We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Hotel & Staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of L'Hoste Hotel

Save Saved
You added L'Hoste Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
L'Hoste Hotel
116 Baie Orientale | BP 5146, Orient Bay 97071, St Maarten-St Martin   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 6 hotels in Orient Bay
Mississauga, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful Hotel & Staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

Just spent another vacation at L'Hoste Hotel and had a great time.
Katy and staff were all so nice. They were always eager to assist in any way.
We enjoyed the continental breakfast and free chairs/umbrellas on the most beautiful beach.
The welcome drinks and coupons for wine at the local restaurants in Orient Village were a fantastic bonus.
Already starting to plan our next trip to St.Martin and we will definitely return to L'Hoste.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

312 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    79
    137
    49
    30
    17
See reviews for
51
164
15
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oakdale, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

We stayed at the L'Hoste for one night during our 7 night stay on the island. We had come from a larger, busier hotel so the change was nice. The hotel was clean and the rooms were a good size. There is an attached restaurant that offers continental breakfast which was convenient. The beach is amazing and there were umbrellas and chairs that you get to use courtesy of the hotel. Overall we enjoyed the stay and service we received and would stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brantford
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

This was our 5th time to St Marten but our first time at L 'Hoste. I was very impressed when we first got there the staff was very friendly and welcoming.
Our room was big, clean and we had a partial view of the ocean.. we were also upgraded when we arrived. Our room was steps to the beach and breakfast was served right on the beach.
The breakfast they serve was all you really needed, French bread, croissants, fruit, cereal, yogurt and coffee. If you feel like having more for breakfast there is lots to choose from on the menu for a nominal fee.
You can also get a few things at the store in the village for lunches and snacks and keep them in your room. We always went to the Village for dinner and were never disappointed, the food is wonderful.
The pool was great not too busy and it was always clean with plenty of lounge chairs there and on the beach.
There is nothing like being right on Orient Beach.. We stayed other places on the island but we always drove to Orient Beach so we decided to try a hotel there!
We didn't rent a car this time and just took taxis (John was our taxi driver we just kept his card and called when we wanted to go somewhere) there is also shuttles offered by the hotel for Mardi Gras, Phillipsburg and Marigot.
Talking to different couples at the resort we learned that most have come back to L Hoste several times year after year.
L' Hoste is not a Hilton so if you want frills and turn down service this isn't for you but if you want an affordable holiday on the most beautiful island in the carribean then this hotel gives you that. I can say that I am somewhat of a hotel snob but we were so happy that we decided to stay at L'Hoste.
We would definitely return to L'Hoste when we visit St Martin again!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toms River, New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

My husband and I have stayed there 7 times....The rooms are basic but clean. The staff is wonderful and Continental Breakfast steps from the Beach cannot be beat. Location, location, location on one of the most Beautiful beaches on the Island. The lunch served at their restaurant La Playa has always been perfect. There is a lovely pool to cool off in at the end of our day and the new lounge chairs on the beach are very comfortable. Of course, many wonderful gourmet restaurants to choose from on this lovely beach. Will not disappoint.

Room Tip: We enjoy staying on the 2nd Floor so we don't have to worry about locking the sliding glass door...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Ynez, California
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

L'Hoste is right on the water in Orient Bay even though there are no ocean view rooms. The staff is very friendly and helpful. It looks like there have some recent renovations as our guest room was nicely done, but the bathroom was very dated. Nicely equipped with a fridge and small stovetop to cook on as well as a safe. At checkin they give out coupons for free glasses of wine in nearby restaurants and we took full advantage of that and found the restaurants to be excellent. It was also nice to jump in the pool after a hot day on the beach. A quick walk to La Playa Beach Bar and the free beach chairs made our trip here great. The only downside was the very loud partying at one of the nearby beach bars late into the night as it made it hard to sleep.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton, Massachusetts, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

This was our 4th stay at the l'Hoste Hotel on Orient Beach. We are always very happy when we stay there. The staff is like family. We always return to find other travelers who have returned there for their umteenth visit. The hotel is located on the beautiful Orient beach. Blue skies and Bluer waters serve as the canvas for this most relaxing place to stay. It is situated on the beach, and also has a pool are for relaxing.For an additional treat, I highly recommend a massage from their spa. Ask for Freddie or Fabienne!

Breakfast is included with the room rates. We have already booked our next trip!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

I loved the L'Host hotel where I stayed on a recent trip to St. Martin. The property has a perfect location in the middle of Orient Beach. The rooms are spacious and offer everything you would need including a small fridge and a microwave. The property is close to all the activities and restaurants on Orient Beach. A great continental breakfast is included at La Playa and this includes fruit, cereal and great breakfast breads and yogurt. What a great way to wake up in the morning! Chairs and beach umbrellas are provided for guests at La Playa during the day. The staff was very friendly and helpful. L'Host offers a great value in a super location!

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Price Your Stay

Been to L'Hoste Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Hoste Hotel

Address: 116 Baie Orientale | BP 5146, Orient Bay 97071, St Maarten-St Martin
Location: Caribbean > St Maarten-St Martin > Saint-Martin > Orient Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 hotels in Orient Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Tingo, HotelsClick, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your L'Hoste Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
l Hoste Hotel Orient Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage L'Hoste Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;