We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value, French ambiance, close to Orient Beach” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Orient Bay Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Orient Bay Hotel to your Saves list
Orient Bay Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Mont Vernon I | French Cul de Sac, Orient Bay 97150, St Maarten-St Martin   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Orient Bay
Toronto
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Good value, French ambiance, close to Orient Beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2006

The hotel is just north of Orient Beach, a brisk 6-minute downhill walk (I timed it), or can drive & park.

We stayed in a 2-bedroom villa which sleeps 4 only. Combined kitchen & living area, front patio with table & 4 chairs, back patio with no furniture. Phone & satellite TV. Note: No hair dryer, & U.S. models don't work here.

One bedroom up several steps & the other on the 2nd floor, each with a double (queen?) bed & bathroom with sink & shower. One shared toilet in a closet-sized room between the bedrooms. Rooms plain but clean.

This property is on a steep hillside, so lots of steps. Grounds are attractively landscaped, free parking close to unit, two small pools, one with tables for optional breakfast. Manager is very friendly and he & many guests are French. French bakery a few minutes walk away.

Orient Beach is the island's best -- sand (not too hot), shallow, 1.5 miles long, lots of beach bars & cafes. Can rent loungers and water sports equipment. Southern one-third is nude (nudist resort there), rest is topfree but with occasional nude walkers. Round trip walk takes one hour.

Best restaurants are at Grand Case, a few minutes drive away on western side. Le Cottage Restaurant highly recommended.

Very good value and location for Orient Beach. Quiet and pleasant atmosphere with French ambiance.

  • Stayed February 2006
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    5
    2
    3
    2
See reviews for
4
5
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
ny,ny
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2006

We stayed at the oreint bay hotel during the first week of december 2005. This was our second stay there in three years.

Although we paid for Le Jardin de Chevris, the affiliated group of studios, we were actually given a duplex apartment in the orient bay hotel for the same price.

francois at reception was extremely helpful with all our needs. i did not get that anti-american, french arrogance that i have experienced at other french establishments.

the place is very basic. its good if you are looking to stay on the french side of st martin for less $$$ and looking to escape americans. it is not good if you are looking for amenities. it as extremely quiet and private.

there is a great patisserie down the road with wonderful coffee and breads, which we had for breakfast every morning. we had a great dinner on the road to the hotel at sol e luna.

feel free to write me at akazin74@yahoo.com with any questions about the hotel or st martin (been there many times)

Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2006

Just got back from one week at Orient Bay Hotel. We stayed in a two bedroom Villa which was great as we were travelling with an eight year old. It was a lot of space for the money, air conditioned and very clean and comfortable. We also found that there was always lots of parking and the gardens are very beautiful. The kitchen was well equipped and there was even a charcol bar-b-que. We ate breakfast on the terrace most mornings after a quick run down to the local bakery for fresh baguette and croissants. There are two small pools on-site and both were very well maintained. You can walk to Orient Beach in about 10 minutes and it is not a difficult walk. You can also drive to Boo-Boo Jam's and park there. We liked this end of Orient Beach as it is much less busy then the other end of the beach. Also don't forget to check out Pinel Island... it is very nice.

This property is a sister property to The Jardin de Chevrise. We spent our first night there and the rest of our stay at the Orient Bay Hotel. The Jardin's seemed fine but we really appreciated the extra space in the 2 bedroom villa.

We cannot say enough about the staff. They were very friendly and helped us arrange a great sailboat tour. When we arrived there was a delicous bottle of local rum punch and juice to go with it... just what you need when you get off the plane!

  • Stayed January 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2004

We arrived in late October 2003. I can say the place is charming, clean, and good service. It was as described. I must say that its about a 10-minute walk to the beach, Orient Beach, and not "on the beach" as some would believe. That didn't matter, because we rented a car (which they arranged for us, $200 for the week) and drove to all the beaches.

The room was nice, a villa. Not luxury, but that's what we wanted. It was clean and the housekeeping excellent. The staff was friendly and had lots to tell us about places to go.

It really felt like being in Europe there. I recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2003
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2004

We just got back from a week in St. Martin. We were booked at the Orient Bay Hotel. When we arrived we were told that they did not have the rooms we booked--the Mezzanine Villa-- and offered us the Studio instead. We looked at the room and it was dirty, in poor condition (broken stairs) and was located 1 block from the main hotel with a view of a broken-up parking lot. They would not even give a refund for the difference in cost! This was not a short-term substitution. It was to be for the entire 8 days of our stay. When we declined, and asked if they had arrangements with any other hotels on the island for overbooking problems the manager became angry and said that we should be satisfied with their offer. We were left to walk-in the rain-to find another hotel on our own. The pictures shown on their web site don't look anything like what we saw! I would advise anyone thinking about staying there to think twice! Also, it is not located "just steps from the beach" as advertised---it is at least a 15 to 20 minute walk down a very steep dirt path.

Was this review helpful? Yes 88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Orient Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orient Bay Hotel

Address: Mont Vernon I | French Cul de Sac, Orient Bay 97150, St Maarten-St Martin
Location: Caribbean > St Maarten-St Martin > Saint-Martin > Orient Bay
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Orient Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Orient Bay Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your Orient Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Orient Bay Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.