We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best value on Orient” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Palm Court Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Palm Court Hotel to your Saves list
Palm Court Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Parc de la Baie Orientale, Orient Bay 97150, St Maarten-St Martin   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Orient Bay
Indianapolis, Indiana
Top Contributor
242 reviews 242 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
“Best value on Orient”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2012 via mobile

Stayed on Orient many times over last 5 years and the Palm may well be the best overall place to stay. Nothing fancy just nice people, peaceful setting and clean. Gated entrance for a secure feeling. Not that we have ever had security problems ever on Orient. We never leave anything in the rental car . No room anyway in the tiny rental cars.

We have typically stayed at the Alamanda because of it's perfect location across from the beach. The last several visits were disappointing there due to maintenance issues, mold in restroom and lack of room updates. And did I mention the hard bed. So on our visit to Grand Case we got a tour of Palm and will stay here in spring of 2012. This place has much nicer rooms. And the security features are nice. Rooms little more like a small condo than smallish rooms at Alamanda. Do yourself a favor stay here and rent a car. If can't handle the health benefits of the 5-10 min walk to beach take the car . Stock up on food and goodies at new food mart on short ride to Grand Case. Definitely explore the delights of whole island and eat in Grand Case. Although little more expensive the restaurants in Orient Village are all excellent choices. Drop the inhibitions and enjoy the many places to party eat and drink at the Carabeans most popular beach.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    51
    9
    5
    4
See reviews for
16
105
11
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2012

We had a layover in St.Maarten and decided to drive to Orient Bay for an overnight. The palm Court was perfect. 5 minutes walk to the Orient beach. Nice garden with decent pool. Fenced property. Secure parking. Large rooms in 3 storey buildings well appointed. Looks like the property is extremely well maintained compared to the rest of the island. You either have a balcony or a garden terrace but each has its own chaise-longue etc...overall very comfortable.
We saw other properties around but most of them offer bungalows type of construction and more far away from the beach.
Breakfast is by the pool which is nice. Wifi through out the property is free. I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2012

Stayed for a week between Xmas and New Years. Large and comfortable rooms. Just a few minutes walk to the beach (mostly along a path - no shoes needed). But it was much better than being on the beach itself. Rooms had absolutely no musty beach smell or rust, which you'd usually see on beach properties. And there was good privacy plus security, since the entire property is gated.
Fantastic maid service and breakfast staff! The included breakfast is continental plus eggs that you are welcome to boil. Having them cook eggs or bacon is extra.
Only one drawback that apparently has never been a problem except for my family - the hotel's arrangements for free beach chairs and umbrella are from a certain beach restaurant, and if you don't order their lunch and lots of drinks, they become angry. But you can always walk a few feet to a different spot and find inexpensive chairs to rent.
Make sure you contact the hotel before your day of arrival, since the front lobby is not staffed 24x7 and you'll certainly want to get entry to the hotel when you arrive. Also, there is no concierge, but there are brochures and the hotel staff can give you recommendations.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2011

Lovely proprietress, comfy & clean rooms, great privacy.
Easy walk to beach and shops/restaurants.
Island is only 5 miles x 5 miles so easy by rental car. Be careful parking in Phillipsburg - we got our car towed but police very polite.
Take insect repellent as we got more itchy bites here than multiple other Caribbean vacations.
We took US dollars and Canadian credit card - no need for Euros.
If you like airplanes then definitely spend an hour at Maho beach in front of the runway - unbelievable site to see a 747 come right at your head for landing but beware the jet blasts!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
192 helpful votes 192 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2011

Stayed for 2 nights at Palm Court right after Thanksgiving (then when on to St Barts for 4 more nights) and generally agree with most of the reviews posted here. Spacious room, quiet, secure, and a short 2-5 minute walk to Orient Beach. We showed up at Waikiki Beach and enjoyed the morning before heading over to Maho to watch the planes fly over our heads on our only full day on the island (big jets land from about 1 to 4P). Staff at Waikiki brought over a table, opened the umbrella etc...but didn't take our privilege card..and wasn't until a week later did we realize "oh, they knew we were from Palm Court because of the towel color!" But I digress.... Finding the place was a bit of a challenge (ended up over at Club Orient and taking the "back road") but from the reviews we sort of expected that and chalked it up to the whole experience. Wifi did not work in the room but it did by the pool and in the lobby. Stocked up on beer, wine, rum, cheese, meats etc. at the US Market not far from Orient Village, and stuffed much of it into a soft-sided cooler for the beach (staff at Waikiki appeared to care less). Ate both nights at the Lolo's in Grand Case (planned to do a Lolo one night and a nicer dinner in Grand Case or in the Village the following, but we enjoyed the casual and cheap atmosphere of the Lolo's so we ate there both nights). The one surprise was both my wife and I were underwhelmed with Orient Beach - much more "touristy" than we expected, I guess. We likened it to Panama City Beach less the highrises and French influenced swimwear (to put it into perspective we *like* PCB and the North Walton beaches...and since those are driveable from where we live, we'll go there for a family beach fix).. St Barts was a 10 minute flight and a completely different atmosphere and story, but that's a seperate review......

If you are a big "hotel service" person or "Las Vegas Mega-Pool" type person Palm Court is not for you. If you tend to be more self-sufficient and want a clean, comfortable, convenient place to stay in Orient Village near (but not on) the beach and only a 5 minute drive or so from Grand Case it probably is. Also, have to throw a shout-out to Unity Car Rental - great rates, the car was nice, and no problems on pickup or dropoff.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old Greenwich, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2011

If you are looking for a quiet place to stay that provides easy access to Orient Beach, I recommend Palm court, If the need for full hotel amenties are required, then look elsewhere. One of the best features were the beds, which I found to be some of the most comfortable in all the places I have stayed. They include free access to Waikiki beach and all charges are transferred back to the hotel so no need to have cash at the beach unless you plan on venturing to other beach bars. The hotel is about a 2 minute walk to the beach which we found to be perfect since Orient Bay sits on the Carribbean sea and the wind in Dec is pretty intense. It's about a 25 minute ride from the airport but with only one main road, you have to give yourself additional time. We found in Dec we were heading to Grand Case and Simpson Bay for dinner as it varied on which places were open in and around Orient Bay. Overall, if sitting at the beach and partaking in kitesurfing, parasailing, etc... are what you are looking for, then Palm Court Hotel offers a great value in a great location.

Room Tip: Rooms in the 14-21 group are away from the pool and provide more privacy, especially if on the first...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Intelectual en el mundo
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2011

Stayed there from December 16th to December 20th, 2011, with my son. The room was clean and well furnished, air-conditioned, with a view to the garden, on the first floor. Service was prompt and courteous. Breakfast by the pool was included with baguette, croissants, fresh fruit and juice, hard-boiled or poached eggs, cereal, milk, coffee or tea. This hotel is not on the beach, you walk five minutes through a pleasant neighborhood and get to the beach. This time of the year it could get quite windy and the waves were high. My son went parasailing. The restaurants nearby are very good, they offer French and Italian food. You can eat lunch or dinner at a restaurant or heat up something in the room for it has a microwave and refrigerator, and kitchen utensils. We chose to go out in the evening and try the different restaurants nearby. Overall it was a pleasant experience.

Room Tip: If you do not like climbing stairs ask for a room on the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Palm Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palm Court Hotel

Address: Parc de la Baie Orientale, Orient Bay 97150, St Maarten-St Martin
Location: Caribbean > St Maarten-St Martin > Saint-Martin > Orient Bay
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Orient Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Palm Court Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palm Court is situated in Orient Bay, just two minutes walk from the beach and all local amenities. Orient Beach is on the windward side of the island, so the hotel is blessed with the cooling Caribbean trade winds for most of the year. The breeze not only keeps the temperatures comfortable, but also provides ideal conditions for watersports such as windsurfing and kitesurfing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, HostelWorld, HostelBookers and Tingo so you can book your Palm Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palm Court Orient Bay
Hotel Palm Court

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palm Court Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.