We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Gem!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alamanda Resort

Save Saved
You added Alamanda Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Alamanda Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Baie Orientale (Orient Beach), Orient Bay 97071, St Maarten-St Martin   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 6 hotels in Orient Bay
Portsmouth, New Hampshire
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

Just returned from my 5th stay at the Alamanda. Very impressed by the continued maintenance on the facility. Feels more like a home away from home.
Location could not be better and it is an asset to have the small plaza behind the hotel where you can always grab a great meal.
Thanks again Vincent and crew!
Looking forward to October.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

364 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    149
    141
    35
    26
    13
See reviews for
39
166
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glen Ridge, NJ
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

we had the two floor duplex, second bathroom was great, especially a real shower! If only the shower curtain was a bit longer and wider, the floor would have stayed dry! Beds were a bit hard, and tv small, but it was vacation, and not the point to watch TV.(except it was bowl week for college football! ) Nice porch facing the pool and the beach, ample space and closet. Mini fridge was handy too. Nice staff, great morning breakfast included on the patio by the pool.

great location between the "square" of restaurants and the beach with small parking lot between. Only negative was that the beach faced away from the sun, so you'd lose sun behind mountains late in the day, around 4 ish. Also we got a bit tired of the vendors on the beach selling coverups and aloe foot massages. Water was a bit rough for smaller kids, but take a day trip over to Pinel Island, quieter beach, calmer water , short boat taxi for 7$ round trip. Restaurants and snorkeling over there, and hiking on the island if you want.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
129 helpful votes 129 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We stayed for four nights over New Year’s. We normally stay in hotels probably one step up and I knew this wasn’t going to be fancy but we really wanted to stay on Orient Beach. But we knew that going in and were just looking for a clean room and a good night’s sleep. While the property is well maintained (I had actually stayed here 15 years ago and it has held up fairly well) and rooms are clean, they are not quiet!
The walls are paper thin at this hotel. You can easily hear other people talking even in quiet voices, sneezing, TV’s, etc. We could live with the hard beds, but the noise really impacted our sleeping. Add to that the curtains that do not block out the sun and we were up at sunrise with the Europeans (who hadn’t adjusted to the time zone yet) talking in their room next to us every morning. We wore ear plugs after the first night but just really didn’t sleep well at all. Getting a good night’s sleep is a basic for us.
Service at the front desk and breakfast was perfunctory but not what I would call friendly. They were completely unapologetic when the water stopped working one night right before dinner (nothing like a nice French dinner when you still have sand and sunscreen everywhere). We ordered taxis every night into Grand Case and the guy at the front desk kept calling his brother, who I don’t think was actually a taxi and would drive 20 mph because his car sounded like it was going to fall apart. This got to be annoying, especially after we had another driver the last night and made it over to Grand Case in no time.
The property did its job in giving us the Orient Beach location, but we would not stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Family voted Alamanda 4 stars because of its excellent location. Beautiful beach is just right across the street and near Vela watersports site. You can hear the howling wind and slapping waves on the shore as if you're listening to a nature's relaxation music- very soothing when you wind down at night. Kids loved the pool, it's refreshing after a day's out on the beach. It is near to some attractions e.g.The Butterfly farm (10 mins. drive, entrance fee is good for the time you stayed in St. Martin and Lotrie Farm, Pic paradis. Kids enjoyed the Ti-tarzan activity. Hotel is next to Village Baie Orientale with variety of stores and restaurants from French/ Italian/ Asian/Creole cuisines. Tai-chi was our favorite because of its service and tasty food. Complimentary breakfast, wine coupons and friendly staff were extra bonus to our stay.

In terms of room amenities, it is not what you expect. Beds / pillows / towels/ TV need upgrade (they're a bit hard beds, thin beddings, rough towels, small size TV for the room ). Bathroom fixtures need renovation too,

Try to rent a car instead of hiring a taxi. It's way worth it!

Overall, we had a great time.

Room Tip: Oceanview 2-br. with refrigerator for a family of 4. Large rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hoover, alabama
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

We had an excellent experience at the hotel. On arrival we found we had been upgraded to a second floor room. The room was very lovely, spacious, clean with a very ice patio. The pool area was great, breakfast a real treat and the staff was very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

We've been here about five times. It's our favorite place. The beach is the best in the world, in my opinion. The breakfast included has amazing croissants. The beach bars have amazing drinks and food. The hotel itself is nothing luxurious - it's just a little place on a perfect beach.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, Maryland
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

We've been staying at Alamanda every year for five or six years now. It is not fancy, but by St Martin standards it is among the best. It had been getting run down, but it has had a lot of needed revisions in the last year - new air conditioning, TV, safes, and fresh paint. The bathroom is odd but clean. Staff is friendly and reliable. The location is the best on St Martin, right on Orient Beach,with Orient village right there with a good selection of excellent restaurants. It is a simple hotel, but I cannot imagine staying anywhere else on St Martin - we've stayed at La Samanna and Le Meridien (now Radisson) in the past - both lovely, but we'll take Alamanda, thank you. We'll be back there next December.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Alamanda Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alamanda Resort

Address: Baie Orientale (Orient Beach), Orient Bay 97071, St Maarten-St Martin
Location: Caribbean > St Maarten-St Martin > Saint-Martin > Orient Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 hotels in Orient Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Alamanda Resort 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alamanda Resort, is situated on Orient Beach, the largest and most animated beach on St. Martin. Small in scale with its 42 deluxe Oceanfront rooms and suites, you'll vacation in style at Alamanda, St Martin's newest and most intimate full service hotel. The charming restaurant opens daily for breakfast, lunch and dinner, and hotel guests have charging privileges at 6 beachside restaurants serving French, Spanish or American cuisine. Multilingual staff, daily maid service, room service, 3000 sq ft convention center along with fax and internet facilities. If you looking to relax, where better than poolside in fresh water pool, sunning in the patio or sipping a drink to the poolside bar lush tropical garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Otel so you can book your Alamanda Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alamanda Hotel Orient Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alamanda Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.