We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best Holiday Vacation” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Alamanda Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Alamanda Resort to your Saves list
Alamanda Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Baie Orientale (Orient Beach), Orient Bay 97071, St. Maarten-St. Martin   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Orient Bay
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“One of the best Holiday Vacation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Family voted Alamanda 4 stars because of its excellent location. Beautiful beach is just right across the street and near Vela watersports site. You can hear the howling wind and slapping waves on the shore as if you're listening to a nature's relaxation music- very soothing when you wind down at night. Kids loved the pool, it's refreshing after a day's out on the beach. It is near to some attractions e.g.The Butterfly farm (10 mins. drive, entrance fee is good for the time you stayed in St. Martin and Lotrie Farm, Pic paradis. Kids enjoyed the Ti-tarzan activity. Hotel is next to Village Baie Orientale with variety of stores and restaurants from French/ Italian/ Asian/Creole cuisines. Tai-chi was our favorite because of its service and tasty food. Complimentary breakfast, wine coupons and friendly staff were extra bonus to our stay.

In terms of room amenities, it is not what you expect. Beds / pillows / towels/ TV need upgrade (they're a bit hard beds, thin beddings, rough towels, small size TV for the room ). Bathroom fixtures need renovation too,

Try to rent a car instead of hiring a taxi. It's way worth it!

Overall, we had a great time.

Room Tip: Oceanview 2-br. with refrigerator for a family of 4. Large rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Asparafans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

422 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
hoover, alabama
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

We had an excellent experience at the hotel. On arrival we found we had been upgraded to a second floor room. The room was very lovely, spacious, clean with a very ice patio. The pool area was great, breakfast a real treat and the staff was very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank susanHoover_Alabama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
45 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

We've been here about five times. It's our favorite place. The beach is the best in the world, in my opinion. The breakfast included has amazing croissants. The beach bars have amazing drinks and food. The hotel itself is nothing luxurious - it's just a little place on a perfect beach.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank winterbeachbum40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, Maryland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

We've been staying at Alamanda every year for five or six years now. It is not fancy, but by St Martin standards it is among the best. It had been getting run down, but it has had a lot of needed revisions in the last year - new air conditioning, TV, safes, and fresh paint. The bathroom is odd but clean. Staff is friendly and reliable. The location is the best on St Martin, right on Orient Beach,with Orient village right there with a good selection of excellent restaurants. It is a simple hotel, but I cannot imagine staying anywhere else on St Martin - we've stayed at La Samanna and Le Meridien (now Radisson) in the past - both lovely, but we'll take Alamanda, thank you. We'll be back there next December.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DaveTheL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

There is probably no better location for a hotel on St. Martin than the Alamanda. The staff is very friendly and helpful but the bed in room 102 was rock hard. We asked for a pad but they had already given out the 2 they had (just 2 for a 42 room hotel?). They ended up giving us several velour blankets which helped some. We ended up buying a mattress pad, and they thankfully credited us the cost of the pad.

It is just across the road from Orient Beach, which is one of the nicest beaches I have ever been to. Also within a few seconds walking distance to some very good restaurants.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SpoutingHorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KINGSTON,ONTARIO
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

Just spent a week at the Alamanda Resort in Orient Bay. It is a small hotel and very quiet but the beach is very active and that is where you will spend most of your time. We rented the Presidential suite which was very nice and faced the ocean. Probably the best view in the whole resort and the most roomiest balcony. Very clean resort although be prepared for a very hard bed.

Breakfast was a frest fruit cup, pastries and wonderful toasted bagettes plus your coffee and juice. However the room has a small kitchenette with a fridge and stove top (no oven) which you can bring in a few groceries and make sandwiches etc. to help cut costs.

The beach was spectacular although left natural with the usual looking weeds washing up on shore with high tide. They just try to bury the weeds in the sand every now and again. Great for taking nice walks up and down the beach though.

Pool was very quiet and not used too often. We would usually finish our day at the beach there to rinse off and get a nice cool swim before going to our room. Usually we were the only ones there.

Be careful as the French side uses Euros and for the life of us we could figure out the conversions they were using. It seemed everywhere had there own conversion system. It would be wise to bring Euros and $ and pay in Euros when asked for. I think we lost quite a bit when using our $.

Also need to mention early mornings be warned the nudists come up and down the beach for their morning strolls. This was not the case in the later morning and afternoons though.

All in all loved St. Maarten and would likely go back but want to see what else is out there before sticking to one island.

Room Tip: Best rooms for view of ocean are 200 (Presidential Suite), 201, 202.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MOM2THREE5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Framingham, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

We have stayed at the Alamanda for many years. Our last visit on 11/19 was perfect. We always request a first floor room and always get it. Hard for my hubby to go up the stairs, for the other rooms. The staff, including Vincent, Geraldyne, Matilda, Franklin, Agnes and every one else, is a pleasure to deal with. We start with the breakfast they serve, and all have a smile on their face. Our room was spotless, and is the property. We dined every night at Bikini Beach, Spiga's, Tai Chi, LaVilla, Piazza Pascal, LePressoir, L'Estaminent, LeTastevin, Lescapade and L'Auberge Gourmande and each night when we returned, we were welcomed with a giant smile. We cannot ask for a better staff. They treat us with hugs when we arrive and I have tears, when we leave. It is a wonderful property and we cannot wait to go back.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank MargieandJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Orient Bay
1.2 mi away
Palm Court Hotel
Palm Court Hotel
#2 of 7 in Orient Bay
4.5 of 5 stars 203 reviews
2.6 mi away
Grand Case Beach Club
Grand Case Beach Club
#3 of 8 in Grand Case
4.5 of 5 stars 1,455 reviews
1.5 mi away
La Playa Orient Bay
La Playa Orient Bay
#3 of 7 in Orient Bay
4.0 of 5 stars 438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa
0.4 mi away
Esmeralda Resort
Esmeralda Resort
#4 of 7 in Orient Bay
4.0 of 5 stars 319 reviews
0.2 mi away
Blue Bay Beach Hotel
Blue Bay Beach Hotel
#1 of 1 in Orient Bay
4.0 of 5 stars 191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alamanda Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alamanda Resort

Address: Baie Orientale (Orient Beach), Orient Bay 97071, St. Maarten-St. Martin
Location: Caribbean > St. Maarten-St. Martin > Saint-Martin > Orient Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Orient Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Alamanda Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alamanda Resort is situated on Orient Beach, the largest and most animated beach on St. Martin. Small in scale with its 42 deluxe Oceanfront rooms and suites, you'll vacation in style at Alamanda, St Martin's newest and most intimate full service hotel. The charming restaurant opens daily for breakfast, lunch and dinner, and hotel guests have charging privileges at 6 beachside restaurants serving French, Spanish or American cuisine. Multilingual staff, daily maid service, room service, 3000 sq ft convention center along with fax and internet facilities. If you are looking to relax, where better than poolside in fresh water pool, sunning in the patio or sipping a drink to the poolside bar lush tropical garden? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, BookIt.com, Priceline, West Indies, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Alamanda Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alamanda Hotel Orient Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing