We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous in Orient Bay!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Palm Court Hotel

Save Saved
You added Palm Court Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Palm Court Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Parc de la Baie Orientale, Orient Bay 97150, St Maarten-St Martin   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 6 hotels in Orient Bay
Harlingen
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Fabulous in Orient Bay!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

Our first trip to St Martin and we chose the Palm Court Hotel because of location and the great reviews on TripAdvisor. The staff was VERY friendly and beyond accomodating! We arrived at the Palm Court very late (after reception hours) but Alex was very sweet and made arrangements for us to check-in on our own. Alex was also very nice to email me driving directions before we arrived and she even reserved an excursion for us to Prickly Pear on board the Winner Touch (also highly recommend).The breakfast at the hotel is included with your stay and they offer a good variety of breads & fruits, etc. and it's a great opportunity to meet the other guests at the hotel. In the afternoon, they offer cocktails and crepes for purchase - - we enjoyed stopping in for a quick drink on our way in from the beach. The location of this hotel is GREAT!! It's slightly hidden, but it's literally a 2 minute walk to Orient Village and a 3 minute walk to Orient Beach. The grounds of the hotel are beautifully kept - wonderful trees and plants everywhere. As it was our first trip, we weren't sure whether we should worry about safety and crime, but we always felt very safe in Orient Village and at The Palm Court Hotel - the hotel and parking lot are gated (one of the few gated hotels in Orient). We loved St Martin and we will definitely be back! And, we will definitely stay at the Palm Court Hotel again!! Just FYI - if you're a big resort kind of person - this is not the hotel for you.

Room Tip: The second floor offers a nice breeze and view from your balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    89
    50
    9
    5
    5
See reviews for
14
105
10
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Hartford, Connecticut
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2012

The staff at Palm Court can't be beat. From Alexandra in the reception area, to Judine in the hospitality area, to the chambermaids, the staff is friendly, helpful and efficient. This is the fourth year that my husband and I have stayed at Palm Court and we will stay there again next year.
The proximity to Orient Beach,with free chairs and umbrellas provided at Wakiki Beach, is terrific, and easy access to local markets and restaurants make the location of Palm Court ideal. The morning breakfasts and afternoon crepes served by Judine are "icing on the cake."

Room Tip: The second floor rooms offer more light and more privacy, but if you need handicap access, choose th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Top Contributor
233 reviews 233 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012 via mobile

Our fist full week stay at the Palm. Private gated property with lush gardens and wild life. Very well maintained. The bright colors get little annoying after a few days. Although the room was generally very clean we had bugs in our bed the first night and got ate up under the sheets. They changed all bed and it was better afterwards.

You can't enjoy the balcony very much because of the tiny bugs with the big bite you never see. No screen door to enjoy the breeze.

Negatives

1. 90 percent French TV, so don't expect to relax in evening by the Telly . Poor reception on abc channel.
2. Beach chairs are in a poor location relative to best beach spots. Skip them and pay $15 at Kakao the best food overall and service on the beach.
3. Large Average bed, not extremely comfortable. No comfortable chair or couch in the room.

Positives

1. Good location. Short walk to village and beach.
2. Nice breakfast with fresh boiled eggs, fruit and assorted breads.
3. Pool bar nice place to relax after day at the beach for few drinks.
4. Lots hot water good water pressure. Air conditioning worked well.
5. Well maintained facility.

Will we come back, maybe? In October we plan to stay at Grand Case Beach Club and drive to Orient. Palm does not compare to GCBC. Better than Alamanda.

Overall most will find it a satisfactory place to stay. Nice staff and no hassles.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

We recently spent 5 nights in mid-April 2012 and could not have chosen a better location or found a more friendly staff. Clean, spacious, and secure accommodations which are located only a 2 minute walk from the Waikiki Beach area made this very convenient. There are multiple restaurants and beach bars within walking distance only minutes away or you can take a short ride to Grand Case for even more selections. The hotel offers a great breakfast and a happy hour around the pool in the afternoon. Alex and her staff could not be more accommodating to include "poopie" the hotel mascot. We would return again without question.

Room Tip: 2nd or 3rd floor provides a better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2012

We stayed here for a week at the end of January. We've stayed previously at Le Grand Blue and Grand Case Beach Club. I'd rate Palm Court above both.

Liked

-The free breakfast was great! Plain and chocolate croissants, fresh bread, cheese, hard boiled eggs, cereal, fresh juice and fruit are complimentary and served on a nice patio overlooking the pool. It also gives you an opportunity to meet the hotel's other guests.
-Rooms are clean and updated. However, the bright red color of the walls and moroccan themed decoration don't feel very Caribbean.
-Reception was friendly and helpful. They even helped me sort a rental car issue.
-Only two block to the beach and the hotel's central location mean you're very close to Orient Village where you can find shopping and restaurants (we liked the pizza at safari cafe).
-Given its central location I was surprised at how quiet our room was. We were on the second floor closer to reception. All rooms overlook the pool. The hotel consists of several (four I think) A frame buildings with several units on the first and second floors and only one unit on the third floor. Some of the third floor units may have ocean views. First floor rooms are likely quite dark.
-The bed was comfortable. Not too hard.

Not So Much
-By American standards the water pressure of the shower is poor.
-No screen door on the balcony door means you have to run the AC constantly and can't enjoy the breeze.
-Hotel guests receive complimentary access to beach chairs and a charge card at Waikiki Beach. It's a walk down the beach from the hotel. It would have access to multiple beach clubs. Especially as Waikiki' beach chairs/umbrellas look a bit tired compared to others and their food is a B-. Also, Waikiki does a huge business with cruise ships. Stay away from the reserved section of chairs that they rope off. Finally, it's a tradition of ours to enjoy a bottle of champagne on the beach on the last day of Caribbean trips. The folks at Waikiki hassled us about this as we brought our own bottle rather than purchasing one from them. I'm not sure what arrangement PC has with Waikiki, but my expectation is that part of what you're buying with your hotel booking is a beach chair and umbrella. However, at Waikiki your beach chair feels more like a chair at a restaurant. Technically it doesn't cost anything to sit in the chair but the expectation is you'll order food and drinks.

This may go without saying, but I'd be wary of coming here with children. I didn't see any staying at Palm Court while we were there. Also, our first night in Orient Beach we went for a drink at the Bikini Beach bar where we witnessed a group of swingers doing nude body shots on the bar. We later discovered that they were staying at PC.

Tips

Le Pressoir was the best meal we had in St Martin by far. Le Astrolabe was good. I would not return to Tastevin. The hike to Pic Paradis is great. Do a dive with Octopus. We and several of our friends have done discovery dives and everyone loved it. Go to Blue Martini in Grand Case especially on Thursday to see Dreadi. Calmos and the LoLos are also great places to eat.

Room Tip: I would ask for something closer to reception (farthest away from the parking lot) and avoid rooms o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2012

Adorable hotel, good enough to meet anyones expectancies in Orient Bay. Orient Bay is not for everyone but will suite most people, and so will this hotel.

I loved the details, the spicey scents in the room, in the bathroom. The staff was very nice and helpfull. Alexandra from the reception was adorable and always willing to help!

Honestly it is the perfect hotel in orient bay, close to the beach, super calm, relaxing, clean spacious rooms. I have absolutely no complaints!!

Parc de la baie orientale is a wonderful gated residential area.

Room Tip: No views, so any room is good. All rooms have pool view. They are not noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2012

My husband and I recently spent five nights here. Clean, secure and well-maintained property. One block walk to Orient Village, two blocks to the beach.
We met several repeat guests. Last trip we had stayed at Alamanda, but Palm Court is better quality, service and price. We would definitely choose Palm Court next trip.

At night you can visit restaurants in Orient Village. We like Le Piment and Safari in the village and Bikini Beach is also right nearby for good food and drinks day or night until around 930 or 10. Another option is to take a short drive or taxi ride ($15 each way) to Grand Case for many restaurants and a few places to hang out at night for drinks (such as Calmos, Zen or Pirate).

It was great to be so close to Orient Beach. PC provides a pass for free chairs and umbrella at Waikiki Beach but we prefer some of the other options along the beach to rent chairs and umbrella ($15 or so).

Palm Court is definitely a great choice if you want to spend your days on Orient Beach.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Palm Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palm Court Hotel

Address: Parc de la Baie Orientale, Orient Bay 97150, St Maarten-St Martin
Location: Caribbean > St Maarten-St Martin > Saint-Martin > Orient Bay
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 hotels in Orient Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Palm Court Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palm Court is situated in Orient Bay, just two minutes walk from the beach and all local amenities. Orient Beach is on the windward side of the island, so the hotel is blessed with the cooling Caribbean trade winds for most of the year. The breeze not only keeps the temperatures comfortable, but also provides ideal conditions for watersports such as windsurfing and kitesurfing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Tingo, Expedia, Travelocity, HostelBookers, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Palm Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palm Court Orient Bay
Hotel Palm Court

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palm Court Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.