baie Orientale (Orient Beach), Orient Bay 97071, St Maarten-St Martin   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Orient Bay
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best all around location St. Martin”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

We've come back to The Alamanda close to a dozen years. Upon arrival we're greated by Vincent the Manager and a host of caring staff, this facility continues to be well-maintained and updated, has complimentary continental breakfast and is convenient to dining on the square at multiple cuisine...within walking distance to the beach! Always clean housekeeping, European style beds, cable TV, WI-FI, nice outdoor area facing the ocean and pool. A gem tucked away on Orient Beach!

Room Tip: 2nd floor is always preferable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

362 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    140
    34
    26
    13
See reviews for
40
168
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa FL
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

My wife and I flew into St Martin rented a small car from Avis with GPS and drove to the Alamanda Resort. The resort had our reservation for "Delux Oceanview" which was a large room on the second floor with large balcony and we checked in easily. The room was spotless and housekeeping was great. The bed was European style without innerspring but we sleep on a firm matress at home and it was perfect for us. We could see the ocean from the balcony and slept with the Balcony Doors open and could hear the waves all night.
The desk was manned 24/7 and we felt very secure. We also had a safe in the room. Although we did send part of a few days touring, most of our time was spent at or near Orient Beach. Evenings we ate at the local restaurants an easy walk from the hotel. Our favorite restaurant on the square was LePiment for food quality and price.
We visited in January and had continual strong warm on shore winds. Coming from Florida the water temperature was a litte cooler than we expected but not too cold to swim. We had a great relaxing vacation.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, New Hampshire
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

Just returned from my 5th stay at the Alamanda. Very impressed by the continued maintenance on the facility. Feels more like a home away from home.
Location could not be better and it is an asset to have the small plaza behind the hotel where you can always grab a great meal.
Thanks again Vincent and crew!
Looking forward to October.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen Ridge, NJ
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

we had the two floor duplex, second bathroom was great, especially a real shower! If only the shower curtain was a bit longer and wider, the floor would have stayed dry! Beds were a bit hard, and tv small, but it was vacation, and not the point to watch TV.(except it was bowl week for college football! ) Nice porch facing the pool and the beach, ample space and closet. Mini fridge was handy too. Nice staff, great morning breakfast included on the patio by the pool.

great location between the "square" of restaurants and the beach with small parking lot between. Only negative was that the beach faced away from the sun, so you'd lose sun behind mountains late in the day, around 4 ish. Also we got a bit tired of the vendors on the beach selling coverups and aloe foot massages. Water was a bit rough for smaller kids, but take a day trip over to Pinel Island, quieter beach, calmer water , short boat taxi for 7$ round trip. Restaurants and snorkeling over there, and hiking on the island if you want.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
129 helpful votes 129 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We stayed for four nights over New Year’s. We normally stay in hotels probably one step up and I knew this wasn’t going to be fancy but we really wanted to stay on Orient Beach. But we knew that going in and were just looking for a clean room and a good night’s sleep. While the property is well maintained (I had actually stayed here 15 years ago and it has held up fairly well) and rooms are clean, they are not quiet!
The walls are paper thin at this hotel. You can easily hear other people talking even in quiet voices, sneezing, TV’s, etc. We could live with the hard beds, but the noise really impacted our sleeping. Add to that the curtains that do not block out the sun and we were up at sunrise with the Europeans (who hadn’t adjusted to the time zone yet) talking in their room next to us every morning. We wore ear plugs after the first night but just really didn’t sleep well at all. Getting a good night’s sleep is a basic for us.
Service at the front desk and breakfast was perfunctory but not what I would call friendly. They were completely unapologetic when the water stopped working one night right before dinner (nothing like a nice French dinner when you still have sand and sunscreen everywhere). We ordered taxis every night into Grand Case and the guy at the front desk kept calling his brother, who I don’t think was actually a taxi and would drive 20 mph because his car sounded like it was going to fall apart. This got to be annoying, especially after we had another driver the last night and made it over to Grand Case in no time.
The property did its job in giving us the Orient Beach location, but we would not stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Family voted Alamanda 4 stars because of its excellent location. Beautiful beach is just right across the street and near Vela watersports site. You can hear the howling wind and slapping waves on the shore as if you're listening to a nature's relaxation music- very soothing when you wind down at night. Kids loved the pool, it's refreshing after a day's out on the beach. It is near to some attractions e.g.The Butterfly farm (10 mins. drive, entrance fee is good for the time you stayed in St. Martin and Lotrie Farm, Pic paradis. Kids enjoyed the Ti-tarzan activity. Hotel is next to Village Baie Orientale with variety of stores and restaurants from French/ Italian/ Asian/Creole cuisines. Tai-chi was our favorite because of its service and tasty food. Complimentary breakfast, wine coupons and friendly staff were extra bonus to our stay.

In terms of room amenities, it is not what you expect. Beds / pillows / towels/ TV need upgrade (they're a bit hard beds, thin beddings, rough towels, small size TV for the room ). Bathroom fixtures need renovation too,

Try to rent a car instead of hiring a taxi. It's way worth it!

Overall, we had a great time.

Room Tip: Oceanview 2-br. with refrigerator for a family of 4. Large rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hoover, alabama
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

We had an excellent experience at the hotel. On arrival we found we had been upgraded to a second floor room. The room was very lovely, spacious, clean with a very ice patio. The pool area was great, breakfast a real treat and the staff was very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Alamanda Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alamanda Resort

Address: Baie Orientale (Orient Beach), Orient Bay 97071, St Maarten-St Martin
Location: Caribbean > St Maarten-St Martin > Saint-Martin > Orient Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Orient Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Alamanda Resort 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alamanda Resort, is situated on Orient Beach, the largest and most animated beach on St. Martin. Small in scale with its 42 deluxe Oceanfront rooms and suites, you'll vacation in style at Alamanda, St Martin's newest and most intimate full service hotel. The charming restaurant opens daily for breakfast, lunch and dinner, and hotel guests have charging privileges at 6 beachside restaurants serving French, Spanish or American cuisine. Multilingual staff, daily maid service, room service, 3000 sq ft convention center along with fax and internet facilities. If you looking to relax, where better than poolside in fresh water pool, sunning in the patio or sipping a drink to the poolside bar lush tropical garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Venere and Otel so you can book your Alamanda Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alamanda Hotel Orient Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alamanda Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.