We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kakao - One of the better restaurants for lunch on Orient Beach” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kakao Beach Restaurant and Bar

Kakao Beach Restaurant and Bar
Plage de la baie Orientale, Orient Bay, St Maarten-St Martin
+1 059-087-4326
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 31 Restaurants in Orient Bay
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Dans ce cadre privilegie, le RESTAURANT vous offre un horizon sur la baie orientale et l'ile de Tintamarre et Cay Verte avec ses tables dans un jardin tropical toutes faces a la mer...Ici, vous pourrez restaurer ou simplement vous desalterer a l'ombre d'une paillote, le regard perdu devant ce spectacle de pure quietude, les doigts de pieds en eventail sur un transat, berces par un fond de musique.Le cadre y est soigne et discret avec sa deco tout en bois.Dans un environnement de verdure luxuriante.Beach bar / restaurant / massage / boutique / wifi gratuite pour nos clients !
Akron, Ohio
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Kakao - One of the better restaurants for lunch on Orient Beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

Atmosphere is wonderful. Small Palapa type tables, great Sancierre wine. Julian is a great waiter. The Tuna, salmon, octopus tartar dish with seaweed and tuna slices is great. A great value. Just leave a lot of time for lunch , they are not in a hurry. It feels like fine dining in a bathing suit on sand.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    136
    86
    17
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newtown, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Good but pricey”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

We regularly go to Kakao when we visit St Martin. We love it- the chairs, view, and service are great. We eat on the beach, and end up with salads and paninis. Food is always good, but end of the day it is pretty expensive for beach.
Service is always excellent and the same servers are there year after year!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hope, Pennsylvania, United States
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Doesn't get better then this!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014 via mobile

We are there almost ever day when in St Maarten.Paradise under the Sun. Words cannot describe the joy and peace we feel here.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
virginia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“A great place to chill!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

We love Kakao. We usually hang out there at least one or two days when we are in St. Martin but this time we were there 4 days. We love the great service. The bartender is great and the food is very good and affordable. Looking forward to going back!

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noblesville, Indiana
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“The most elegant lunch on the beach!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

Kakao Beach, true to its roots as a French restaurant, is not at ALL what you'd expect on the beach. Picnic tables with beautiful yellow canopies, sandy feet, bathing suits--yes. But also bottles of wine, fish specials, calamari, shrimp in wine sauce. For real! It's pricy but awesome.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kakao Beach Restaurant and Bar also viewed

Orient Bay, Saint-Martin
Orient Bay, Saint-Martin
 
Orient Bay, Saint-Martin
Orient Bay, Saint-Martin
 

Been to Kakao Beach Restaurant and Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kakao Beach Restaurant and Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.