We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and friendly staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Le Grand Bleu

Save Saved
You added Le Grand Bleu to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Le Grand Bleu
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   115 Parc de la Baie Orientale, Orient Bay 97150, St Maarten-St Martin (Formerly Caraibes Beach Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 6 hotels in Orient Bay
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great location and friendly staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

The best attribute of the hotel is its location, backing up to the beachfront and from your room to your very own reserved lounge/umbrella right on the beach or the seaside breakfast/lunch cafes is less than a minutes walk. The beach is the most beautiful on St Martin (see photo) - long crescent shaped with smooth white sand and turquoise sea. We found the waves strong here and calmer a little further south along the same beach. Another bonus is the hotel staff. Gerard, the manager, went above and beyond the call of duty to personally escort us to find a 220 to 110 converter, then called a friend who made a special trip to deliver one. We stayed 2 nights and would come back again. It is not luxurious, but a great value for the price paid and comparable to others. We dined at two restaurants in the Orient Village and highly recommend both - Le Piment and Cote Plage - we had memorable meals at both. LESSON LEARNED: we did not have explicit directions to the hotel and it is hard to find. Turn off main road that circles the island at the gated road that has sign like "Club Oriente" and security guard. This takes you down to the beach area community and main beach road. Drive to main beach road, then left at first roundabout, left at 2nd roundabout, then all the way to the end of the road. Get map beforehand if possible. Be sure to have the right phone number (as the one we had from Orbitz was wrong). Everyone in the area is friendly and willing to help; most speak English along with French. If you pull in at the wrong turn off at the south end of the beach, you'll find yourself in the nudist camp! We rented a car and drove all around the island and found it easy except for the total lack of signs. Be sure to see the rain forest "Lotterie Farm." Will return again!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    55
    62
    14
    10
    6
See reviews for
15
84
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Expected better. Decor rough, old furniture not too comforable. Bed good, bed linens cheap for cost of room. TV and TV service good, American and international programming. No phones in room, kind of weirdly budget. Bathroom good, with decent shower and hot water. A kitchenette in the room but the two-burner cooktop didn't function. A musty, funky odor was noticed occasionally when entering room; seemed to clear. Easy barefoot access to beach but hotel is behind Waikaki Beach Club, which was as loud as an airport sometimes with huge throbbing disco music, incredibly unpleasant and unpredictable. We have concluded that hotels are not an Orient Beach strongsuit, as they all have some drawback. This one is beat-up and is occasionally the victim of a really loud beach club.

Room Tip: Uppermost rooms have great ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

The hotel is not a luxury one but is well maintained, well managed and also wonderfully placed; close the nicest beach of the island. Only partial view of the ocean even in the best located rooms and even if all of the rooms are oriented towards the sea. In room 321, the best ocean view possible, we had about 30% of sea view and the rest was palm trees and restaurants and bars roofs. Please also note that even if all rooms are getting a large balcony or terrasse it is hard to take advantage of it between 4 to 6 PM because of the beach bar that plays very loud music; for youngsters that can be an advantage though. After 6 though it is the most perfect silence you can expect...The owners and managers are just great! No surprise charges for internet or for beach chairs or towels...We will go back to Le Grand Bleu because it is simply a very good place to take a great vacation...

Room Tip: There is not much of a difference between a second and a third story room; you will not much more of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, Canada
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

Stayed for 8 nights in December. Front desk staff (& owners) were very friendly. Room is large & pleasant and very clean, with small kitchen facilities that provide convenience for preparing breakfast/lunch. Bed very comfortable; good shower. Location is great - short walk down to the beach on a wooden pathway. Difficult to find hotel due to lack of signage. To find it, go to the main village of Orient Bay (where the stores & restaurants are). At the roundabout, when FACING the water, take the road to the left and follow it to the end.

Room Tip: All rooms face the ocean and the lay-out and size of the rooms are identical. Your view from the bal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
81 hotel reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

The location of the hotel is great -- right on the beach. It's a 45 minute drive from the airport, and although it's easy to get into the area of the hotel, make sure you know where the actual building is in advance.
There are several places to eat within walking distance, and it is in a safe area.
There was a fridge in the room, along with a small kitchen. There was a TV with limited reception/channels. The wireless internet worked well.
Two issues with the hotel preventing me from giving it 5 -- first, I left the Do Not Disturb sign out for the day, yet they still went into the room and cleaned it. Second, there were some tiny little ants running around the bathroom.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan, PR
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

Starting with Severine and ending with Maya what a great persons and a super service. I always stay in a nearby hotel and this was my first time here. This was a great stay for me, room 310 was excellent, I asked for good cold air conditioning and I had it. It has a great ktichenette so you only need to buy some groceries and you are done. It has a welcome bottle of water and a welcome drink, I chose a beer. When I called for something the staff was more than happy to assist, I forgot the man name but thank you to him too.Just 1 minute walking to be the nice Orient beach and very close to a market and several nice restaurants. Balcony of the room big and nice to seat and relax, room is very big and spacious.Good parking . Wifi in the room at no charge but best of all this was my first time and I felt at home and I am for sure returning, in fact I will be back at the end of October. Merci to all of you ( don't worry they speak and understand English and even a little of Spanish.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, New Jersey
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

This was our 1st time here & will not return. have to always ask for wash cloths, iron leaks when water is added by the time you are done the clothes are wet, toilet always runs, housekeeping left our room door unlocked, when reported to the front desk, nothing was done. Finding the place was horrible no one knew where it was. All they did is just point, no signs after finally asking a cleaning lady who barely spoke english we finally found it. when you iron the power goes out. constantly had to turn the power on by
the circuit box in the room. no phone or radio in the room. small box tv set no flat screen. if an emergency office is closed at night until next day & unless you have a cell phone that works you are out of luck. fridge is small and old, rooms are dusty. Not worth the price you pay. Will put my money
on a different hotel. Will not recomment this one to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Le Grand Bleu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Grand Bleu

Address: 115 Parc de la Baie Orientale, Orient Bay 97150, St Maarten-St Martin (Formerly Caraibes Beach Hotel)
Location: Caribbean > St Maarten-St Martin > Saint-Martin > Orient Bay
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 hotels in Orient Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Le Grand Bleu 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Caraibes Beach Hotel (formerly Cap Caraibes Hotel), one of St. Martin’s finest beach front hotels, is directly situated on Orient Beach, most popular beach on the French side of the island. This 3 story, 35 junior suites, Mediterranean styled hotel has beautifully appointed rooms designed to suit a wide variety of tastes and features personalized attentions and services to each of his guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Tingo, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Le Grand Bleu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Grand Bleu Hotel Orient Bay
Hotel Cap Caraibes
Cap Caraibes Orient Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Grand Bleu, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.