We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“10 Years Since Last Vaca & Palm Court Still the Best!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Palm Court Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Palm Court Hotel to your Saves list
Palm Court Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Parc de la Baie Orientale, Orient Bay 97150, St Maarten-St Martin   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Orient Bay
Mesa, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“10 Years Since Last Vaca & Palm Court Still the Best!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

We are giving Palm Court 5 Stars not because it is a 5 Star top of the line resort, but because it was a 5 Star experience! We had last visited St. Martin over 10 years ago and Palm Court was good, but now it is great! Thanks to the Manager Anne, you feel right at home immediately and totally taken care of! When we checked in, I mentioned that I would like a restaurant with live music. That very evening, Anne presented us with a "portfolio of live music". She had called all restaurants in the area and listed each evening where we could go. Who does that other than a person who is truly focused on customer service! All of the staff at Palm Court was great, including Poopie the dog, who greeted us every evening and knew how to lead us to our room! We loved having continental breakfast by the pool every morning, and the days we needed more, we could order eggs & bacon. The hotel is not on the beach, but within walking distance and close to the little store and the restaurants within Orient Village. We are already planning our trip back and would never go to St. Martin again without staying at Palm Court!

Room Tip: We loved room 11 on the 2nd floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    58
    14
    5
    5
See reviews for
17
126
12
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

My wife and I have stayed at Palm Court the last two times we have been to St. Martin and have thoroughly enjoyed each visit. The manager, Anne, is the absolute best manager we have ever encountered!. She made us feel like we had the keys to the kingdom. Once inside, this is a gated and very private feeling small hotel. The breakfast in the morning by the pool served by the very nice and attentive young ladies is very good and pleasant.

We especially like the roll down storm screen that made us feel even more secure and really keeps out the light. WE WILL BE BACK!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

Our first trip to St. Martin...we would go back to Palm Court. It really is a short walk to the beach. The hotel is quaint, staff unobtrusive and helpful! Our room was comfortable, safe, and clean. We did find our bed to be harder than expected...but when I mentioned it, they were quite accommodating and put some added padding...which helped a lot! The breakfast was satisfying, great pastry, coffee, and juice...though I would have liked a bigger selection of fruit.
We loved being close to Orient Beach...beautiful beach and close to restaurants and a well supplied market. We utilized the the kitchen in our room and shopped the market daily.
Nearby beaches...we really liked Fryer's Bay...(it was windy in other spots but calm and peaceful waters at Fryer's)..we enjoyed the restaurant and returned twice. There was a herd of cows and two donkey's, you don't see that everywhere!
So, Fryer's was our fav beach...Anse Marsel...was a pretty and private beach...but the main restaurant at Anse Marsel...was by far the best food we had on St. Martin(seemed to be a locals hang out)! When they suggest you make a reservation...you may want to follow instructions! : ), it's worth it! I also got two gorgeous bathing suits at the boutique at Anse Marcel!
All in all...we totally enjoyed our trip and after venturing out...still found the Orient Beach location...to be perfect for us!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

We stayed at the Palm Court 6 years ago and we really enjoyed ourselves, although back then the hotel was not over the top special, it was very comfortable, clean, and the staff was accommodating. We just got back from our visit to St Martin and our opinion on the Palm Court has changed. At the current price it is an OK value for the money spent, however, we would have happily spent more for a better hotel had we known how it has changed. The staff just isn't as warm as they were in the past, the cleanliness of the rooms were not great (lots of gunk in the corners), the beds were old, bed-spreads are passé, the breakfast has gotten even more basic, and on the beach we always felt like a second class citizen (at one beach location Palm Court guests had to sit in the back row, and at the other location Palm Court guests didn't get cushions with their chairs). Oh, and WiFi coverage in our room was virtually non-existent, although not a big deal since we were on a beach vacation and we didn't really need to post those Facebook updates.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

Not a big resort, but rather small boutique hotel.
Location - excellent, literary less than 100 steps to Orient beach. Village and shops including bakery and grocery stores around the corner.
Rooms are large, clean with nice Moroccan style furnishings. AC works perfectly. Water has excellent pressure and was boiling hot.
Reception, cleaning and breakfast ladies are very friendly and aim to please. They make happened everything we asked for including late check out as we were moving to another hotel.
Cleaning ladies who did outstanding job not just cleaning but changing towels and refilling bathroom and kitchen items did not even touch the tip money we were leaving for them and we finally had to tell them to take it.
Buffet breakfast was wonderful and more than enough for us, but you can order to cook something if you'd like as a service lady was always there ready to help.
Pool even though small (as so most of the pools in small resorts on Caribbean islands), was clean and excellent choice to dip in after a hot day at the beach.
Variety of restaurants, two bakeries, grocery store and most importantly the staff made it an excellent choice for us.
Thanks for everything.

Room Tip: We stayed on the second floor and liked it; I think rooms on the third floor are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

We have stayed in Orient Bay 8 different times, and I don't know how we have missed Palm Court. The location is excellent...you can walk to Orient Village and to the beach which is across the street. When we checked in, we were greeted by name and personally walked to our room. Our room was large, well furnished and clean. There was a small refrigerator, microwave and coffee maker. Also, the staff was nice enough to loan us a converter and a hair dryer!

Just outside the room was a patio with chairs and a table and a nice hammock big enough for two to enjoy...

The staff's was friendly and helpful, and our room was thoroughly cleaned every day! After we checked out, we realized that we had left something in a dresser drawer. Ann, the manager of the hotel, found the item and arranged to keep,it for us until we were able to get back to the hotel (we were staying elsewhere on the island, so it was a couple of days). It is not often that one finds such personalized service!

We are looking forward to our next stay here!

Room Tip: If you are able to get a ground floor room, you can walk to breakfast and the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

My wife and I were looking for a budget friendly property on or within a short walk to Orient Bay beach and definitely found it at the Palm Court Hotel. Our flight leg from Philadelphia was delayed so by the time we got our rental car (definitely recommend a rental car) it was nighttime. We are adventurous and I had been to the island previously so thought driving to the property would be no problem. It took us a bit longer to find than I thought it might even with my wife navigating we still made it (GPS is not necessary, but would have been helpful that night). Unfortunately, the entrance to the cluster of hotels where the Palm Court and private residences is located is not clearly marked from the road and we took a chance pulling in at about where we thought it should be and lo and behold, we were there! There is a guard at the entry gate who directed us to the hotel. Upon arrival we knew they closed the reception desk at 7 pm and as it was now about 9 pm we had to use a phone outside the gated parking lot. We were given the code to enter the lot, told our room number and proceeded to unload our bags and look for our room. That was when we met "Poopi" (his real name) who greeted us as we were walking on the path to our room and somehow knew which room to lead us to. We got to our room, which was large, cool, clean and comfortable and took quick showers then walked down to the beach where the music was playing. We stopped at one of the small bar/restaurants and had a drink and bite to eat. The next morning we enjoyed a complimentary breakfast served in the hotel cafe adjacent to the pool deck. Coffee, juice, toast and other breads, fruit and delicious fresh pineapple served daily also eggs and other breakfast items to order for a fee are available as well. Then a five-minute walk to one of the beach clubs where the hotel has arranged for guests to have complimentary lounge chairs and umbrellas. Drink and food service is also available which we partook of most every day. The beach is truly beautiful. The breeze and temps were the same daily and the water is crystal clear. After the beach we returned to our room to relax, nap, shower and go out for dinner. There is a nicer group of restaurants adjacent to the hotel with your choice of cuisines. We ate at the French restaurant the first night. It was nice but nothing special and on the pricey side. As in Europe, the French side of the island includes a percentage with the bill for your meal so as I understand it, tipping is not required but certainly not refused. With our rental car we were able to drive to Grand Case and Marigot where there are numerous restaurants with most cuisines. We also drove down to Philipsburg on the Dutch side to do some shopping for gifts in the jewelry stores on First Street and stayed for dinner at a seafood restaurant (so-so). I think we most enjoyed going to the little grocery store near the hotel and buying a fresh loaf of French bread, cold cuts, wine, cheese and fruit and just enjoying them in our room when we did not feel like venturing out. There was no ATM available at the hotel or restaurants, stores etc. or close by. Fortunately we had the car and were able to drive to a bank several miles away to use the ATM. Also forgot to notify my bank I was traveling and was unable to use my debit card until I contacted the bank via email to let them know I was trying to use the card outside of the US. All in all the hotel was very nice, staff was helpful, and room was well taken care of daily. The hotel is quiet, family oriented and I recommend this hotel to any budget conscious traveler.

Room Tip: If you want the pool right outside the patio door of your room be sure to request it in advance. Ev...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Palm Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palm Court Hotel

Address: Parc de la Baie Orientale, Orient Bay 97150, St Maarten-St Martin
Location: Caribbean > St Maarten-St Martin > Saint-Martin > Orient Bay
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Orient Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Palm Court Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palm Court is situated in Orient Bay, just two minutes walk from the beach and all local amenities. Orient Beach is on the windward side of the island, so the hotel is blessed with the cooling Caribbean trade winds for most of the year. The breeze not only keeps the temperatures comfortable, but also provides ideal conditions for watersports such as windsurfing and kitesurfing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Palm Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palm Court Orient Bay
Hotel Palm Court

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palm Court Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.