We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Beach Front” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kakao Beach Restaurant and Bar

Kakao Beach Restaurant and Bar
Plage de la baie Orientale, Orient Bay, St Maarten-St Martin
+1 059-087-4326
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 31 Restaurants in Orient Bay
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Dans ce cadre privilegie, le RESTAURANT vous offre un horizon sur la baie orientale et l'ile de Tintamarre et Cay Verte avec ses tables dans un jardin tropical toutes faces a la mer...Ici, vous pourrez restaurer ou simplement vous desalterer a l'ombre d'une paillote, le regard perdu devant ce spectacle de pure quietude, les doigts de pieds en eventail sur un transat, berces par un fond de musique.Le cadre y est soigne et discret avec sa deco tout en bois.Dans un environnement de verdure luxuriante.Beach bar / restaurant / massage / boutique / wifi gratuite pour nos clients !
Fulton, Maryland
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Nice Beach Front”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

I did a tour of the island and this is where they dropped us off for lunch. We were quickly seated. They have set up on the beach overlooking a beautiful white sand beach. The service was ok. I had a hamburger and fries. It was over $20 with a drink.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    136
    86
    17
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“We came every day for a week! Five Stars guys”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

We've been coming here for the beach, the service, the friendliness and the food for many years. Although we stay at Flamingo on the Dutch side, we drive over every day and reserve a table for lunch. Be prepared to spend $100 for lunch for 2 with wine... it's well worth it.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Kakao Beach Restaurant and Bar”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2013

the food was good but the service was not so great. We just happen to be there on a very windy day and the flaps at the table had to be let down, otherwise we enjoyed ourselves.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owings, Maryland
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“My go to place in St. Maartens”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

Every time I take a cruise to St. Maarten I come to Kakao Beach. I get off the ship and walk through the port to the taxi stand. Jump in a cab (if possible jump in with other people, its cheaper). They usually wind up dropping us off at the "nude" end of the beach, but since I go so early I don't really get an eye full ;) ........If you head left down the beach just a little ways, you'll see the blue umbrellas and chairs. Just pick your chair and a really nice and usually really cute French boy will come by and collect your $20 for two chairs and an umbrella. Not a bad price for the day. They will come by and take drink and food orders or you can go into the restaurant and relax. The food is good and reasonably priced. The staff is always friendly and year after year I have seen the same people working there. There are a couple bars, restaurant and gift shop. They have bathrooms and showers. And when you are done for the day just walk out toward the parking lot and there will be plenty of cabs waiting to take you back to the port or drop you off downtown where you can grab a water taxi back to the ship. Just an FYI if you have never been to Orient Beach... since it is on the French side.... the last I knew up until 10:30 or so in the morning complete nudity is allowed on the entire beach. After that just topless is allowed.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wallingford, Connecticut, Usa
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“AWESOME !!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

First of all the beach is probably the best you will ever set your feet on. Everyone on the staff from the bartender to the beach waiters make every day amazing. Food from the restuarant is great and the outside beach bar is a must with the happiest of all bartenders to serve you. Pure Island perfection.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kakao Beach Restaurant and Bar also viewed

Orient Bay, Saint-Martin
Orient Bay, Saint-Martin
 
Orient Bay, Saint-Martin
Orient Bay, Saint-Martin
 

Been to Kakao Beach Restaurant and Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kakao Beach Restaurant and Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.