We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best on Orient” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kakao Beach Restaurant and Bar

Kakao Beach Restaurant and Bar
Plage de la baie Orientale, Orient Bay, St Maarten-St Martin
+1 059-087-4326
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 28 Restaurants in Orient Bay
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Description: Dans ce cadre privilegie, le RESTAURANT vous offre un horizon sur la baie orientale et l'ile de Tintamarre et Cay Verte avec ses tables dans un jardin tropical toutes faces a la mer...Ici, vous pourrez restaurer ou simplement vous desalterer a l'ombre d'une paillote, le regard perdu devant ce spectacle de pure quietude, les doigts de pieds en eventail sur un transat, berces par un fond de musique.Le cadre y est soigne et discret avec sa deco tout en bois.Dans un environnement de verdure luxuriante.Beach bar / restaurant / massage / boutique / wifi gratuite pour nos clients !
New Bern, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“The Best on Orient”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

We spend three weeks every year in St. Maarten, and spend most of our beach days at Kakao on Orient. Not only is the beach staff the best, but the restaurant is also exceptional. When we are there, we generally have our main meal midday, and are usually still stuffed that evening. Their specials are delicious and perfectly prepared; get there on Saturday for the freshest and most flavorful fish ever! Kakao is much more than a beach bar; it is a fine French restaurant that just happens to be located on a beautiful beach.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    104
    63
    12
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
White Lake, Michigan
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Best pizza on the beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012 via mobile

If you are looking for a nice lunch on the beach, stop in Kakao! Their calabrese pizza is delicious!! Super thin, but so tasty. My fiancé & I split a Caesar salad & calabrese & we are stuffed! (We've tried the stuffed mussels too, very good!)

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holden, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Just keep coming back!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

First time at Kakao I was alone on a cruise excursion. Ok by me, my friends wanted to shop and since I had previously experienced the joy of Orient though this was a good way to go on my own.

Coming back with my husband ever since.

Why? Service is great! Personable and yet efficient. Facilities are clean. Food is great for a beach restaurant . Snack bar so so.

Mostly it's the staff and feeling of safety. We rent our chairs and leave our towels at lunch to explore grand case or eat at our condo...when we do we think nothing of leaving our towels and beach gear. W come back ans wind down till the beach closes.

We met many other regulars who feel the same way.

Karl, Nicholas, Cedric and Joel are wonderful!

The beach can't be beat and the chairs are comfy and well kept!

Dawn and Jim

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“a surprise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

had the cesear salad with grilled shrimp, very good.
drinks cold, on Orient beach, could not be better!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Top Contributor
262 reviews 262 reviews
219 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
130 helpful votes 130 helpful votes
“Best Experence on the beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012 via mobile

This was our 4th consecutive bi- yearly visit to Orient Bay with rental of chairs at Kakao. We have eaten at every resturant on the beach and Kakao is exceptionally consistent with quality and service. This is the choice of the local residents when they visit the beach. All the food is exceptional especially the burgers and pizza. Great egg rolls and wonderful salads. We eat here for lunch over 50% of the time we are on the beach.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kakao Beach Restaurant and Bar also viewed

Orient Bay, Saint-Martin
Orient Bay, Saint-Martin
 
Orient Bay, Saint-Martin
Orient Bay, Saint-Martin
 

Been to Kakao Beach Restaurant and Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kakao Beach Restaurant and Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.