We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of our favorite places to hang on Orient Beach” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kakao Beach Restaurant and Bar

Kakao Beach Restaurant and Bar
Plage de la baie Orientale, Orient Bay, St Maarten-St Martin
+1 059-087-4326
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 31 Restaurants in Orient Bay
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Dans ce cadre privilegie, le RESTAURANT vous offre un horizon sur la baie orientale et l'ile de Tintamarre et Cay Verte avec ses tables dans un jardin tropical toutes faces a la mer...Ici, vous pourrez restaurer ou simplement vous desalterer a l'ombre d'une paillote, le regard perdu devant ce spectacle de pure quietude, les doigts de pieds en eventail sur un transat, berces par un fond de musique.Le cadre y est soigne et discret avec sa deco tout en bois.Dans un environnement de verdure luxuriante.Beach bar / restaurant / massage / boutique / wifi gratuite pour nos clients !
Vail, Arizona
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“One of our favorite places to hang on Orient Beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

We recently stayed for two weeks in Orient Village. We loved spending all day in our beach chairs and letting sand gravity take hold. The staff here is very friendly and take good care of you. The food is very good, we enjoyed the calamari several times. Chairs and umbrella will run you $20 for the day. You can go cheaper down the beach but chairs are squished together and bathroom situation would not be as good. Would go back in a heartbeat and probably will.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    136
    86
    17
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Deerfield, Illinois
1 review
“Lobster Galore”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

My wife and I cruise every year and stop for a beach lobster lunch. Kakao had the best lobster we've had in years. We had 2 3 pound lobsters that were tender, grilled with 3 different sauces. Price a little steep at $292, but when on vacation anything goes. Wonderful. The only draw back was the arrogant bartender on the beach. Will avoid him next year as we come back for more lobster and comfortable beach chairs.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Love this place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

The food and drinks and beach chairs are fantastic. We love it here and return year after year. The paninis, salads, and seafood and meat platters are all great. We love Cedric and Nico who work there - couldn't be nicer or more accommodating. Just wish they would get rid of that totally obnoxious guy who handles the beach chairs (overweight guy with a greying ponytail). He couldn't be ruder if he tried - it's amazing to me that they keep him there. He's terrible for business. Don't let him stop you from coming though - just avoid him at all costs and be prepared that he may yell at you for no reason (happens every year).

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, Tennessee
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Shore excursion stop on Royal Caribbean”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

While on a Royal Caribbean cruise, we opted for a shore excursion to Orient a Beach that included lunch at this restaurant. The restaurant is open air, right on Orient Beach. Scenery is stunning and food was delicious. We had our choice of fish, ribs or chicken. My husband chose the fish, which I think was Mahi Mahi served with cream sauce and rice. He still thinks it was the best meal of our vacation. I chose the ribs with baked potato....a little dry for my taste but ample serving and good service. If you are on or near Orient Beach, this would be a perfect place for lunch or drinks or both. Very laid back with surprisingly good food.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia, United States
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great food, great service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

Whether you are going to eat or just to have a few drinks at GP's Bar, you're sure to find a great time with great people!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kakao Beach Restaurant and Bar also viewed

Orient Bay, Saint-Martin
Orient Bay, Saint-Martin
 
Orient Bay, Saint-Martin
Orient Bay, Saint-Martin
 

Been to Kakao Beach Restaurant and Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kakao Beach Restaurant and Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.