We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good/Simple” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Palm Court Hotel

Save Saved
You added Palm Court Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Palm Court Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Parc de la Baie Orientale, Orient Bay 97150, St Maarten-St Martin   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 6 hotels in Orient Bay
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Good/Simple”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

I recently stayed here and enjoyed my visit. The rooms are simple, but clean. They offer a free French style continental breakfast (poolside). Orient Beach is beautiful and only a block away. If you'd like to have some additional restaurant reviews around the area, check out www.gustatori.com.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    88
    48
    9
    5
    5
See reviews for
13
103
10
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hartford, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I just spent a week in Room 13 made infamous earlier in Mr. Kalaman's review. We had none of his issues and in fact had a wonderful time. Alex and the staff were great and very friendly and helpful. Really appreciated the short walk to the beach, the complimentary chairs and umbrella at Waikiki Beach as well as the ability to run a tab and have the charges billed to our room. These extras really helped with our goal of a "lazy" vacation. Shame the Tex-Mex restaurant closed if only because it leaves a vacant unkempt spot in the village area. The restaurants in the village area have generally good food, but are a little pricey - but again played into our goal of being lazy. We just love the easy style of Orient Bay and the convenience of everything.

We have stayed at Cap Caribes ( now Le Grand Bleu) several times but Palm Court is much better with a very clean pool, buffet breakfast and a happy hour in the pool area. Alex and the team helped us with dinner reservations in Grand Case (Le Pressoir - excellent French cuisine) and answered questions about Anguilla and local necessities like when the local Cadisco gas station closes. They also arranged for us to settle the bill the night before we departed since we had an early flight and knew traffic would be bad with the Heneicken Regatta in full swing. We were also allowed to print our boarding passes in their office.

All in all, a great experience at Palm Court, and we will stay again for our next visit to Orient Bay.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

After my vacation with my son's family fell apart I found this hotel on internet and I am glad i did...I arrived way before the check-in time (3 o'clock) but Alexandra told me that my room was ready and I could get in, go to the beach, and that we would deal with the formalities after I come back. This place should be probably called B&B because you don't feel like beeing in the hotel, the staff is very friendly and helpfull. The room is very nicely decorated and very clean. The access to the beach is about 3 minutes walking distance and there are many restaurants on the beach. The only problem I had was that almost none of the stores in a "village" accepted credit cards and there was not even one banking machine anywhere, so I had go to Marigot to get some money for my purchases.Coming from Canada that was a big surprise
as we are used to use our credit cards everywhere. I hope to come back one day, this was my first visit to this island and I will probably stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rensselaer, New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

This hotel came in a vacation package deal because we wanted to visit Orient Beach again but did not want to pay the exorbitant hotel prices of this area. My husband and I were more than pleasantly surprised at the comfort of the second floor room, the friendly staff and the beauty of the surroundings of this small hotel. This was truly a "little paradise" at Orient Bay. Alex, Natalia and Julianne were always friendly, helpful and welcoming. There is nothing like a personal touch when you are vacationing in a foreign country. The hotel is gated so we felt safe; it is only a short 5 minute walk to Waikiki beach where hotel guests get free loungers and umbrella. You can walk to several restaurants, shops, pharmacy and convenience stores. Village of Grand Case is about a 10 minute ride by car where you find the finest restaurants in the Caribbean. My only complaint is that there was no screen to the balcony so we were not able to enjoy the constant breeze at night. After speaking to Alex about this, she said that for safety reasons, screens were not added to the sliding doors. What a shame! With the screens, this would have been the perfect paradise.

Room Tip: I would choose the second floor due to the viewws and great sea breeze.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

Cannot say enough good things about this quaint boutique hotel in Orient Bay! If you want a quiet get-away in a laid back setting this is the hotel for you. We just spent 9 days at this smallish hotel enjoying the Morroccan ambience and little resident dog "Poopy" , French for puppy, who liked to escort us down to the beach. Lots of dogs and cats roam freely in this area so if you don't like animals don't come to this part of St. Martin!
The hotel is a convenient five minute walk to Orient Beach and town restaurants for lunch and dinner. Grand Case is a ten minute drive if one wants more variety to dine out. The snorkelling and swimming is great along the pristine Orient Beach. Loterie Farm makes an interesting destination for those who like to hike and zip glide. The view from the mountain top is absolutely stunning.
The traffic jams and the agressive hawkers in Phillipsburg are the only negatives to St. Martin. Too many cars but what can you do?

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

My husband and I loved this hotel - it was gorgeous! The bed was HUGE - a little hard, but I liked it okay. The grounds were well kept and the people there were very friendly and helpful. The 2 minute walk to the beach was GREAT! We also loved the security gate. The only thing I wouldn't do, unless you WANT to spend alot of money" is go to Waikiki Beach of Bikini Beach - walk further down to the right to ORANGE FEVER. GREAT food and good prices!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waukesha, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We’ve stayed in the Orient Bay area several times per year for 12 years. The Palm Court has changed owners several times but the buildings stay the same. Pleasant and a flavor of French Caribbean charm, yet not 5 star crazy opulent and sterile. The rooms could use a little updating but we didn’t pay $400 per night either. It’s a very nice small hotel and the rooms are large.

We love the Orient Bay area, with the village center just 100 yards walk. 5 or 6 restaurants, a convenience store (with awesome fresh Baguettes), and a large grocery store just 5 minutes drive back towards Grand Case. 10 minutes walk on the beach to Club Orient. The location couldn’t be better. At night, there’s usually one or more beach bars that has something going. Since the beach isn’t overcrowded, at night the beach bars don’t have enough business to all stay open so they alternate who’s open, you just have to ask at the bars in the daytime to know who’s open each night.

More specific about the hotel, the pool is clean and well maintained. The have a small bar/breakfast area around the pool which is simply wonderful if you don’t feel like walking to the beach. Everything is as well maintained as constant wind blown salty air will allow. Just about everything rusts in a year or two, including the refrigerators, what can you do short of throwing them out every two years? The grounds are lush with local vegetation and well maintained too. OK, a few chameleons running around and occasion bug or snail. I guess one could spray insecticide endlessly to be ride of them. We choose to tolerate a few bugs. OFF with deet is always good for the ankles anyway because sand flees are prevalent on any Caribbean island. So are a few mosquitoes, but nothing like we’re accustomed to in the hinterland of Wisconsin!

In regards to security that other’s have mentioned, as any traveler should do, don’t let your guard down! Compared to other islands or tourist areas we’ve visited, Orient Bay is safe BUT, you can’t always assume it’s paradise in all ways. We asked one of the owners (Cécile, she owns several of the rooms under OrientBayLodge dot com) about recent security issues. She told us they are working on the repair of several lights around the parking area that have been out for sometime. She was confident proper lighting will push a few derelict local teens back home to play video games instead of bothering guests. Also, being a smaller hotel, they simply can’t afford to keep someone at the front desk 24 hours per day. Ask for a managers cell number if you think you might need help in off hours. They’ve always been happy to give one.

Room Tip: Top level 'superior' rooms have a better view and we like the roominess of the vaulted ceili...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Palm Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palm Court Hotel

Address: Parc de la Baie Orientale, Orient Bay 97150, St Maarten-St Martin
Location: Caribbean > St Maarten-St Martin > Saint-Martin > Orient Bay
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 hotels in Orient Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Palm Court Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palm Court is situated in Orient Bay, just two minutes walk from the beach and all local amenities. Orient Beach is on the windward side of the island, so the hotel is blessed with the cooling Caribbean trade winds for most of the year. The breeze not only keeps the temperatures comfortable, but also provides ideal conditions for watersports such as windsurfing and kitesurfing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and HostelBookers so you can book your Palm Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palm Court Orient Bay
Hotel Palm Court

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palm Court Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.