We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service and location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Grand Bleu

Save Saved
You added Le Grand Bleu to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Le Grand Bleu
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   115 Parc de la Baie Orientale, Orient Bay 97150, St Maarten-St Martin (Formerly Caraibes Beach Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 6 hotels in Orient Bay
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Excellent service and location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

I stayed here with my girlfriend expecting a cosy room and great location. It was exactly was we received in addition to the fantastic service. It's a 30 second walk to orient beach and a couple minutes more to the village. Gerard and Delphine who run the place are extremely friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    55
    62
    14
    10
    6
See reviews for
15
84
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Franklin Square, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed our 4 days at Le Grand Bleu!
A stone's throw from a great beach, it's also within walking distance of several nice places to eat and a short drive to the supermarket if you need to pick up a few things.
The staff was wonderful, the room was spacious and clean, the rate reasonable.
I can't wait to stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Gran Bleu for 10 days in early May 2013. We loved it! Minutes to the best beach where you can lay under an umbrella all day and enjoy the most beautiful water.
The Gran Bleu is a small condo complex ran by a couple, Gerard and Delphine. The nicest and most helpful couple ever. Delphine offered to let me ride with her to the market to get our initial supplies. Once inside the Simply Mkt., she helped me find the things I needed in the store. Really wonderful, genuine people. The condos are all basically the same on the interior. The 3rd floor condos don't share walls so I think they are a bit more private. They are like a studio with a small kitchen are with a 2 burner stove top, microwave and small fridge. If you need any other appliances..you would just ask Delphine. Ample bathroom with a shower. You get your lounge/umbrella at the beach free and they supply the beach towels.
We ate in Grand Case at Le Cottage...great wine and lovely setting.
Taste of the Town..got my vote for ribs and sides. Excellent ribs, great service and a fun place.
In Orient Beach we ate at the Italian place which I thought was very good. Had a wonderful pizza. Ate at Cote Plages..pretty good.
Ate at Le Piment..pretty good too.
The Tap Five was good for rottisiere chicken and the Simply Mkt. was all we needed for fruits, eggs, baguettes, cheese and great salad greens.
We had a relaxing stay and you can't beat Grand Bleu for location, cleanliness and the helpfulness of Gerard and Delphine.

Room Tip: We stayed in 321
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We stayed here one night before we left on a cruise, wanted to see the island and experience the French side. Check in was great, staff is multi-lingual and very helpful and friendly. Room was very clean, big, huge bed, kitchenette, nice bathroom. Very close to the beach (about 1 block walk down a path), but not right on the beach so the hotel room is private and quiet. There was free wifi near check in (on the deck).

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
near Phila.
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

I stayed here when it was known as the Cap Caraibes, then Caraibes Beach Hotel, and now Le Grand Bleu. It is just a great place to relax. The room is large, clean, and contains a kitchenette, with a small fridge. The mattress is large and comfortable. The A/C is powerful, and quiet. The price is very reasonable.

Unfortunately, the hurricane shutters were removed several years ago. There are no longer any telephones in the room, but the owner will lend you a cell phone - you will only pay for calls made. Also, they advertise free use of parasols and beach chairs. But the owner of the beach chairs and umbrellas ( not the hotel ) will chase you away, if you attempt to bring your own food or drink on to "their" beach.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

I originally chose Le Grand Bleu based on reviews from Trip Advisor. I had read many good reviews and when I arrived in St Martin was not disappointed. We stayed in a very clean and quiet room on the second floor and while we only had a sliver of an ocean view, our large balcony offered up a private feeling. Our room was large and included a little kitchen. We shopped at the nearby convenience store and enjoyed breakfast and several other meals on our balcony. Orient Beach was a very short walk from our room and once there, we enjoyed the complementary beach chairs and umbrellas. While the beach was always busy, it also was a great place to just hang out and relax. Our hosts at Le Grand Bleu were gracious, polite, and always helpful with anything we needed. We did not rent a car while on St Martin but had no problem finding really good restaurants within walking distance. And when we chose to dine in
Grand Case, the hotel arranged our taxi. Overall, a great experience. I would stay there again.

Room Tip: Third floor will give you best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yonkers, New York
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Just returned after spending (10) days here and would absolutely recommend the place to family or friend. The managers, Gerard and his wife Delphin, could not of been more courteous and hospitable. The rooms were clean and cool and quiet. The continental breakfast was more than adequate and you could have an American one if you desired. Parking was never a problem. For the cost, this place was worth it.

Room Tip: Only the 3rd floor has a view of the water if that is important to you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Le Grand Bleu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Grand Bleu

Address: 115 Parc de la Baie Orientale, Orient Bay 97150, St Maarten-St Martin (Formerly Caraibes Beach Hotel)
Location: Caribbean > St Maarten-St Martin > Saint-Martin > Orient Bay
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 hotels in Orient Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Le Grand Bleu 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Caraibes Beach Hotel (formerly Cap Caraibes Hotel), one of St. Martin’s finest beach front hotels, is directly situated on Orient Beach, most popular beach on the French side of the island. This 3 story, 35 junior suites, Mediterranean styled hotel has beautifully appointed rooms designed to suit a wide variety of tastes and features personalized attentions and services to each of his guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Tingo, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Le Grand Bleu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Grand Bleu Hotel Orient Bay
Hotel Cap Caraibes
Cap Caraibes Orient Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Grand Bleu, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.