We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprise! Lets not do it your way” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Le Piment

Le Piment
Place du Village | Place du Village Baie Orientale, Orient Bay 97150, St Maarten-St Martin
05 90 52 43 12
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 32 Restaurants in Orient Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Families with children, Doing business, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
36 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Surprise! Lets not do it your way”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

Trip Adviser gives this want to be French restaurant a rating! Well it's an over glorified Pizza place that wants despritly to be a French restaurant. Menues have only pizzas on it. It's night time Menu is on a chalk board. Well lets get to it. Three bottles of flat water very cold perfectly prepared! No appetizer all salads! Not interested. So straight to a good meal or so I thought. I ordered lamb chops well done. My wife beef tenderloin medium well. My sons ordered ribeye steak and duck. My son wanted the duck well done the waiter said no medium we said no well done. It came out medium. My lamb chops medium. No flaver, fat not trimmed well enough. Tenderloin well can you say bloody and could bounce it off the floor! Side salad on the plates was for Rabits. Only thing done good was the ribeye! Lucky them how can you mess up a steak.

You want pizza I'm sure they make it very nice! You want a meal run the other way! Any wAy. Lots of other places to eat and spend your money. Done waist your time?

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

437 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    292
    107
    23
    10
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Over-rated?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

We were told good things about Le Piment, but were not impressed. The seafood pasta needed more sauce, and the seafood was dry and very limited. We recommend you try Le Table d’Antoinne.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Le Piment continues to awe!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

We have eaten at le Piment at least once during each trip for the last 3 years. This year we had a delicious antipasta and meatballs provencale. Delicious! The meatballs entree was a french country dish based. The creme brulee was also fantastic. Down to the olive tapenade on the antipasta, everything is made fresh.

They probably do need more help but it is worth the wait to hear the hostess (who I think is one of the owners) describe the list of foods off of the chalkboard. She is animated and makes every dish sound like something you will want....and when you try them... you will!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Level Contributor
148 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Good food, good service.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

We wandered into Le Piment while looking at the Orient Bay restaurants. The young woman was very persuasive and praised the chef so highly, we thought it worth a try. She was right. The herb rolls were extremely good. I chose a pasta with mussels, shrimp, and fish which was quite good. One of our group had a pizza, three had beef, and another had fish and everyone enjoyed their meal. The wines are fairly reasonable in price. You will want a doggy bag to carry the rest home as the servings are generous.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“The best!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013 via mobile

Every year we come to St. Maarten, we go to Le Piment several times and not once have we been disappointed. The food is always wonderful and beautifully presented!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Piment also viewed

Orient Bay, Saint-Martin
Orient Bay, Saint-Martin
 
Orient Bay, Saint-Martin
Orient Bay, Saint-Martin
 

Been to Le Piment? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Piment, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.